We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my birthday holiday by G.mcmanus”
Review of Destina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Destina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012

my wife and I went on holiday to the destina hotel to celebrate my birthday on the 10/10/12 we arrived at 12:30am on the thursday morning,we booked in at reception and was greeted with a smile from the reception assistant after booking in the security man took our cases to our room which was room 1980 not recommended to near the steps and was very noisey,after a nights sleep we went to see about changing rooms which they duly obliged no quibble gave us two keys to look at the rooms to make a choice which is what we did.we moved to room 1944 better room by far,my wife and I went down to the main bar when we first arrived and got chatting to borat obama haha.he said that was his name he showed us some card tricks which was very good and made us feel at ease he was always smiling and chatty when we saw him.the table clearers/waiters emrie-morat and the other guys made us both laugh so much by the end of our holiday that it made us feel we didnt want too leave we will never forget them, the ladies who cleaned the room always did a good job and did some figures and flowers on the bed which was a really nice surprise when we got back tothe room.they were polite and smiling all the time always said hello when we saw them nothing was any trouble for them,the maintenance guy was on the ball when we had a couple of problems with the shower and airconditioning great job.we also met the owner of the resort who was polite friendly and very generous he got me and my wife a cocktail to help celebrate my birthday his name was onur and his mum and dad are also nice people i had the pleasure of meeting. with regards to the food there was always plenty to eat,the salad counter was always well stocked with different things everyday, the hot buffet was always very tasty but sometimes repetative but still tasty anyway desserts and cakes to die for mmmmmm.not a great choice of spirits they were all local brandy,vodka,raki and gin very good though and lager, swimming pool was cold but helped when it got hot on numerous occasions there was some problems with the block paving around the pool area which i presume will be sorted during the close period,great views all around the resort ,hisoranu was a 15 to 20 mins walk from resort.markets good just beware when haggling with sellers.free bus to private beach leaving at ten thirty returning at five oclock.I would just like to say to mr onur well done to his staff for making mine and my wifes stay very pleasurable and comfortable oh nearly forgot gadget and gismo the animation team both made us laugh every night.will definately go back to see them again cheers everybody.

Room Tip: choose block nearest pool second or third floor we had room facing restaurant it was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank garry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 564 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

My husband and I have just come back from the Destina Hotel and we have had a lovely time.
Food was good not alot of choice but always something to have and enjoy. Those people who are complaining should relise sometimes it is not all about how much choice but wether what is there is edible and it certainly was at this hotel. Rooms are small but they are in most hotels in Turkey from our experiece and they were spotless. As for bad tummy's we never had any problems and nor did any body else we spoke to. Staff were friendly we had one bad incident at the pool bar late one night when the ice bucket water was thrown and I got soaked and this should never have happened but I do not want to go into the whole details of this. We have one suggetion to make and that is in the evenings the main bar and pool bar should be free bars. They can still charge at the main bar for the imported drinks but it would ease things away from the pool bar. Also the main bar has someone there all evening doing absolutely nothing so it would make sense to utilise this. We loved it at this hotel and would go back but not sure I would like to be there in the busy part of the season. For those who want the 5* all inclusive I would suggest you dig deeper in your pockets and go on a caribean holiday or even Spain. This is Turkey one of the most lovliest countries we have ever been to on many occassions with the most lovliest of peoples.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

i have been going to Fethyie for the last 7 years, i decided to try all inclusive and because of trip advisor's comments i chose the Destina Hotel....ive just read a negative review and cant really believe it as i was there the same time.....the food was outstanding, plenty of variety,cakes to die for!!! the rooms though a little small did exactly what they said on the tin.. clean, warm and comfortable.... .everyone was polite and helpful...i did have a small problem that was dealt with and im very grateful to the staff.
the night entertainment was a good laugh, not played bingo in years and it was very funny, Gadget is a legend and little Gizmo great fun.......and i did karaoke for the first time in my life...over all we had a nice chilled out 12 days, i will be going back again next year.....thanks guys for all your hard work.....seen you in 2013 xxx

Room Tip: away from the stairs as its quite noisy .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Katy785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed in Sept 2012. There were 5 of us in 2 rooms. The room for 3 was very small. It was a double room with one extra bed put in. We complained but nothing was done about it. They did offer us an alternative room 3 days into the holiday but by then we decided we did not want to be bothered moving. The hotel food is very poor. Its wall to wall chicken. I would not mind that but its not very nice chicken to be honest. I really struggled with the food and I am not a picky eater. You get fed up with chips and beans and salad being the option for breakfast if you do not like eggs and the rest of the time its chicken chips and salad! The all inclusive option is not good either. There is only vodka, whisky and rum as spirit options! There is one beer on tap and that is it. No cocktails allowed. No liquers allowed. If you want any of that its the pay bar but why when its supposed to be all inclusive? The entertainment team were Ok. Gadget and Gizmo did their best. All our party had upset stomachs during the holiday as did other guests we spoke too. The location is OK. Its a bit of a hill to get up and down to Hisaronu but its not too bad. Overall I have been to better in Turkey and do not think all inclusive is worth the money here as the food is very cheap locally and also very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

my wife and i stayed at the DESTINA HOTEL at the end of september. we booked with jet 2 holidays for what i thought was a good price.
the hotel was fine for the money 3 star .rooms are on the small side ,but you only sleep in them.
rooms kept clean and tidy and towels changed ofen.
the food we thought was very good loads of choice but lots of chicken.we stayed AI .
only thing about that is the drinks, if you want alcohol in them forget it there is none or very little at best, but who wants the place full of drunks.
hotel is in three blocks you need to stay in the block with room numbers starting with 2, thats the furthest away from the bar.the free bar closes at 11 o clock but a late bar opens till 5 am thats for the drunks.staff or ok polite and helpfull.
very nice veiw from the resteraunt.
hotel set back up the mountain so nice and peaceful no traffic noise.
thats the only snag is that it is down hill into the village and a slog back up in the heat but plenty of taxis at10tl so cheap and well worth it.
dont book any trips with the rep go into village and book there we booked all ours at alibabers for half the rep price with no problems.
nice pool area poll was cold well it was for me only went in once. loads of sun beds but pool area a crowded.
the only problem for us was the entertainment duo who played music all day far to lound who wants rap music allday . ask to turn it down they just ignored you. so if like to snooze round the pool forget it. the hotel as been refurb recently only thing with that they have taken out all the carpets and tiled every where which makes the place ehco when people slam doors the complete block hears it.
but over all this is a good family run hotel, good food and in a nice posistion. well worth a look.
there is adaily free bus down to the beach at 10.30 back at 5.00 sun beds are free but not food and drink which are abit pricey.

Room Tip: stay in rooms starting with 2 much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flour8699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
1.1 km away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#2 of 19 in Ovacik
1,338 reviews
1.3 km away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
1.2 km away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
2.2 km away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#6 of 102 in Oludeniz
645 reviews
1.1 km away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destina Hotel

Address: Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range: €31 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Destina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destina Hotel with 114 rooms is situated in Ovacik. A wonderful place far away from daily city life and where sea, forest and mountain come together. There are a very large swimming Pool with specious place around, a secure kids pool, Turkish Bath & Sauna at our resort. All rooms have Satellite TV, Balcony, Shower, Split Air-Conditioning, Telephone, Minibar, Hair Dryer. We have regular Free Shuttle Service to Oludeniz Beach. Distance: 50 km. from Dalaman Airport, 8 km from Fethiye, 3 km from Oludeniz Beach, 300m. from Hisaronu Centre. All kinds of daily trips such as Batterflies Valley & 12 Islands and alternative activities are available in the region. You will receive here hospitality and high standard service from our professional staff. We will do our best to provide you with an unforgettable holiday at Destina Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Destina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destina Hotel Fethiye
Destina Resort Fethiye
Destina Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing