We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Moorish Heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Mandarina

Large Infinity Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Infinity Pool
Infinity pool out to sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Large Infinity Pool
Infinity pool out to sea
Pergola Perfect area for getting together, lounging on sofas
View from the sitting room terrace
Seating in pergola with sea views
Very large sitting room leading to corner room
Door to dining room.  Door was originally from Java
Modern well-equipped Kitchen
Master en suite bedroom.  Sea views from bed
Master en suite bathroom with cast iron bath
Blue Room. Can be made up as a double bed
Newly Appointed Italian Suite
Spiral staircase to new Tower room and cinema
Secluded Environment
We have a courtyard at the other side of the house which is cool and very peaceful.
The courtyard folly
The courtyard at night. Featuring the stage where we have hosted local Flamenco artists
Fountain
One of many 'get away from it all' areas scattered around the property
The outside kitchen by the pool with a barbecue and two fridges
Outside dining area
Dining Room to Chill Out room in the Tower
Chill Out Room and Cinema in the tower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Salobrena, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JeanMarcH...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moorish Heaven”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Casa Mandarina is very cleverly and beautifully designed villa is Salobrena. The Moorish theme is very high end with amazingly beautiful Moorish carved doors and tiles and little Moorish follies. It has so many little places to quietly relax and soak in the sun, the view or the peace and quiet.

The infinity pool and the pergola gaze out towards Morocco with great views to Salobrena to the left. The Outdoor kitchen and downstairs naya are so cleverly designed to allow dads to barbeque like a grill chef, whilst keeping the beers cold and still be near the pool and the sunbathing chairs where the rest of the action is. Indoors the rooms are classy, stylish, cool and equally high end, with fans, thick blinds and big bathrooms for the bedrooms, whilst the open plan dining, sitting, upstairs dining, lounge area feeds seamlessly into the well equipped kitchen with American Fridge with ice machine. The spiral staircase to the cinema room is another little gem to lose yourself in for a spot movie indulgence or a sleepy siesta. Parking off road is easy.

It’s perfect for larger families (Say eight), two families of four sharing or a few couples – either way, you’ll not be disappointed in Casa Mandarina.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of everything in the Casa
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cstone201...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb villa - would definitely recommend!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were fortunate to book this stunning, magnificient villa at the very last minute, thanks to the very kind and joyful owner who made our visit possible. Booking was swift and efficient and all the details we needed for our stay given to us in super quick time. As there was a lot to arrange at such short notice, we really appreciated the help that the owner gave to us to make our booking run more smoothly - I felt that in spite of our last minute request and subsequent questions, nothing was too much trouble and our email exchange was friendly and well humored. What a lovely man!

Our delight upon arrival was hard to contain. Everything that one could ever ask of a holiday villa was all available. Large spacious accommodation styled with good taste and flair with great attention to detail; lovely bedrooms, very well equipped kitchen and well appointed bathrooms. The extra luxuries included a great cinema room in the 'tower', surround sound speaker system which as music lovers we greatly appreciated....and of course the wonderful infinity pool and beautiful gardens filled with exquisite plants and flowers, herbs, lemon trees and plantains.

We felt so at home throughout our stay and although we were able to come together for family times or meals either outside by the pool, on one of the terraces or in the dining room, we also had a lot of space to chill out away from each other or read peacefully in one of the many little reveries in and around the property. This was particularly good with teenagers in tow! The pool was just glorious, with wonderful views out to sea and it was well maintained and a perfect temperature. There is a great outdoor kitchen with bbq, drinks fridge and fridge....... and ample tables and chairs to sit and eat at in the evening under the stars and Moroccan outside lights! Unlike some villas we have stayed in, the kitchen in the villa was for a change very well equipped with all one would need as well as a large fridge(and freezer) complete with ice maker which was well used for cool drinks in the Southern Spanish heat. There is also a utility room with washing machine and dryer if needed.

Location of the villa was perfect for touring the area and we had some great days out to the local beaches, the Alhambra - a great journey to Granada through wonderful scenery on good roads, walking in the Sierra Nevada and much more. The villa is situated on a mountain side overlooking the sea a minute or two outside picturesque Salobrena town itself, but close to all amenities, in a peaceful quiet spot. The villa has an access key to the local tennis court where you can play free of charge (booking your preferred hour at the beginning of the day to ensure you can secure the court). There is also wi-fi/internet access at the house.

I cannot rate this holiday home enough. It is rare to find a property that is so well taken care of, well appointed and luxurious with both a good location and fabulous views. If there are any problems there is a very friendly down to earth mother and daughter team who can be contacted for any issues. The owners have created a real haven and home away from home - it truly is sublime. I hope that one day we will be able to return......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to come home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jake A
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Salobrena's best kept secret”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We have stayed here twice now and both times have been memorable times. The villa is simply stunning with all the mod cons and services that you get back home, but with added beauty and style. I is so spacious that with 8 of us we always felt like we could spend time together or be secluded away in one of its many areas. The view is second to none with the sea one side and the mountain the other. The way that the villa is set up and decorated captures your eyes everywhere you look. It is simply stunning and the town is beautiful with its features and iconic castle looking down on the surrounding lands plus the large rock that just out into the sea (which also serves as a cliff jumping base for brave souls!). We have been there twice now and I can promise it will not be the last.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa, its views and location
Liked least: There is one tree that, if cut down, would give a 180 degree panoramic view out to sea!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NessieL
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I'm so lucky to have been twice to this villa already and will be returning again in 4 weeks time for my third trip!

This is such a beautful villa and so well thought out. You couldn't want for anything more! Very generously sized bedrooms, high quality finish and definitely at the luxury end of the villa scale. The views are unbelievable and the location is perfect for piece and quiet, but close to nearby amenities.

Occasionally you will see a heard of goats being moved by the house too, which is so charming and really reminds you that you are in traditional style Spain, not stuck on the developed coastline.

We used it as a base to go skiing in the Sierra Nevada as well, which was very easy once you have done it once. So you can be sunbathing one day and skiing the next if you are lucky - not many places that you can do that!

I just couldn't speak more highly of this villa, it's absolutely wonderful. If you aren't sure whether or not to book it, take the plunge and book it, you wont be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn M
Gosford, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I would never hesitate to recommend this beautiful home to anyone looking for the perfect holiday.”
Reviewed 13 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We all had such a good time here in this wonderfully welcoming home.Peaceful, private and stunning views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the home and the position.
Liked least: The beds were very hard.
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing