We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quirky place ...we were pleasantly surprised! ”
Review of Hotel El Convent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel El Convent
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Begur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night here and were so pleased given some of the reviews were mixed. The staff were super friendly. The building was beautiful and well kept despite its history they've maintained its character. The room was just stunning and spanned across 3 levels. My kids were so excited to be sleeping in the tower (with A/C) and have a jacuzzi bath. The main room was lovely too really rustic and well kept.
Food menu wasn't extensive but perfectly tasty and lots of local fresh fish. Again it was the scenery that really made the alfresco dining under a light canopy surround by the ancient convent building and the steep green hills. There was a jazz band playing too.
The gardens are exceptional meandering down a lovely path which is lit at night time and leads you to a big pool and lounging area. Again all in keeping with the rustic feel but perfectly clean.
There was also plenty of room for the kids to play with a ball and the beach is a 15 min walk.
We've been recommending this place to anyone wanting a few nights away to somewhere special.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank EKB-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPetitConventH, Depart. recepció Hotel Convent at Hotel El Convent, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you for your comments and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are sure that all our hotel staff enjoyed serving you to provide a perfect stay! It was a pleasure for us to meet you and your family! Take care! Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We had a great family time in El Convent, especially liked the friendly staff, the pool area and the yoga twice a week. Thing that we missed was an outside lounge area where we could have a drink, sadly enough was the outside bar not open in July and even if it was it's not really a cosy lounge area. The restaurant at the hotel is not one I would suggest, for the price you pay there is much better in Begur (Different restaurant or Turandot). We had a Junior suite and are a family with 2 kids which for us was a bit tight.

This said, all in all we had a great time and I would still recommend the hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank BeInteractive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPetitConventH, Depart. recepció Hotel Convent at Hotel El Convent, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you very much for your comments! We take note of your request and we will do our best to improve! Hope to see you soon! Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Looks to be a silance place. Green pool (very small) area, spots with relaxing destination, a lot of vegetation surround you. But : kids with asian nannies, unexperienced hotel team, ruined the chance for a real nice , quiet and relaxing place. Avoid the restaurant , poor breakfast, great rooms, clean, very nice location. No glamorous, good but no great. In the shower cabin you can not find a place to put your shampoo...:)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex352Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPetitConventH, Dpto. Recepción at Hotel El Convent, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We are disapointed to hear that you have found our service below your expectations.
Our hotel accept families with children and maybe for you it is an inconvenience. We are sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We only went for a meal as we were staying in a villa nearby but the food and service was so good we ended up returning on the last night of our holiday for another wonderful meal.
The whole place is just stunning, once a convent, beautifully and tastefully restored.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPetitConventH, Dpto. Recepción at Hotel El Convent, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you very much Mandy for your comment. Was a pleasure !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

If you pay in April almost 200€ per room, you are expecting some especial experience and the bad news is that you won't.

Far from this, this beautiful hotel remastered from a convent, is not what it seems.

The general looking of the rooms are ok but they have some handicaps like a very bad quality in bed (cheap beds) and pillows. When you wake up the day after you are feeling like if you were fighting all the night long, crazy.

The walls are so thin like smoke paper, so that you can hear everything around you, beside and outside the room, like in the corredor.

Also the rooms don't get enough dark for sleeping, and when the day comes the light into the rooms, too.

The restaurant is quite well and the breakfast too.

In summary, the main problem is the bad quality of the beds and pillows (made by air) not good enough for the price they ask to pay, and the no existing rooms soundproofing. The quality of these points would be deserved of a hostel.

It's a pity because the place has room for being much more than it is now, but not increasing prices.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Iolanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPetitConventH, Dept. Reception at Hotel El Convent, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

We are disappointed to hear that you have found our hotel below your expectations.We take note of your request and we will do our best to improve! Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Begur hotels
1.7 km away
Hotel Restaurant Galena Mas Comangau
3.1 km away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Eetu
Hotel Eetu
#3 of 14 in Begur
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cluc Hotel Begur
Cluc Hotel Begur
#4 of 14 in Begur
209 reviews
1.2 km away
Aiguaclara Hotel
Aiguaclara Hotel
#1 of 14 in Begur
1,223 reviews
4.8 km away
Mas Ses Vinyes
Mas Ses Vinyes
#10 of 14 in Begur
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convent

Address: Carrer del Raco 2 Sa Riera, 17255 Begur, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Begur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Begur
Price Range: €83 - €344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Convent 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Convent is a restored 17th-century convent, in the beautiful coastal town of Begur. It offers free Wi-Fi access and an outdoor pool. The hotel once belonged to the Minimos religious order, and each room is unique. They have been carefully restored, keeping their original features. Hotel Convent has beautiful panoramic views of the sea and the Baix Empordà. It also has lovely gardens, a gym and sauna. Free public parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Convent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convent Hotel
Hotel El Convent Begur, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing