We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommendable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atlanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sugar Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Atlanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2015

My boyfriend and I came to Atlanta for an engagement party, and we decided to make a little trip out of it. This was our first time staying at a B&B in stead of a hotel, and we were thrilled with our decision to try something new! We stayed at the Royal Suite but I think all the rooms looked really cute. I told myself I wouldn't want to stay in a room withour a personal bathroom, but when I saw how it was set up for The Aviary (another room) I don't think it would have been a problem at all. It's not like other people are using the bathroom of The Aviary, since the other rooms have their own. Also, due to the intimacy of the B&B, I wouldn't mind crossing the hall to go the bathroom.

First of all, Sugar Magnolia is a beautiful and unique house unlike anything you'll find in the Northern states. I always wanted to see the insides of a house like this! Secondly, the personal treatment we got was just non-comparable to anything you'll find at a hotel. Third, the breakfast was great and non-commercial. These days you have to get lucky to find hotels that offer breakfast included in the price at all! At Sugar Magnolia you don't just get fried eggs and bacon, but much more interesting dishes for breakfast. I think the coffee was good as well. Fourth, I think the location is great! The Belt Line starts right by the B&B, and there's a place called Krog's Market where you can eat if you wish.

Conclusively, I'd recommend anyone I know to stay at the Sugar Magnolia, as well as everyone reading this review. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nikoline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2015

We arrived at the Sugar Magnolia after dropping our son off for a month long sleep away camp in Cleveland, Ohio. From the moment we walked in the stress melted away. The owner was so very pleasant always making sure we had what we needed. Kathryn, the innkeeper is truly amazing. Walking downstairs to a delicious homemade breakfast and her beautiful smile was the best way to start every day. The garden view room is perfect . You can walk out on the the patio and take the views in. They respect your privacy and we felt comfortable the entire weekend. I highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1Beachbabe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

I stay at Sugar Magnolia at least once a year. They are located in the historic Inman park area which is centrally located and only a short distance to the nearest Marta station. I love the quiet serenity of the place considering its located in one of the busiest urban areas in the country. The service is top notch Kathryn and Josie did a superb job in attending to any requests that I had plus they are excellent travel guides. I would be remiss if I didn't mention the great breakfasts that I had while there. Kathryn is a great breakfast chef. I have learned a lot about Atlanta from my stays at Sugar Magnolia. I would highly recommend Sugar Magnolia it's the first place I think of when coming to Atlanta.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Unless you need to stay in town, I recommend this B&B. We were here for a convention & were just a short train ride away. It's a beautiful home with a great Innkeeper - Kathryn...beautiful area, great restaurants. The breakfasts were delicious and there is plenty of parking. Our convention was very large so getting food...either a snack or a nice dinner was difficult when we were downtown. That's why we really appreciated the local food court near the Sugar Magnolia (which has fabulous bar-b-que) and a number of other eateries in a cute converted warehouse, the casual " Jakes" spot or the upscale Raybuns. Raymuns is a must for a delicious, leisurely, special dinner. All of these just a few blocks away. Traffic was crowded downtown, so we used " MARTA" the area train and bus system. It's extremely convenient. From the Sugar Magnolia, we just walked about 5 city blocks, hopped on the train , & were in the city in about half an hour. We got a 4 day unlimited pass for $20.00. For travelers who have manageable luggage, we got back to the airport for the trip home by walking to the train station....and then taking 2 trains directly to the airport. Connections were great and we arrived at the airport in 50 minutes from the time we left. Super easy and it saved us about $50.00! We would definitely go back here again and feel like it would be like returning to see friends!

Room Tip: All the rooms are well done...just depends on how much room you like to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

I stayed in the Garden Suite in Sugar Magnolia Bed and Breakfast on a beautiful summer's night. The Garden Suite was so pretty, opening onto a garden balcony, and the comfy bed made for sweet dreams! The home is gorgeous and welcoming, and so close to downtown Atlanta, yet it feels worlds away with the beautiful tree lined streets of Inman Park. Sitting on the huge porch with a glass of wine, chatting with the friendly and knowledgeable owner, makes for a lovely evening! The owners were more than accommodating for my breakfast needs and served a really great cup (or two!) of coffee! I will definitely be back to Sugar Magnolia!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbbbtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#15 of 173 in Atlanta
1,742 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 173 in Atlanta
2,314 reviews
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta Midtown
Downtown
Hilton Atlanta
Hilton Atlanta
#83 of 173 in Atlanta
3,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Magnolia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Magnolia Bed & Breakfast

Address: 804 Edgewood Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30307-2578
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Inman Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Atlanta
Price Range: €110 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 1892 Queen Anne Victorian in historic Inman Park - fully restored to its original glory, with added amenities. Located 2 miles from central downtown and close to Atlanta's most popular sites. Full in-house business center and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugar Magnolia Hotel Atlanta
Sugar Magnolia Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing