We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Kedron Valley Inn's Ransom Tavern
Ranked #14 of 33 Restaurants in Woodstock
Price range: US$14 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Gorgeous area with a cold mountain pond and veranda dining in season, with several historic buildings and very nice rooms with fireplaces and balconies in some.Food is not memorable

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank rzamenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017

It may be a week early but summer has officially begun when you can dine outside on the beautiful porch at the Kedron Valley Inn in South Woodstock and experience Chef Alex's cuisine. Starting with the chilled raspberry-orange soup, the poached pear salad and the seared salmon - it was one taste treat after another. Only to be finished with a beautiful birthday presentation of maple flan surrounded by fresh berries - all in all an exceptional meal. Delicious drinks, wonderful and friendly service, and fabulous food make the Kedron Valley Inn restaurant on the porch this summer a place not to be missed. Book early to reserve a table on the porch as that fills up quickly.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Charlotte23Pleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

What a wonderful place to eat with family and friends. Beyond charming, Kedron Valley Inn serves up delicious chef prepared local cuisine. Before leaving we got to know the staff by name. Hedron is seasonal and opens for dinner at specific times so be sure to call in advance. We will be sure to visit this lovely place again.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank educatemassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Pretty with a nice outdoor porch for good weather eating, but although some of the dishes are good many are not

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank rzamenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Based on the reviews, we chose to spend an evening at the Kedron Valley Inn and have dinner. We were quite disappointed. The server we had was very unfriendly, and when I looked back at other reviews, I noticed a few comments about a server being unfriendly. I now wonder if we had the same server. She started off by telling us the Inn did not serve iced tea in the winter. That was a first for us. Then she commented that our family sure did like to drink a lot of water. It was clear she was not happy with repeated visits to our table. On the food side, the mac and cheese was very creamy but very bland. I was surprised at the lack of taste. The chicken and pork dishes were good, but the overall experience was below average. This is obviously different than most of the reviews, so it was just a bad night.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank jdpslp94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kedron Valley Inn's Ransom Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing