We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANother insight into how it must have been”
Review of Step House

Step House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2017

The history is fascinating and how they abandoned the houses when resources were gone. The today nations state that their ancestors are still there in spirit

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wetherill mesa"
in 23 reviews
"pit house"
in 9 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 19 reviews
"answer questions"
in 10 reviews
"parking lot"
in 10 reviews
"long house"
in 27 reviews
"left path"
in 2 reviews
"uphill hike"
in 2 reviews
"park ranger"
in 8 reviews
"the cliff"
in 15 reviews
"free tour"
in 2 reviews
"nice walk"
in 3 reviews
"parking area"
in 3 reviews
"the loop"
in 4 reviews
"short walk"
in 4 reviews
"take your time"
in 4 reviews
"great hike"
in 3 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

We were surprised at the access to the ruin we had at this site. The walk is relatively easy (a mile RT). If you come to the park you owe it to yourself to visit. We were able to linger here more than we could on the guided tours.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 329bbww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We didn't take the tour because there were no more tickets available but we self toured using the very well done guide and there was a ranger at the site to answer our questions. Semi-challenging 1 mile trek to the site but worth it.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 22man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We almost skipped this 1 mile round trip trail to Step House but decided that while we were visiting Wetherill Mesa we would do this. I am so glad we did, the trail is pretty easy, a little stone stepping to get to it and a little steep on the way back up. This is a self guided tour with a brochure explaining some of the marked interest points. At the pueblo itself there were two rangers who were very helpful giving us additional information, one of them being an archeologist. They showed us some garbage left over from the anasazi in addition to some pottery shards on the floor of the pueblo that we would have otherwise missed. Great short trail!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Jane_A60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

This was a great short walk to a cliff dwelling. There was a Park Ranger there to answer questions but it was nice to get to it on our own.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank DMR-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Step House also viewed

Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
Mesa Verde National Park, CO
 

Been to Step House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing