We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,973)
Filter reviews
1,973 results
Traveller rating
264
496
491
356
366
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
496
491
356
366
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus bus service rooftop terrace bugibba square bad reviews plenty of choice fresh towels cleaned every day cleaned daily vince keyboard
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 1,973 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Just returned. Been to Malta maybe 10 times. Was over with my Dad for business, he's been maybe 30 times, lived there at times too etc. He's also stayed at Bella Vista 4 times, and now 5. Not again though. Why? The hotel is dependent on Students who now outnumber guests in what seems like hundreds. They are noisy and I've personally confronted three groups. One playing stupidly loud music on the adjoining balcony, the second knocking down the CCTV outside my room and tearing off my 'Do not disturb' sign (maybe funny but shows the clientelle quality). And the third on the last night I shouted to for walking past me and spitting on the floor and then in the pool. Nice! ..
Arrived on day one to be told check-in is at 2pm. No problem with that. But no all inclusive until then either. So you have to pay for food and drink despite being up since 3am. And all inclusive? Finishes at 3pm for snacks. It's more full board truth be told.
Breakfast? Good on the days it's all there. Twice in seven days you got bacon and scrambled egg. Other days just sausages. It would be fine if it stayed as a full breakfast daily. Evening meal very poor. Boring and ended up eating out the last few nights. Not me being awkward, I defy anyone to sit and enjoy that food. School dinner at best.
Staff? With the exception of two bar staff, no one says a thing. Reception sit arguing amongst themselves, very cold and seem annoyed constantly.
In summary. Average (certainly not four star!). Food will feed you but not clever. Clean enough, pool area small but adequate (it's Malta, go to the sea if you like to swim). Staff need to cheer up. Kids need to be controlled. Not the hotels fault I'm sure but their duty to ensure they behave and don't vandalise and cause disruption in the early hours. Not my job to police the halls at night but it became it. I'll use Santana next time. All inclusive includes bottled water, staff are nice and they look after you.
The hotel is clearly making its money through students. That's fine. But it's not for anyone on business, a family holiday or similar. Shame as like I say, it was ok a couple of years back.... Oh, and the Bella Vista apartments. If you are still brave enough to book, make sure you get a room in the actual hotel, not down the road. Not even joking. And ask for a proper balcony. Mine was enclosed so my only view was the neighbouring balcony with Kevin and Perry on it bopping away to trance music. Oh, with an ants nest on it.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the actual hotel, not the apartments
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Avoid this student accommodation/hotel if you want a decent nights sleep. There are constantly large groups of young schoolchildren staying, who are allowed to run riot nightly into the early hours.
Hotel staff/management are not interested in complaints made about the noise/students, as these school parties are obviously the financial backbone of this "hotel."

Room Tip: Away from students rooms, the busy main road outside and the nightly entertainment area.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Michael_S1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

The food is not great and i could not eat there. The hotel was clean as was our room just a funny smell everywhere that bothered me especially in the dining room. This hotel appears to be aimed at older guests not familys or younger people. The staff were friendly and would go out of there way for you. Location is ok about a 15 minute walk to the beach and town. Bus services were great.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank kimmyjxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

hello dear guest, we thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you found the hotel clean and our staff so welcoming.My apologies if the food was not up to your expectations.Thank you for choosing Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

The room was comfortable , although it states tea , coffee facilities it really means a kettle so take teabags or coffee and milk if you wasn't to make a cuppa. The pool is very small and gets no sun , The food was really not up to standard expected , for whatever reason the chefs could not cook a potato until soft , plenty of salad but some tomatoes were very soft . Breakfast by and large was the best meal of the day , cereal , bacon , eggs sausages plenty of bread to toast , tea was awful , very weak and stewed as kept warm on a hot plate so took our own teabags down. Very noisy hotel , crowds of students from different countries causing other residents to complain but no one wanted to take responsibility for dealing with them. Staff were very pleasant, even in the restaurant although you felt you were being watched all the time . This hotel could be very good but needs work . The room next to ours had students in and there were four beds to accommodate them in a twin room. Hopefully this will make others think twice

Room Tip: Level two appears to be the noisiest with many students running around.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ladyfromdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

dear Madam, we thank you for your review.We offer tea, coffee, sugar and milk to allinclusive and guests in superior rooms.Guests on half board and BB can buy from the shop in reception area.My apologies if the food was not up to your expectations.We normally have only students in July and mid August , so at this time there is a change over from the normal guests and these English language students.The students are supervised by live in leaders and our staff, unfortunately you find those few who do not follow rules and regulations.Thank you for your kind remarks about the restaurant staff.
Thank you for choosing Malta, my apologies if some things were not perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel is fine, we got a room in the suites, which was basically an apartment without a kitchen. There was a fridge, a microwave and dining table. Don't know why they didn't invest in a small stove aswell, since it was quite spacey.

The breakfast buffet was a joke (not much to choose from as a vegetarian) but at least you didn't have to start every day finding somewhere to eat. The pool area was a bit secluded so the pool never really heated up, but it's more fun to swim in the ocean anyway.

They also had a game room with pool tables and table tennis. But apparently the hotel doesn't own the tables and doesn't take any responsibility for it. Half of the balls were missing (from both the tables!) and they wouldn't give us a refund. But they still advertise "the game room" on all the booking sites... really bad customer service!

It's about 1-1,5 km to Bugibba square just for your knowledge.

All in all, if you're only sleeping there it's fine. But if you want to spend some time at the hotel, choose one with a better restaurant and a nicer pool area.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

dear Patricia, we thank you for your review.The suites are not sold as self catering , but normal HB or BB.We have a lot of guests using the pool everyday, and with the weather we are having, the pool does not need to heat up.We always call the operator when the billiard tables are not working and we keep extra balls in the shop in case any get mislaid.Guests can use our free shuttle if they do not want to walk to Bugibba square.Thank you for choosing Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews