We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and very quiet and relaxing. Good food. 4 1/2 stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villaro del Bosc
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Solsona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This place is really off the beaten track and where the Catalan people themselves have their holiday. It is in beautiful surroundings but you need a car otherwise you are trapped here. You go here for peace, quiet and relaxation - so you will not have anything close to city life.

We were here with kids and really enjoyed ourselves. We had the apartment (#205) which was light and spacious with two bed rooms and a terrace. It was a good value for money. The only issue with the apartment was the bed we slept in which was pretty hard and we honestly did not sleep very well. This is the only reason why I can't go all the way to 5 :-) Bring a soft blanket if you are cold - there are only sheets and the bedcover.

The restaurant is really nice, the food is good quality and you can always find something for the kids. If you need something special they are good at arranging it.

Everyone is extremely friendly, but very few of the staff speak English and not very well, so you need to be patient and see it as a charm - and a bit of Spanish is definitely an advantage.

The pool is big and clean and our kids had the best time of the vacation here because they felt welcome and safe and could pretty much do what they wanted.

Room Tip: Get on the first floor if you can - otherwise there is no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eliz3-2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

After visiting in 2009 as part of a solo Spanish tour, I vowed to return. This country house hotel has rustic charm, a feeling of space, no road noise and not another dwelling visible from any of its windows. It is definitely isolated, being 20 minutes drive to the town of Solsona, but this is its main draw. But you won't have to rough it, as the property is elegantly decorated and the rooms fitted with high quality fixtures and beds. The restaurant will definitely delight you, the cuisine is excellent but surprisingly good value, and reassuringly, it is frequented by locals who travel out for that special meal. I took my family this time, and as residents we benefitted from a discounted dinner at 26 euros, we were not expected to eat in, but we really enjoyed the four nights we did, as the service was so very welcoming, and it was so very convenient. We stayed in the apartment on the first floor, which is spacious, light and fully equipped. The website pictures do not do it justice. It is ideal for two couples or a family of 4/5. The pool is small, but enough to cool you off in between spells in the sun. It is not the sort of place you would be able to entertain young children all day at, but it is well located to use as a base for day activities in the surrounding countryside. There are many natural attractions, historic monasteries and rustic villages with wonderful little restaurants where you can eat magnificantly well into the afternoon. We had a day trip to Barcelona, which is only 90 minutes away. The manager, Ramon, was very accomodating and he speaks good English. Give him a call or e-mail direct to get the best price. I heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are more than two people, consider the apartment, it is really nice. You need your own transp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Englishrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is the nicest hotel that we have stayed in. It was exceptionally clean and the owners were very welcoming. We couldn't speak Spanish and they couldn't speak English, but we all understood each other and we were sorry that we didn't stay longer. We cannot fault ANYTHING about this hotel. The food which was cooked by the owners wife was really top quality and all freshly made and the breakfast was superb too. The pool was great and this is a very relaxing place to stay. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I booked 5 nights last minute, needing a base for my sightseeing tour of Catalunya. The owner, who loves his job, was the most hospitable, friendly gentleman I have met if years. He has created a stylish modern take on a Spanish farmhouse. The pool area is a tranquil sun trap where you can relax . There is a library lounge area and internet access. The best bit is the restaurant, which is well used by discriminating locals. The wine and food is very good. It has a remote location but it is only 20 minutes from a large town with all amenities; to be fair, I was happy to stay in the comfy surrounds of the hotel, during the evenings, it was so nice. I was so impressed, I extended my stay for another 4 nights. I will try and get back there in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank LadyVallver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solsona
11.1 km away
Hotel La Freixera
Hotel La Freixera
#1 of 4 in Solsona
222 reviews
11.2 km away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#3 of 4 in Solsona
224 reviews
8.9 km away
Parador de Cardona
Parador de Cardona
#1 of 3 in Cardona
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.2 km away
Hotel Mon Sant Benet
Hotel Mon Sant Benet
#1 of 1 in Sant Fruitos de Bages
657 reviews
15.8 km away
Hotel La Vella Farga
Hotel La Vella Farga
#1 of 1 in Lladurs
131 reviews
7.3 km away
Vilar Rural de Cardona
Vilar Rural de Cardona
#3 of 3 in Cardona
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villaro del Bosc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villaro del Bosc

Address: Mas Villaro s/n | Freixinet de Riner, 25290 Solsona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Lleida > Solsona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Solsona
Price Range: €58 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villaro del Bosc 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Villaro del Bosc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing