We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected long stay”
Review of Hotel del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel del Carmen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prado del Rey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2015

I stayed for 13 nights at the Hotel Del Carmen while my son was hospitalised in Villamartin. Not the best of times for a visit but the hotel was a welcome sanctuary at the end of the day. The manager, Juan Carlos, is a complete gentleman and was a great help throughout my stay. The hotel itself is very pleasant and I ate most nights in the restaurant. Obviously not a time for me to explore the town or the area but I was very pleased that I stayed at this hotel. I hope to return under better circumstances and enjoy the hotel and area.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank peversFJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos T, Gerente at Hotel del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2015

Dear peversFJR,
thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope your son is fully recovered. For us it has been a pleasure to meet you.
It is very flattering to have helped to make your stay more comfortable, despite the circumstances.
We hope you will visit again and you can drive your bike by the White Villages of the Sierra de Cadiz. I gladly offer to accompany :-)
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2015

This is a very pleasant little hotel. The manager was friendly. The view from the dining room was lovely and included one of the Moor's lookout towers on a nearby mountain. The town is very pretty - though not as old as some of the other white villages.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandDtoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos T, Propietario at Hotel del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Dear Dianne,
Thank you for your comments. We love you liked our hotel and its views. We hope that you will have pleasant memories of your stay with us.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

We stayed a night in Prado del Rey at hotel del Carmen while biking in Andalucia. Hotel del Carmen is charming, rooms with terraces with great views of the mountains, delightful and helpful owner Juan Carlos (who is also a cyclist) and super helpful. Our bags were waiting for us in our room (thank you Ashley from Andalucian Cycling Experience) and were greeted with cups of refreshing Tinto de Verano. Lovely room in the hotel and dining room. Prado del Rey is charming to stroll, eat and drink. Fabulous food, bakeries, nice people. Off the tourist trail a bit which is wonderful. Wish we could have stayed a few more nights. If in the area--this is an excellent place to stay. I highly recommend Hotel Del Carmen and visiting the charming small town of Prado del Rey.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Micki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos T, Propietario at Hotel del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Dear Miki K,
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that your stay with us has been so nice. I appreciate your recommendation of our accommodation and your nice comments on Prado del Rey.
We hope you visit us on your next vacation in Andalusia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as we were cycling through the area. The town is very quiet so it seems we were some of the only guests at the hotel, but that made it kind of nice for us. The hotel is nice, clean, and full if great views from the balconies. The best part is the hospitality. The owner got up extra early for us to make coffee before we headed out to the next towm on our ride.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jmrayyadayada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vidosca, Gerente at Hotel del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear jmrayyadayada
Thank you very much for your very kind comments. We love to highlight the tranquility of the hotel and the town. It is really what we try to provide to our visitors.
I hope you enjoy the Sierra de Cádiz viewed slowly from your bikes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We originally booked five nights at Hotel Carmen, but stayed on for another two, as we were having such a chilled out break. Our terrace overlooked the pool area and surrounding countryside and we saw some beautiful sunsets and sunrises.
The hotel owners are so helpful and made us feel very welcome.
We enjoyed wandering around the small town of Prado del Rey (in spite of the steep uphill walk to get there - good way of working up a thirst for a nice cool beer!!)
We liked hotel Carmen's peaceful location, the reasonably priced food and drinks, and the opportunity to enjoy an authentic Spanish region, well away from the main tourist areas. We would definitely return if in that area again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueJacks600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_del_carmen, Gerente at Hotel del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Mrs. Jackson,
Thank you for your feedback and enjoy your holiday with us. We are pleased that the room and its terrace have been satisfactory and have done enjoy those magical moments in our environment.
Hopefully we again choose to stay with us on your next visit to Prado del Rey and the White Villages of the Sierra de Cádiz.
Best regards.

Juan Carlos Tamayo y Vicky Calero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prado del Rey
17 km away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#3 of 4 in Grazalema
159 reviews
18.8 km away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
651 reviews
5.5 km away
Hotel Enrique Calvillo
Hotel Enrique Calvillo
#2 of 3 in El Bosque
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Hotel Las Truchas
Hotel Las Truchas
#3 of 3 in El Bosque
54 reviews
5.6 km away
El Tabanco Hotel
El Tabanco Hotel
#1 of 3 in El Bosque
66 reviews
17.1 km away
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
Hotel Puerta de la Villa
#4 of 4 in Grazalema
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Carmen

Address: Av. El Nacimiento s/n, 11660 Prado del Rey, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Prado del Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Prado del Rey
Price Range: €39 - €98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel del Carmen 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Del Carmen is located in Prado del Rey, a quiet village of Cadiz mountains, just 45 minutes from Jerez de la Frontera, an hour from Seville and Cadiz, and two hours from Malaga. Its excellent location allows quick access to the Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park and the Alcornocales Natural Park. Hotel Del Carmen thus becomes a single place to plan professional visits to area businesses and tourist trips to natural parks nearby. The cottage decor of our rooms welcomes you in a relaxed atmosphere, able to provide a refreshing break. The free WIFI will keep you connected while you sunbathe, enjoy a snack or relaxing in your room. Turn on the heat or air conditioning, take a shower and relax watching from the terrace of your room, the green sea of ​​olive trees that cover the mountains and valleys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing