We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

RSPB The Lodge Nature Reserve
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Sandy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located on Bedfordshire's Greensand Ridge, RSPB The Lodge nature reserve and gardens has over 5 miles of trails, leading through tranquil woodland,an historic Iron Age hillfort,heathland and formal gardens. A hide looks over small pools where birds and other wildlife come to feed.The RSPB shop sells gifts,optics and bird food, and you can enjoy a freash sandwich or salad from the chiller, or a well deserved ice cream or hot drink after your walk.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Quiet, peaceful with lovely nature trails and a well maintained picnic area. The trails are well signposted and the staff at the information centre are very helpful. We took our own picnic and ate it at one of the tables provided. Will definitely return to finish all the trails as it was too hot to do much on this occasion

Thank 720jackson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sandwiches"
in 10 reviews
"non members"
in 4 reviews
"car park"
in 8 reviews
"helpful volunteers"
in 2 reviews
"an interesting place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"enjoy the scenery"
in 2 reviews
"small selection"
in 2 reviews
"lovely walk around the grounds"
in 2 reviews
"picnic area"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 4 reviews
"be visiting again"
in 2 reviews
"head quarters"
in 2 reviews
"lovely reserve"
in 2 reviews
"hide"
in 20 reviews
"hq"
in 7 reviews
"walks"
in 48 reviews
"woodland"
in 13 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2018

If you want a really nice pleasant place to walk, see some fantastic wildlife and learn a little more about the natural world then please visit this place. Not far from plenty of big towns and it's a little paradise in the middle of a growing concrete jungle. Credit to the RSPB on how they have set the place up, and for the amazing staff and volunteers who make a real effort to educate and support everyone who visits. PS. if you want to see something special - go in the next couple of weeks and go to see the Hobby (our smallest falcon bird of prey) with it's young chick. You might never see one elsewhere! Well done RSPB Sandy - great job!

Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Visitor manager at RSPB The Lodge Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review Jonathon. It's great to know you appreciate the reserve and it's wildlife and the hobbies and their chick are the real stars of the show at the moment!

Mark and The Lodge team.....and our wonderful volunteers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

My family have been paid members and going to the Sandy lodge for many years. I have never had an issue or been approached by any staff in this time. However, I have recently become disabled and I park in a disabled parking spot with my wife and 2 children. Since then I am constantly harassed by the RSPB patrol staff.

Yesterday was my 5th time in as many weeks where I have been approached and harassed by one of the staff. We have seen many people parking in the disabled who aren't actually disabled or show a blue badge, but they do not get approached or the same treatment. I was tail gated bumper to bumper all the way down the road yesterday and approached by a rude member of staff who spoke to me like I was a criminal. My children are very nervous and uncomfortable.

Why should anyone that wants to go for a peaceful walk be made to feel threatened every time they go? I was made to prove my disability and membership once again and it again spoiled the evening for my kids, we were told we would have to leave early as there has been lots of trouble there recently due to people and animals being attacked by dogs.

In the few years I have been going, I have only ever seen pleasant families, bird watchers / photographers and cyclists. I not once seen any trouble. I would be grateful if the RSPB staff could stop discriminating against certain people or you may lose your paid members.

Thank Multi-DimensionaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Visitor manager at RSPB The Lodge Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Hello,

I am very sorry to hear of this experience. It seems very unlikely it is RSPB staff, especially as you refer to an evening visit, but if you can supply me with the date and time of this last report, I'll contact our transport office and speak to them regarding the security team who are based on site out of hours, who are more likely to be checking vehicles if they have experienced some trouble.

Many thanks,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Lovely reserve set out in Sandy. Easy located between Sandy and Potton with multiple trails, picnic benches and a small shop. Saw lots of different kind of birds. The only downside itself was the weather the day we went as it started okay then towards the end rained. Would go again for definite!

1  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely walk around the grounds and the hide where we saw and heard woodpeckers. Nice information hut and small shop offering a small selection of snacks. I wish they'd expand their drinks and snack selection.

Thank bongojonaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, Public Relations Manager at RSPB The Lodge Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you for your review and pleased you had a nice visit to The Lodge.

We have noted your comment on expanding the refreshments, and will talk with the retail team about this.

Regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RSPB The Lodge Nature Reserve also viewed

Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 

Been to RSPB The Lodge Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing