We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast buffet”

Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 106 South Street
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

One of the nicest breakfast buffet setups I’ve seen. Delicious eggs Benedict and quiche, fresh fruit and pastries and plenty of pancake, waffles and French toast with local syrup.

The waiter continued to check on our coffee water and juice status.

There was also a standard menu for anyone that didn’t want the full buffet.

Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for enjoying the breakfast buffet at The Red Rooster and sharing your recollections.

The buffet, available whenever The Inn is busy, is definitely varied bursting with great house-made pastries, egg dishes, and of course anything we can think of to enjoy with fresh, pure 100% Vermont made maple syrup!

We think our a la carte breakfast menu is pretty special too, and I hope you’ll try it sometime soon. We feature some terrific local items and, during the summer months, the bounty of our own organic gardens!

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing much more of you in the near future!

Warm regards,
Rick Reno, Resort Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

We always eat here for breakfast when visiting Vermont. Great menu selection and the food is amazing. Restaurant also serves lunch and dinner. Recommend earring dinner at the bar. We love the bartender Scott.

Thank Gregrob1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you for choosing The Red Rooster as your go-to breakfast spot while visiting us at The Woodstock Inn & Resort!

A nice, hearty breakfast is the perfect recipe to set yourself up for a wonderful day of indoor/outdoor recreation, and we’re happy to provide both!

Thank you also for mentioning lunch and dinner at The Red Rooster as well as breakfast. The ambience changes considerably throughout the day, and the menu gets even more sophisticated as the day goes on.

Scott and the rest of the team in The Red Rooster do a terrific job and help create the kinds of lasting impressions we aim for, and we’re all looking forward to your next visit as much as you are!

Thank you again,
Rick Reno, Resort Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Had not eaten here in many years but met friends here for lunch. Dining area is lovely with various sized tables and booths. Our waiter was very attentive and told us after we placed our order that our food would be ready in twenty minutes- which it was! Lunch menu is varied with salads, burgers, sandwiches and platters. Two ordered burgers, two the roast beef wrap ( wrap changes each day) , and two of us had the grilled cheddar club sandwich with a side of tomato cream soup. All the entries were delicious. Several opted for the maple creme bulee for dessert and thoroughly enjoyed it. Would definitely return here in the future.

Thank VermontFrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for coming “home” to The Red Rooster after so many years!

I’m happy to learn that you and your group enjoyed the bright, natural setting in the dining room; prompt and friendly service; a nice sampling of our locally-inspired entrees; and of course our terrific house-made desserts!

The grilled cheddar club you mention is one of my personal favorites, with turkey, applewood-smoked bacon, and delicious apple-butter, and paired with a deliciously creamy made-from-scratch tomato soup…

I hope you’ll be back again for lunch soon, and consider either The Red Rooster or Richardson's Tavern, our other restaurant, for a relaxing evening out!

Best wishes,
Rick Reno, Resort Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Although our dishes were well presented, they were flavorless and very disappointing. My duck was over-cooked and the tiny cherries were sour. Our oysters were set atop a thick bed of salt which looked like herbed quinoa. The server didn't telI me it was salt and I ate a fork-full! not return. My husband's steak dish was a little better but generally flavorless. the hotel is lovely but i would not dine there; better and less expensive options in the area. Atmosphere is very nice and seating was comfortable. Service was a bit slow.

Thank Stonesthrow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

We thank you for dining with us recently and sharing your observations, and I apologize that the experience did not live up to your expectations.

As you know, we cater to discerning travelers and both our restaurants, The Red Rooster and the more casual Richardson's Tavern, are very important in making a visit to The Woodstock Inn & Resort memorable, whether for an extended holiday, a night or two, or an evening of fine dining and relaxation.

I’ve shared your thoughtful comments with our culinary and front-of-house teams so we can provide more consistently rewarding experiences to our guests moving forward.

I do hope you’ll visit Woodstock again soon, and consider another visit to The Woodstock Inn & Resort, whether for lodging, dining, enjoying some of our terrific activities, or just for a visit!

We look forward to the opportunity to regain your trust.

Respectfully,
Rick Reno, Resort Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

I have had breakfast here several times. It is best to get the breakfast package with room. Otherwise it would be $50.00 for two to eat breakfast ! The weekend buffet is outstanding.

Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thank you for joining us for breakfast in The Red Rooster during your recent visit and sharing your impressions. We offer a sumptuous buffet at busy times as well as a full menu of hand-crafter dishes all the time, and it is a great way to start the day!

Thank you also for your suggestions of a package combining lodging with breakfast. Bed and Breakfast packages are a great value, and we offer a variety of other packages and specials throughout the year, so I encourage you to visit our web site often and consider registering for our mailing list; and please do call our reservations team or concierges any time if we can assist with arrangements!

Warm regards,
Rick Reno, Resort Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort also viewed

 

Been to Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing