We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect venue”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thorpegate Cottage

Thorpegate Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thorpegate Cottage
Thorpegate cottage Thorpegate Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Thorpegate Cottage
Thorpegate cottage
Thorpegate Cottage
Thorpegate cottage, enclosed garden
Thorpegate Cottage, garden
Nursery Farmhouse and cottages
Thorpegate Lounge
Thorpegate lounge
Thorpegate dinning area
Thorpegate kitchen
Thorpegate Bedroon
Forest Avenue
Nearest beach is at Mundesley 3 miles
Felbrigg Hall NT Property 3 miles
Felbrigg Hall NT Property 3 miles
See the seals on Horsey beach
Horsey Windpump
Spectacular, even in a shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cromer, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
r0bby61
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect venue”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this place "off the cuff " & turned into a real gem. Ideal setting & access to everything we needed. Would certainly recommend to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pet friendly location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
Thank you for your comments we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you can come back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon G
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW :-) Great Norfolk gem”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found this little gem by accident, the cottage was Gr8, Crisp Clean and Comfy. The delicious fresh homemade cake and milk. The walks quiet and relaxing. Would Highly Recommend to Family & Friends for a Holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being left alone.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review. Delighted to hear you had a wonderful time. Please do come again. Keith and Paula.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis B
Mablethorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“misty days”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

having just spent a week at Thorpe gate cottage my overall impression was of a tired end of season cottage. There was a fresh cake and some milk in the fridge and also smell of damp in the bathroom we had to open all the windows. we had asked if there was internet prior to staying and was assured that there was,but it was very intermittent.
We had to ask to have heating put on, all little things but these let the holiday down on a plus side the area is outstanding.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Very disappointed that your stay in Thorpegate Cottage was not a better experience - nothing is more pleaseing than reading a complimentry review and the visitors book in the cottage is full of them, so a little surprised by your comments.
We are glad you appreciated the home made cake, tea, coffee and milk. Sad to hear you felt the bathroom smelt damp - it is cleaned thouroughly with bleach and limescale remover between each guest, and nobody has had any adverse comments about it in the nine years we have be letting the property out - I think it was misty for a couple of days during your stay, maybe that had some effect, but we have little control over the sea mists occassionally making their way inland.
The internet is slow in rural North Norfolk and we appreciate that streaming films is not something we can always offer, but most people manage to check their e-mails and investigate local attractions without any trouble - indeed, I am responding to this from within Thorpegate Cottage. If you had have mentioned it, we could have rebooted the home-hub as that usually helps, or even offered you access to our own PC.
We are happy to put the heating on whenever requested in addition to the timer settings which bring it on automatically each morning and evening (and to adjust those to suit each guest), and the temperature can be controlled by the thermostats on each radiator. Additionally, there are electric fan heaters in the cottage which guests can use.
Again, sincerest commisserations that you did not have the perfect break that we aim to provide - if only you had knocked on our door - which is immediately adjacent to Thorpegate Cottgae we could have done something to improve your experience of staying with us. We would have happily moved you into one our of newer and larger barn conversions if that was required.
We are really disappointed that your stay was not better, and thank you for your feedback.
Keith and Paula.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Excellent location in the North Norfolk countryside.
Liked least: It only has a shower cubicle, no bath, but we knew this on booking.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing