We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$179
US$143
View Deal
SAVE US$36
Free cancellation until 19/03/21
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
PricelineUS$179
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
29
23
12
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
23
12
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old west historic hotel step back in time scrambled eggs cozy lobby movie stars alabama hills eastern sierras fish hatchery bed was very comfortable small town new owners next morning lone pine cakes charm era
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2019 via mobile

Wow! What an amazing treasure we found in the Winnedumah! The impressive stone fireplace in the cozy lobby started our visit off perfectly as we set to explore this quaint hotel in the small town of Independence. It’s gracious hosts regaled us with tales of famous guests of by-gone eras & truly brought the historic property to life as they shared with us their hospitality. After enjoying a fresh cup of tea by the fire in the evening, we were impressed by how clean our Jack & Jill suite rooms were! Given the age of the property, we were pleasantly surprised to find the rooms immaculate, the linens crisp & fresh scented, and incredibly comfortable beds! To top off our wonderful, although short, stay, breakfast the next morning was also a pleasant discovery! Fresh baked blueberry muffins, scrambled eggs, assorted breads & pastries, & honestly the BEST homemade granola we’ve ever had. We’re looking forward to a return visit as the period-honoring restorations are completed over the next few years. A definite gem in this adorable town nestled at the base of the Eastern Sierras.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MandNDeYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Winnedumah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2020

Hi from the Winnedumah Hotel,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving a review. We appreciate all of your kind comments. We are working hard to restore this rustically charming historic hotel and it is a true delight to read that the effort is appreciated. We are also happy you enjoyed our homemade granola and look forward to your next visit so we can serve up another batch for you. In the meantime, we wish you happy travels.

Warm regards,
Cindy and Derek, General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019

New owners are restoring this historic property to the 1920s and '30s time period when it was a favorite of the movie stars and production crews in the nearby Alabama Hills film locations. Most of the furnishings date back to that era and add immensely to the charm of the building. The property managers are very friendly and welcoming. They are knowledgeable of the importance of the Winnedumah to the local area and the activities and attractions in the Owens Valley area. The hotel fronts Highway 395 (Edwards Street) and sits across from the Inyo County Courthouse. The room rate includes a breakfast bag filled with juice, yogurt, fruit, granola, hard boiled egg and a freshly baked muffin delivered to your room door by 7 am. Coffee and tea are serviced in the spacious and cozy lobby. Keeping with the historic times there are no TVs in the rooms but secured WiFi is provided. Convenient parking adjacent to the hotel is along Center Street and in the back. Most rooms have views of the picturesque mountains to the west. Nearby is the Eastern California Museum, the historic Commander's House and the Mt. Whitney Fish Hatchery. Just further south is the WWII Manzanar Site and the Lone Pine Film History Museum. The rooms and hotel public areas are very clean, with plenty of hot water and quality towels. The bed was very comfortable and I got a good night's sleep. The clothes hanging bars in each room could use some coat hangers.
Good value for a classic hotel.

Room tip: Ask for the John Wayne Room
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brian_in_Reno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager, General Manager at Winnedumah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2020

Hi from the Winnedumah,

Wow are we embarrassed we realize we never replied to your kind review. So, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing a review that we are sure will help many future guests to learn about us and perhaps decide to come and stay with us and get to know us.

We hope you are having happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2019

I gave this an average rating because it's good but odd. This hotel was built in 1927 and it looks like a time capsule. If you need A/C, a television and charging ports, this place is not for you. The lobby is amazing, large and looks like it from an earlier time. The room has old creaky floors small bathroom and old fixtures. Normally this would be a turn off, but in this place it's just right! Small breakfast in the lobby. I really liked it, but be prepared!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Grover1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Winnedumah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2019

Hi from the Winnedumah Hotel,

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed the "odd" nature of our historic hotel. We do want to let guests know that over the next year or so some of the things you mention will be changing, you won't find televisions but we will be adding individual climate control and plenty of ways to charge up to stay connected via our free WiFi.

We hope you will visit us in the future. In the meantime, we wish you happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2019 via mobile

Absolutely horrible discrimination against me with my service dog. Actually refused us which is totally against the law. My husband and I were so looking forward to this place. He talked to the new owner and thought he had a good repor when booking. Treated me like I didn't know the laws and was rudely forceful. I ended up in tears and really felt the pain against me having a disability. Be aware to feel shamed to have a disability. Besides this I will be reporting to the ADA and maybe a lawsuit. Awful experience.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ravenherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Winnedumah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2019

Thank you for leaving feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2019

No TV, hair dryer, or iron. Nothing hot at breakfast, though all fruit was fresh. Our rooms had clean, new, white linen. Minimalist amenities, in plastic packets.

Our rooms were not made up for the second night. We came back to beds not made and towels not exchanged. When we asked they said that "Inyo County didn't allow them to 'refresh' rooms." Strange, because we also stayed in nearby Lone Pine, also in Inyo County, and our rooms were made up the second day.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tannenbaum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Winnedumah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2019

Greetings from the Winnedumah Hotel,

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Just so future guests know, we always offer to refresh a room if a guest is staying more than one night or they may ask for a refresh at the Front Desk. We are concerned that you may have been given a different answer and would encourage you to reach out to us privately so that we might help educate our staff on the matter. But you can rest assured it will be emphasized in our ongoing training.

We do offer an extended continental breakfast and the offerings do change daily and some mornings we offer our very popular chia puddings, yogurt parfaits and overnight oats. Other mornings we offer pancakes or scrambled eggs as part of the continental breakfast.

We would like to also address amenities. we offer top line Guild & Pepper amenities in the rooms from the international Gilchrest & Soames brand.

Again, so that future guests are aware, hair dryers are available at our Front Desk, guests may always ask for these, and other items they may require that we do offer. Televisions will not be found in the rooms or public spaces as we stay true to the historic nature of our hotel.Thank you for giving us the chance to make sure other guests who may be looking for a hotel with televisions as part of their stay are aware that these are not part of what we offer.

Again, we thank you for your review and we wish you happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews