We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation in Splendid Garden Atmosphere”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Motril, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
pcrms
Qatar
1 review
“Relaxation in Splendid Garden Atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 May 2009 for a stay in December 2008

My wife, mother and three children spent our third consecutive Christmas at Cortijo Nuevo in 2008.It represents fantastic value for money and forces everyone to slow down and relax from their hectic lifestyles.

At first we were shocked by the off the beaten track nature of the house's location, but once we became used to being surrounded by fruit farms and dirt tracks, the charm of the beautiful garden and sunny winter climate took over. Within days I felt the pace of my life slow down and I began to enjoy the rural way of life.

All of this time we also benefitted from spacious, well-equipped and comfortable accommodation, satelite TV and wireless broadband so I could stay in touch with business once or twice a day.

Southern Spain has many faces and the hustle and bustle of the nearby market town of Motril was only five minutes away, offering a charming and surprisingly varied range of shopping for my fashion-conscious daughters. The Alhambra in Granada is only one hour away and is the must-see place in Andalucia, although we quickly found out that advanced ticket booking is a must.

We tended to follow the pattern of one day by the pool and barbeque and the next day sightseeing in the charming villages and landscapes of the Lecrin Valley or the Alpujahara Mountains.

A great place for a family holiday or a romantic escape !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spyglass2...
england
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pluperfect holiday”
Reviewed 8 May 2009 for a stay in March 2009
1
person found this review helpful

if you are looking for total peace and quiet in excellent surrounds look no further than cortijo nuevo. run by the ultimate english gentleman it is a have of peace away from the recession and the bustling world.

there are 2 properties within the cortijo, an apartment, complete with a its own roof terrace above the owner's accommodation and a stand alone little house for 2. both properties are set in a lovely garden, lovingly tended by the owner and at the bottom is a small swimming pool with a sitting out area and a communal barbecue (each property has its own barbecue as well). any fruit in season in the garden can be picked at your leisure and we enjoyed lemons, oranges and avocados. we stayed in the apartment and is fitted out with everything you need if you wish to self-cater.

granada, almunecar, nerja and las alpujarras among others are within easy reach and for your evening meal salobrena, motril and torre nueva are within 7 kms. this is a holiday for people who like spain without mass tourism, tapas are served in the traditional way, free and plentiful. if you really want to test this out go to the bar mar al brisa in motril where huge tapas are served with every drink. la bahia in salobrena at the end of the promenade has not only good food and service but a great view of the sunset. if you enjoy your morning churros/chocolate try the churreria near the municipal market some of the best we have had.

driving east along the coast road ther are plenty of pretty little villages in which to wile away your time, all of them with beaches and many with promenades. if you really want to stretch you legs pop up to the alpujarras, walks a plenty and many of them not too strenuous.

this was our first time to the area and el cortijo in particular, we have already booked for next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Gracias y esperamos volver a darle la bienvenida al año que viene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid España
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed your time here during Semana Santa: loving the location, accommodation, gardens and swimming pool. Noted your concern about the sofa-bed mattress, apologies if sleeping was uncomfortable. I will examine and test when the latest guests leave next month.
Looking forward to welcoming you back, for your return there will be a replacement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essen
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$63
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing