We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$26
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Expedia.com
US$25
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
Hotels.com
US$25
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
PricelineUS$26
Agoda.comUS$26
Orbitz.comUS$25
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,764)
Filter reviews
1,764 results
Traveller rating
380
641
395
188
160
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
380
641
395
188
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alexis meylaq self catering the bus guest relations manager reception staff convenience store fresh towels local buses plenty of sunbeds xemxija bay apartment island malta bugibba maids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 1,764 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

First things first, when we arrived Madeline was great, she informed us that the room wasn't ready but she would get the cleaners to go do it straight away, which happened. The first room, was however incredibly dirty and on a very high floor with what looked like not very safe balcony/ terrace area so we asked to move. This was done without a problem by Madeline, however the room we moved into was slightly better on the height scale, however was still really dirty and the view was horrific. We asked the other lady on reception ( I believe she was Maltese) and she confirmed no rooms available but we could change later in our stay which was fine. The room we finally got was fine, it was still dirty and with a lot of the self catering glasses and plates etc cracked/ broken, however had everything we needed. A comfy bed, a nice view of the pool and a bath. The staff are extremely helpful and always there to help you out especially the two previously mentioned. Room only cleaned twice during our stay which meant towels and stuff were disgusting and smelly after a few days. It appears this hotel is currently in the middle of improving things and if the cleanliness and a bit of improvement on the standard of facilities in the room. Breakfast in hotel is satisfactory, not very good quality food but cheap price so okay. Staff made this place. Also if you don't like cats wandering around hotel and going everywhere ( even in the indoor pool/jacuzzi stay away! Cats everywhere. However for the money, worthwhile. Bus is a necessity, as you are a bit out of the way but it is relaxing. Walls are paper thin so you can hear everything throughout the rooms. Watch out for the 'burning toast alarm' that goes off at ridiculous o'clock in the morning and wakes everyone up. I would recommend for a cheap getaway, but if your looking for luxury perhaps look elsewhere. great staff, mediocre hotel!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kierenfreer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Just returned from malta 6th May to 13th May 2017 staying at the porto azure hotel, checking in was ok nice plesent lady on reception in fact all reception staff were very helpful. Our room was on second floor it was clean with a view of the pool not much sun on that side of hotel but there is some building work in progress on the balcony s on that side .our room had a fridge microwave toaster and two rings to cook on we never used them ate out all the time, room was cleaned once and clean bedlinen and clean towels once but you change dirty towels for clean ones at reception. The bar is down stairs it's nice relaxing serves good food poor selection of beer only local beer and Guinness in cans no draught. Pool area very good plenty of sunbeds pool bar also very good and very clean. The hotel is in a very quiet area not much night life around but plenty of buses to St pauls or budgie a fare 1.50 euros but last bus back is 10PM a taxi is 15 euros ,it is a steep road from main road to hotel.

Room tip: High floor
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbarnsley1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 May 2017

My wife and I had been fortunate enough to book a cruise the previous week for our anniversary and chose this hotel for a relaxing weeks stay afterwards.
We booked the penthouse room 610 and it was excellent. Pound for pound you will not get better value than this anywhere in the world and you wouldn't get a cardboard box in London for the price!
It is a lovely large and bright suite with surrounding balcony. We didn't use the balcony a lot because it was windy, but to be honest you could relax with your breakfast and still get great views. Everything provided to self cater. We did our own light breakfast, but hotel breakfast looks also good value.
All the staff are very friendly and will try to help with any request.
The hotel also had a free offer of airport transfer and a Valletta harbour cruise. We used both and they were super value.
Pool area nice and big, no rush for bums on sunbeds here.
All in all a very enjoyable stay and to repeat outstanding value.
If you want to nitpick, yes there are bits that need a little attention but I'm sure the hotel tries hard on its budget to keep up.
Our thanks to all the staff for their efforts
No problem to recommend, bear in mind it is Malta, not Mayfair and relax..
We will return, especially to room 610 if available.

Eddie and Christina McAlpine

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank eddie846
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoAzzurro, Guest Relations Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Eddie and Christina,

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be your choice hotel while visiting Malta. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your impressions about your stay on TripAdvisor.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us at Porto Azzurro, that our hotel facilities, the penthouse room 601, you and your wife occupied, were to your liking and you may rest assured that your positive comments about our staff have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel.

Thank you once again for your review and for your patronage; we are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and to hear that you and your wife will be returning to us.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you need any assistance with your booking arrangements.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

Booked it for a very cheap price as we were attending the Annie mac festival.

When we arrived there was only 1 receptionist and we had to wait a while for our key. Our room was big and facing over the outdoor swimming pool, the bed was so uncomfortable I barely slept in it and the mattress was filthy which made my skin crawl. We only stays for 4 days and they didn't change the sheets. No hairdryer provided the hotel only had 1 to share out to all guests which I was told to knock on another guests door if I wanted it sooner.

The receptionist was miserable. I think that's down to being stressed to only her being there working with so many guests and having trouble with groups on young lads messing around. There was a mention that locals were staying at the hotel to celebrate Easter and they weren't happy ... the hotel should have told these locals they were taking in large amounts of British to celebrate the Annie mac festival, or just don't take in the festivalers.

The other lady who was there to arrange taxis and hire cars and excursions didn't have a clue. We asked her if particular places were far and she said yes very far , such as the limestone heritage ... it wasn't , turns out it was a 15 minute drive .

On our last night we went to bed early due to having an early flight back home the next morning . I got woken up at 0300AM by a group of people walking to their room loud, above ours. They started playing really loud music on their speakers and they were walking, stomping moving chairs all early hours in the morning up until 0700AM , I rang security 3 times and they didn't obviously do nothing . So I was awake until I left for my flight.

I wouldn't stay here again. Not even for it's cheap price .

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jesicca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Just came back this hotel is under renovation the room done are excellant only disappointment is the wifi is very patchy for mobiles Its very quiet location but bus service is excellant and its overlooking st pauls bay I would definitely book again

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank wallander99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortoAzzurro, Guest Relations Manager at Porto Azzurro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay with us at Porto Azzurro Aparthotel, Malta.

We are happy to know that you had a pleasant experience while staying at our hotel and it is great to hear that you are considering returning to us in the future.

We appreciate your constructive feedback about the WiFi and are thankful for your valuable and positive feedback on our rooms.

Thank you once again for your review, we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Alexis Meylaq
Sales & Guest Relations Manager
Porto Azzurro…Your 3 Star Choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews