We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
35
77
88
64
148
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
77
88
64
148
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two double beds meal times blue sea xmas and new year price you pay bath and shower towels were changed local shops fresh towels bugibba square lee tommy lad plugs
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018

We spent ten days at the San Anton and honestly I cannot fault the hotel. We asked to change rooms as we had a little girl and wanted a room on a lower floor. This was done no hassle. We asked for a fridge in our room and again it arrived within the hour. I found the staff very helpful and friendly. Pool area was very clean and tidy and the room cleaned regularly. Bugibba square is about a 10 minute walk away so although there isn't too much within the immediate area, Qawra and Bugibba are easily within walking distance. We would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _bobjones16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Guest
We thank you for your time sending your review and glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself and would come again in future.
We appreciate your appraisal regarding the good service provided by our staff when you needed to change your room and wanted a fridge.We try our very best to honour and make our guests happy during their time with us.
You are right to say that we are very close to Bugibba square where one finds all essential shops, banks, bars, restaurants and lots of events that guests can do during their stay.
Do not hesitate to ask for me, the undersigned were I would be very pleased to honour your request.
Best Regards
Guest Relation Manager
Aldo Schembri Adami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

We originally booked a 3 week stay at this disgraceful hotel but had to leave after 3 nights as we couldn't stay there any longer.

The hotel is dirty the rooms are falling apart. We booked a self catering apartment which had no cooking facilities, broken units, exposed wiring, filthy uncomfortable beds and the staff seemed completely fed up of dealing with constant compliants from guests and were very unhelpful.

The Cavendish Hotels Group need to close this place down until its actually habitable for humans to stay. Shocking!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Guest

We would like to express our sincere regret for the fact that you just decided yourself to just leave from our hotel, as that certain aspects of your most recent holiday with us did not meet your expectations.

Management would like to inform you that it is never our intention to provide our guests with a service that does not fully meet or exceed expectation.In fact our intention,is to offer the best service possible for every aspect.

Kindly note that we definitely disagree to your information send in this review,stating dirty rooms and hotel is falling apart.

Please note that the tourist accommodation is checked by the local authorities before it is let to tourists.The licence confirms that the property meets all local health and safety regulations for the facilities provided and star rating given, so this might make you realise that The Cavandish Hotels Group are in a perfect condition and are able to operate according to the proper way, providing top service to all our guests during their stay.

Best Regards

Guest Relation Manager

Aldo Schembri Adami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Two male friends stayed here for a week all inclusive at the end of May into June 2018. I can only describe the receptionist as hostile. No customer service, we were an inconvenience. The first room had a double bed, despite having booked a twin room. Back to reception, receptionist couldn't care. We were given the keys for a second room. It was outdated, scruffy, very lived in, a 3ft x 3ft balcony, only one electric point and no where to plug the portable air con unit in. Back to reception the third room had twin beds, room on the small size, but clean, recently modernised, plenty of plug points. I trued to book 2 packed meals as we were to be out for the next 5 lunch times, too late...even though the restaurant was open. The restaurant staff did their best, not enough staff, dirty tables, never enough cutlery and drinks served in disposable plastic glasses. No thought on the environment. The bar staff with the exception of a young man on the pool bar were surly, rude and not interested. They served drinks in plastic disposable glasses and complained that they did not have enough glasses. They stood about when quiet not collecting or washing glasses which would have eased the problem, too busy they repeatedly said when they were doing nothing. The food, unfortunately mostly it was of very poor quality, the restaurant was nothing more than a feeding station, no effort to make it nice and comfortable for guests. Staff appeared to be frightened of the management who were often seen prowling around. I spoke with one receptionist again about a packed lunch for the following day (I had been earlier but she was too busy to deal with my request) and again she said no too late. I said if she wrote the chit out I would take it to the restaurant manager who seemed to be an accommodating individual. She went off alarmingly, no, no no, then shouted at a manger that she could not make a decision to order the packed lunches. The front of house manager said no but listened to what I had to say and instructed the receptionist to fill in a chit. Again she went off alarmingly shouting at the manger. Beer was served in half pints, one at a time, spirits were cheap disgusting local spirits again on a one only basis. 3 times the towels had been taken away and not replaced, we had to ring reception several times on each occasion. We heard other guests who had the same problem. The hotel management seem to run the place through fear, the staff with the odd exception were rude, off hand and disinterested. The food very poor, drinks poor. It is billed as all inclusive but is full board with drinks. A disappointing experience, a very bad advert for Malta and the local tourist industry.

Room Tip: Do not go there
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Guest

We have seen your review which states that our hotel did not reach your expectations

You have booked a stay with all inclusive program for restaurant and drinks.Our catering agents offer a daily and varied menu to satisfy multiple nationalities. While they strive to do so , We are sure you may understand that it isa not always possible to adhere to all individual tastes.

All local brands are included in the drinks menu free of charge. Premium brands,however , are not included but obtainable at fair price.

In regards to plastic cups ,due to our hotel offering all inclusive food and drink , glasses can often be left around the hotel grounds. As we are a child friendly hotel, this can prove to be dangerous , so for health and safety reasons all guests are give plastic cups, however glass and chinaware are available from the bar upon request.

Regarding the towel, these are changed daily,if, as advertised in the bathroom in several languages, guests leave the dirty towels on the bathroom floor. Alternatively , these can be obtained from reception at any time.

Kindly be advised that it is not right to built up stories stating that management and staff do not work properly together. This is all nonsense, and is not fare at a to spread such bad publicity regarding management and our staff.

Management could say with great confidence that we perform our very best service in a friendly attitude and are all very pleased to work, hand in hand to give our effort and help all guests on board.Your comment stating that the hotel management seem to run the place through fear is completely far from the truth.

Best Regards

Guest Relation Manager

Aldo Schembri Adami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We stayed at San Anton in June for 1 wk. The hotel was very clean and the staff were friendly. The rooms were brilliant for the money and very large. 2 double beds and a decent bathroom.The maid came every day and cleaned the room and changed the towels if you wanted them changing. Pool area was good and clean. Molly Malones bar was cheap for drinks but the entertainment wasnt up to much. Would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2018
7  Thank Billysbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for your review and your lovely comments regarding your stay at The San Anton Hotel.
Pleased to hear that the accommodation was worth for the money spend for you stay.Our aim is to provide the best service as possible in a clean and friendly atmosphere.
Glad that the pool was to your liking and that you noticed how clean ans safe we keep the pool at any time.
Management wish to thank you for your feedback and will be looking forward to meet you again should you return back to The San Anton Hotel.
Best Regards
Guest Relation Manager
Aldo Schembri Adami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Ok so let’s be clear here, I expected this hotel to be average at best.
It’s cheap. This is probably the best thing about it.
However even with that in mind there are certain things that can and should be improved.

I am realistic and didn’t expect gourmet style food and a four poster bed so certain basic things I really didn’t mind. Here’s the good, the bad and the downright ugly.

Location- it’s unpleasant. Well the immediate area outside the hotel is.

It just looks drab, sad and dirty.

But it is within walking distance to the sea front, which is lovely and has a beautiful port. Being fair people, we actually didn’t care too much, as we aren’t all about the hotel and we like to get out and about.

Good job really.

It’s also near a nice little corner shop which you can get taxis from and book trips with. You’ll need the trips. Lots of trips. Anywhere but the hotel.

The hotel-
Ok so it’s clean, the rooms are basic but fine.
I’m hardly going to lie on my bed for the whole holiday I simply need to sleep there.

Well I would sleep there if it had air con, the rooms get hotter than the surface of the sun. Possibly hotter.

Therefore you toss and turn in a feverish state whilst sleep mocks you, laughing at your sweat sodden skin.

You could leave the patio open, I hear you say? Nah don’t do it. You will become a human buffet for the mosquitos. As my legs will testify.

We did have fans that blew hot air at us with was akin to being inside a fan assisted oven. The small portable air con unit did blow a letter boxed sized stream of old air at you but it had a tube of boiling air billowing out the back and thus made the room hotter. We were on fire. Literally. Even Lucifer would be seeing mirages.

Facilities- a bit poor to be fair. The pool is ok. I mean it’s cool which is a relief.
Not enough loungers or parasols.

No bottled water on the AL so you have to buy it. Even though the tap water resembles milk. It’s not good.

Also you can only get one drink at a time. There was 3 of us. I’m clearly not a Fanta addicted person wanting to feast upon three glasses of the stuff!!! I just didn’t expect all 3 of us to have to go the bar EVERY time. Beer and wine is unpalatable. So we lived on Fanta (one at a time !!!) and coke and had beers in town.

The food was unremarkable.

Not enough fruit or veg. It’s very cheap and basic. With not much variety or choice. But you can survive.

Example menu:
Breakfast: full English EVERY day but is actually quite tasty. Although the egg has a weird after taste.

Lunch: pasta or chips or some mystery meat in a sauce. Ham buttys are nice.

Dinner: mystery meat in a sauce, pasta. Raw potato slices.
Oh and lots of bread.

We ate out quite a bit to be honest. No one is surprised.

Activity’s- the entertainment board looked promising. We had Gail the guest singer and karaoke for 4 our of the 7 nights.
Only Gail didn’t show. At all. We are concerned about Gail and may have to speak Interpol!!! Gail where are you!!???

Seriously I think they were old adverts.
Gail is probably at home obvious to her supposed performance at the ‘pub’ which is dark, dingey and unwelcoming. On half pints allowed too. Unless you pay.

No towel system for pool. We had to buy beach towels.
Which was a good job because we weren’t given fresh towels most days. To even shower with.

Staff were variable. The pool bar man with the long hair (from the Balkans) he is lovely! Super friendly nice guy.

Most of the other staff were rude and looked at you like you were a piece of doggy doo. They rolled their eyes if you asked them anything. I mean if you don’t like people don’t work in a hotel. Soz beef.

Basically if you just need a cheap bed and want self catering it’s fine. But you could probably get better for a few quid more so I wouldn’t stay here again.

However if anyone sees Gail can you let me know if she’s ok?

She may have melted in her room and is now being devoured by hordes of mosquitos. If they can bear the smell of her filthy unwashed body. She’s never had any towels bless her.

#prayforgail

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Bettyboopercooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldoSchembri, Guest Relations Manager at The San Anton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Guest

Management feels, it is important to note that The San Anton Hotel is a popular hotel and is invaded with loads of repeaters.The hotel achieves a high proportion of positive feedback, it is not to say that your concerns have been dismissed.

We appreciate your acknowledgement of the good value for money provided.We constantly strive to improve the service we provide. Such balanced constructive reviews enable us to ascertain the areas we need to investigate and improve.

We regret that outside the hotel was not your expectation , however you still found interesting shops selling excursions, taxis service etc.

Our hotel is always cleaned daily and we have records showing the information regarding the cleaning service done.

Unfortunately,while the hotel management sprays the hotel area against unwanted "guests",these mosquitoes fly around, thus making it difficult to fully control them due to the Mediterranean climate.We do apologise on behalf for the inconvenience they caused to our guests.

The air condition portable units are all checked by our maintenance team before having new arrival guests.in the room.Therefore we find it strange that air condition was not functioning properly. It is pretty obvious that you were not making good use of the a/c unit properly. You never informed us about this matter during your stay.We would be very pleased to show you how to use this portable air condition unit and that would have solve this situation.

You have booked a stay with all inclusive food and drinks.Our catering agents offer a daily and varied menu to satisfy various nationalities.Where they strive to do so, we are sure you may understand that it is not always possible to adhere to all individual tastes.

All local beers, wines and drinks are included in the drinks menu free of charge.Premium brands,however, are not included but obtainable at fair prices.While we are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction regarding the restaurant and drinks menu, according to our records you did not provide us with your feed back on site.Therefore,we were not able to address your concerns.

Management feel extremely sorry for your attitude, when stating everybody is so rude.We think that it is not very nice insulting our staff and making fun of people who do not need to be insulted.This is really unbelievable when assuming you are a mature person, (not a kid) causing such nonsense and spreading such false information to our trip advisor readers.We shall investigate in detail regarding the issue you raised about the singer "Gail", who did not attend according to you, to perform her singing and karaoke show. Kindly note that your sarcastic points are definitely declined and unfortunately caused you a lot of waste of time.You should have spoken to us while you were still here in the hotel, than rather wasting your time sending such insulting information.
Once again this is not the right way to state that our staff treated you like you were a piece of doggy doo. This is shocking. All our staff work hard to assist our guests and certainly all do their effort in order to have happy guests on board.
Best Regards
Guest Relation Manager
Aldo Schembri Adami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews