We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 November 2017

From the airport take the tram to the car rental pick up car drive to hotel or take tram to hotel. It drops you literally at the front door of the Marriott. Convenient and easy.
The hotel staff from start to finish were excellent. All and I mean all went out of the way to help you or ask you if you needed anything. Front desk, room service the Champions bar had exemplary service and attitude. This hotel was 5 star service

Room Tip: Booked a package on expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P7763RAmichaelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017

Check in was Ok.

Hotel furniture and design are old. Very noisy room next to the concierge door. Lots of in and out, loud talking and Cart moving.

The food is disgusting. I have ordered Salmon for dinner and it was spoiled and cooked on a dirty grill. At breakfast fruits have hair sticking.

I don't recommend it for any body. Will not come back.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ridha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin P, Manager at Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay with us here at the Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for not providing you with a better experience. Although our hotel will be under a full renovation next year and some of your feedback regarding the furniture and design of the guest room is accurate, your other comments are uncharacteristic of our hotel and not what we typically hear from our guests. I am very sorry that this was your impression of us. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Atlanta.

Sincerest Regards,

KEVIN PAGNOTTO
Director of Hotel Operations
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway
kevinr.pagnotto@marriott.com
404-443-8633

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Since I had a 6 am flight out of Atlanta, I chose to spend my last night at an airport hotel. The Atlanta Airport Marriott GATEWAY is one of 3 hotels directly linked to the airport via the SkyTrain, which also goes to the Georgia International Convention Center and Rental Car Center. The other 2 hotels, also part of the Marriott conglomerate, are SpringHill Suites Atlanta Airport GATEWAY and the new (opened in 5/17) Renaissance Atlanta Airport GATEWAY. It seems the word GATEWAY implies the hotel is on the SkyTrain route. There are other hotels near the airport, including another Marriott and another Renaissance, that are NOT on the SkyTrain route; some of these hotels have shuttle buses to and from the airport. In my opinion, the free SkyTrain is the easiest, fastest and closest connection to the airport.

Note that exiting the airport, there is no clear signage for the SkyTrain. Look for the signs and arrows for the Gateway Center Hotels, Rental Car Center and Georgia International Convention Center. Once outside the main terminal, there is more clear signage for the SkyTrain; it's part of the parking structure directly across the road, and has 2 entrances from the North and South Terminals.

The Marriott is a traditional full-service hotel with a restaurant, lounge, partial room service, a pool, Club Lounge, fitness centre and business centre. The Renaissance is also full service, but does not have a pool. SpringHill Suites has no restaurant but does offer free breakfast, has a pool, and the rooms have a separate sitting area with sofa bed, microwave and fridge. I booked the Marriott prior to the Renaissance's opening. Frankly I liked the Renaissance's more airy, bright and contemporary public rooms (as well as its Southern restaurant), but online its guestrooms look smaller than the Marriott's.

The Marriott's service was quite good and friendly. I checked in via their app early in the morning; by 9 am, I got a text saying my room was ready! Because it was raining, I ended up canceling sightseeing plans and headed to the airport early via MARTA. It was then a quick transfer to the SkyTrain and the Marriott, where at around 11 am I was told "we've been expecting you" and also recognized as a Marriott Rewards Gold member. My keycard said "Elite Member". The lobby was pleasant enough, with plenty of seating and a lounge area where drinks are served at certain times. The restaurant, a kind of sports bar, is called Champions. The menu looked good, but I ultimately had dinner at the Renaissance's Hickory and Hazel Southern Table and Bar, because I have a fondness for Southern food. I had to leave too early to try breakfast at Champions.

My room had everything I expected. The bathroom was on the small side, with a shower/tub combo. I do like a bar of soap for the shower, not just bath gel, which is all that was provided. There was a robe, but no slippers. There was a coffee maker and fridge. A small water was free, a larger bottle (different brand) was $6. The TV had access to streaming services like Hulu and Netflix IF you have an account with those services. I liked how the desk was partially movable. Room service had a limited menu, and you have the option of picking up your order at the lobby bar or having it delivered to your room. I think it's more like takeout delivery, not full service room service. There were sufficient electrical outlets by the desk, but no USP ports. The room was exceptionally quiet given its double-paned well-sealed windows--I only heard slight rumblings of airplane take-offs when the A/C fan was off. A possible niggle: there is a charge for WiFi, unless you are a Marriott Rewards member.

I saw but did not use the fitness centre or indoor pool. Both looked quite pleasant. There is a Concierge Lounge on the top (7th) floor, but it's closed on weekends.

A quite pleasant and convenient short stay. A nice improvement over my downtown Atlanta stay at the meh Aloft.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank pillowsofwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to catch a plane home the next morning. Nice hotel, excellent gym and pool facilities. Lounge for elite members was closed due to the weekend however I was given a breakfast voucher for their breakfast buffet. Buffet was very good and had lots of variety. The train takes you right into the domestic terminal. From there, you can take a shuttle to the international terminal.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

So so so so bad. Walls are paper thin. I can literally hear the person next to me entire conversation. They aren’t even talking loud. I asked to move room and they said they had zero to move to. I actually had to have them send security to a room I knew in 99% of other hotels I wouldn’t have heard a peep. Doesn’t matter how good you are in other areas of the hotel, if customers can’t get a good night sleep or privacy then you are a place I will never stay again.

Stayed: October 2017
2  Thank KyleJ592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin P, Manager at Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding this issue on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will share your message appropriately within the organization. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerest Regards,

Kevin Pagnotto
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Atlanta Airport
#104 of 174 in Atlanta
162 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 174 in Atlanta
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway

Address: 2020 Convention Center Concourse, Atlanta, GA 30337-4200
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#11 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#16 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: €135 - €292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway, a Silver LEED-certified hotel in Atlanta, Georgia situated just a 2-minute free ride away from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport via the ATL SkyTrain. As one of the top hotels at the Atlanta Airport, comfortable and convenient Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway boasts over 400 guest rooms and hotel suites with soundproof windows, iHome accessories and spacious work areas. With more than 21,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel is ideal for productive meetings and sophisticated soirees. Plus, as one of the premier hotels near Georgia International Convention Center, guests can take advantage of an additional 400,000 square feet of technologically advanced event space, just steps away. Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway is an excellent landing, perfect for family reunions, corporate gatherings or your next Atlanta layover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing