We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a hotel.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atlanta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sugar Magnolia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Atlanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Unless you need to stay in town, I recommend this B&B. We were here for a convention & were just a short train ride away. It's a beautiful home with a great Innkeeper - Kathryn...beautiful area, great restaurants. The breakfasts were delicious and there is plenty of parking. Our convention was very large so getting food...either a snack or a nice dinner was difficult when we were downtown. That's why we really appreciated the local food court near the Sugar Magnolia (which has fabulous bar-b-que) and a number of other eateries in a cute converted warehouse, the casual " Jakes" spot or the upscale Raybuns. Raymuns is a must for a delicious, leisurely, special dinner. All of these just a few blocks away. Traffic was crowded downtown, so we used " MARTA" the area train and bus system. It's extremely convenient. From the Sugar Magnolia, we just walked about 5 city blocks, hopped on the train , & were in the city in about half an hour. We got a 4 day unlimited pass for $20.00. For travelers who have manageable luggage, we got back to the airport for the trip home by walking to the train station....and then taking 2 trains directly to the airport. Connections were great and we arrived at the airport in 50 minutes from the time we left. Super easy and it saved us about $50.00! We would definitely go back here again and feel like it would be like returning to see friends!

Room Tip: All the rooms are well done...just depends on how much room you like to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2015

I stayed in the Garden Suite in Sugar Magnolia Bed and Breakfast on a beautiful summer's night. The Garden Suite was so pretty, opening onto a garden balcony, and the comfy bed made for sweet dreams! The home is gorgeous and welcoming, and so close to downtown Atlanta, yet it feels worlds away with the beautiful tree lined streets of Inman Park. Sitting on the huge porch with a glass of wine, chatting with the friendly and knowledgeable owner, makes for a lovely evening! The owners were more than accommodating for my breakfast needs and served a really great cup (or two!) of coffee! I will definitely be back to Sugar Magnolia!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbbbtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

We loved the building's charm and elegance, delicious breakfasts, very welcomimg and accommodating hosts, beautiful grounds and gardens, and cleanliness. We stayed in the cottage in the back; very romantic. The only downside - loft bedroom was just a bit too cozy for my husband. At 6' 2" he kept bumping his head on the low ceiling and grumbled about the double bed. We'd return and stay there again if we return to Atlanta!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank chriscrossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Visited in mid June of 2015. A three-day stay. A grand old turn of the century (19th to 20th) inn located in the Inman neighborhood. This area is the exact opposite of what many think of when considering Atlanta -- traffic, noise, congestion. A beautiful mix of Victorian and Craftsman homes and newly built row houses reminiscent of London. Restaurants abound. The neighborhood is a walker's paradise. We stayed in the Garden Room which had a nice balcony. Bed was very comfortable -- everything worked which tells us that the inn is very well looked after. Well the wi-fi was not up to snuff, but we use our phone hot-spots so a non issue for us.

The owner Debra and the Manager Kathryn were proper hosts--attentive and trusting. The breakfasts were incredible (thanks Kathryn), particularly the Jim's cider syrup!

Now that we have a reason to visit Atlanta, we will make Sugar Magnolia our home away from home!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JTC215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Stayed fo a weekend get away with my mother. We stayed in the Royal Suit which had a private balcony. Great for people watching as the neighborhood has some bike and pedestrian traffic. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood as the homes are all beautiful in that area. All treated us like we were old friends and were very welcoming. The stairs were a challenge for my 84 year old mom so when go back we will stay downstairs in the cottage. Loved the porches!

Room Tip: No door for the tub area in the Royal Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 173 in Atlanta
1,741 reviews
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 173 in Atlanta
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Magnolia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Magnolia Bed & Breakfast

Address: 804 Edgewood Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30307-2578
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Inman Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Atlanta
Price Range: €111 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 1892 Queen Anne Victorian in historic Inman Park - fully restored to its original glory, with added amenities. Located 2 miles from central downtown and close to Atlanta's most popular sites. Full in-house business center and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sugar Magnolia Hotel Atlanta
Sugar Magnolia Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing