We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,994)
Filter reviews
1,994 results
Traveller rating
267
501
494
361
371
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
501
494
361
371
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus bus service rooftop terrace bugibba square bad reviews plenty of choice fresh towels cleaned every day cleaned daily vince keyboard
Filter
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 1,994 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2015

This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. If this is the case all I can say is that Maltese standards are much lower than many countries.
The room we were given was in the self catering annexe, away from the main hotel. I say self catering because it had a large fridge freezer, a microwave combi and kitchen units with a large sink and drainer and a kitchen table with 4 chairs but no cutlery, crockery and no kettle.
To get to this annexe you had to walk over 100 yards along a narrow uneven footpath with potholes and pools of water.
The apartment we were given had 5 single beds and was cold, draughty and noisy- not with traffic but the slightest bit of wind made all sorts of howling noises when it came through the poorly fitting windows and balcony doors. The bathroom was cold, damp and shabby for 4 star acommodation and there was no drying rack in the room to dry towels, swimming costumes or anything else. In the main bedroom one of the three wall lights didn't work and neither did two of the three ceiling lights in the kitchen area. Even the light outside the lift on the 4th floor didn't work.
The lights mentioned above did not work at all during our stay and we were there for 3 weeks.
We were given a large oil-filled radiator to help to keep the chill off the room and this was left on nearly all of the time.
When we spoke to our holiday rep on the morning after our arrival he stated that we were better off staying in the room we had been given -that comment spoke volumes!!
The entertainment could only be described as poor since when it came to some of the so-called professional singers the only proper request to make was could they sing far, far away - the further away the better.
Seating in the lounge was far from adequate and unless you went for dinner as soon as the restaurant opened you had practically no chance of getting a seat. Many of the guests sat round playing cards, dominoes and other games to pass the time since dinner started at 5.30 and the singers didn't start until 8.30 - 8.50.
When it came to the food in the restaurant there was always something palatable however the fried eggs were always undercooked and the bacon was very fatty, streaky bacon. Most of the food could have been hotter and when it came to dessert it was nearly always some very very thin tart of some kind - alright for a lot of continentals but not really to the taste of us Brits - what happened to apple tart. The chefs serving the meat at dinner, and the bacon and sausages at breakfast were not very generous with their portions - anyone would think they were paying for the food out of their own pockets.
I notice that there have been a number of comments about restaurant staff ignoring guests when they have asked for something but many of the restaurant staff appear to be Eastern Europeans who speak very little English.
If you wanted a kettle in your room there was a charge, there was also a charge for internet and it is the first time that i have come across a charge for using the swimming pool - you were not allowed to take a towel down from your room - you had to pay 4 euros deposit for a towel at reception and when you returned it you only got 2 euros back.
I notice that at the time of writing this review there are 199 terrible ratings and only 156 excellent ratings. I also notice that many of the people who gave this hotel full marks don't appear to have stayed anywhere else. These two facts speak for themselves don't they?

Room Tip: Stay Somewhere Else
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Gismo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2015

dear Gismo, thank you for your feedback.We do not have any self catering rooms in the hotel or annexe.We provide a bigger fridge and a microwave because we allocate to rooms to BB guests when possible and they might need to warm some pies or food they buy, if they do not want to eat in restaurants.The towels are changed every day and guests do not need to dry them, just put used ones in the bath for the maid to replace.I do not know if you reported all these lights, I checked our maintenance emails and and all reported faults were fixed in the suites within a day or two.You have to agree that if you never reported these we would not know something is wrong.
Sorry we cannot afford Maroon 5 OR Rihana to entertain guests at the hotel.We had over 60% of the guests coming from Germany, and they enjoy a game of cards, cannot understand why this bothered you.Some guests prefer to play cards or board games, others prefer to drink all night.
Thank you for choosing Malta, my apologies if some things were not perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2015

First of all the Bella Vista is first class value for money and the food was better than last year, BUT
there was building work going on last year "out the back" so I thought I would not be writing this report ! How can a resturant which hold about 300 persons and a bar / dance area which holds another 250 persons 500 to 600 people when there is a full hotel, and a wedding reception in the resturant (which happened in 2014) be serviced by FOUR toilets TOTAL for both ladies and gents, NO urinals in the gents, just two (sit down) toilets in both. Also we booked a poolside room or front view room SIX MONTHS early only to be sent 100 yds up the road to a flat, we waited three days to get a sink unblocked, extra pillows requested never arrived, and when we got back I discovered 2 x 50gm packs of tobacco had been stolen from my suitcase. USEFUL TIP The hotel was full of GERMANS in January, last year we went in Feb and it was mostly U.K. visitors .

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 723Len
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

dear guest, we thank you for your review.We are glad you thought the hotel is very good value for money, and the food improved. We never had problems with toilets in the public areas. The restraurant takes around 150 guests and the bar/ reception area around 150 + tables by the pool and front of hotel.I think that on a Saturday there might be around 300 guests in bar area and restaurant.We are building new toilets when we finish the new part at the back of the hotel, hopefully by July.You requested a front room and we gave you room 1202 on the front at the suites.Your sink was reported on the 19th. Jan at 19.08 hours and maintenance came on the following day according to our records.We apologise if some tobacco went missing from your luggage.This could have happened anywhere from the hotel to the airports in both Malta & UK.
All hotels in Malta are open to everyone and that is how it should because you cannot accept only British guests and forget the rest of Europe and the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

We were in The Bella Vista Hotel from 6th November 2014 for five weeks and it is excellent !!!!
Friendly Staff ,Good Food especially the fish with never a bone to be found in fact I have never eaten so much,fish that is .
Guess what we have booked again for the the whole of October 2015 and looking forward to spending another month. The Bella is great value for money .
What we really liked was the bus service just across the Zebra crossing that can take you all over the island with a weekly ticket at just six euros 50 cents that you could use on any bus.
This will be our 6 th time in Malta .

Room Tip: Room 432 was great but I am not sure I can get it again this year but I will try.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank edgrant62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

dear guest, we thank you for your nice review.Glad you liked the food and the friendliness of our staff.It is nice when guests book again to come year after year.We have done a number of improvements in the rooms and public areas and we have plans to improve other areas.Buses run right in front of the hotel , with a bus stop a few meters from the hotel.Guests need to stay on the bus on the return journey when they get to Qawra station as the same bus will drive past the hotel on its way out.Thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again later this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

We stayed in Bella Vista Hotel in February and cannot be complementary enough!!!
When we arrived late in evening we were given a care package as we had missed dinner :)
Our room was lovely and had fab view.
Have to say we really enjoyed food and there was a huge selection to choose from. Restaurant staff always attentive and nothing was too much bother
Indoor pool under used and we basically had a private pool to ourselves most days :)
I have to especially complement the cleaning staff who were FANTASTIC!!! Our room was always spotless after they had departed and they had a friendly word and a smile for everyone
We will definitely be back...hopefully when its a bit warmer outside :)

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ccara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

dear ccara, we thank you for sharing your stay with our Tripadvisor friends.You have spent some time in our hotel and it is nice to note you were another satisfied customer.If we have a look at the last reviews we note a big improvement and we hope this will get even better.We take the guests' questionaires and Tripadvisor reviews very seriously and we try to impliment most of the suggestions forwarded by our guests. Our staff appreciate your remarks about their friendliness
and dedication to their work.The Maltese have always been known for their friendliness and our staff are no exception.Thank you for choosing Malta, hope we can welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

My sister and i booked 3 weeks holiday neither been to Malta before we arrived late at night we booked in and the hotel gave us a packed lunch witch was very nice of them.The room was large and very clean.On waking up looked out to waste land but with a nice view in distance breakfast was okay would have been nice to have single yogurts the rest of meals good because they catered for veggies .over all the hotel was really nice. My sisters son came out to spend a week with us where we went site seeing witch we all enjoyed. The only bad thing witch as nothing to do with hotel is no buses go into town from outside.

Room Tip: Any room on level 2 and over, rooms lower done facing brick wall
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hjefferies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaltaCorrection, Manager at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

dear guest, we thank you for your feedback.We normally leave a packed lunch for late arriving guests , as we think this would at least help from going to bed on an empty stomach.Glad you thought the room was kept clean and you enjoyed the food.Guests need to stay on the bus on the way back to Qawra station because the same bus will pass from infront of our hotel on the next trip after a few minutes.Thank you for choosing Malta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews