We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,855)
Filter reviews
1,855 results
Traveller rating
389
652
514
189
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
652
514
189
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool comfort room the bus air con building work plenty of choice cafe bar bars and restaurants half board hotel is in a great location bed and breakfast walk in shower breakfast and dinner cold meats large balcony buffet style choice of food
Filter
Updating list...
836 - 841 of 1,855 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Stayed in March for 3 nights B&B. The hotel is well situated, near the bus station and about 5 minutes from the promenade and 15 minutes from the new aquarium. The swimming pool complex next to the aquarium is due to open in June to add to the close amenities. Lots of places to enjoy a night out within walking distance.
Although I've given a four star rating, this is in relation to other Maltese hotels. I'd give it a 3 star normally. We had room 539 - a super-size suite! It would have been ideal for a longer stay but unfortunately another guest, who was there for 5 weeks, had to endure a back room with no view. Cleaning staff didn't turn up on the first day until after a call to reception at 4pm. Despite 3 requests, no chairs were provided to sit at the terrace table. Breakfasts, although adequate, were uninspiring and the menu needs a serious update. The hotel was clean and the bars welcoming. Would return again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square are good; ours had a side balcony as well.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Client,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel and for your favourable comments concerning the location of the hotel, the rooms, the cleanliness and the bars.
I regret to note that you experienced difficulty with the cleaning of the room on the first day and the lack of chair in the terrace and apologize for the inconvenience.
In the meantime I hope that you will soon have the opportunity to return to Malta and will again choose to stay at Hotel Santana. I promise you our availability to assist you with any future reservation.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Executive
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

There was a special offer on, so we had what they called a suite. It was a nice room, with a separate sitting room, which included a kitchenette. There was plenty of space, beds were comfortable and decor was nice. It was very noisy at night though because there was lot of young students staying in the hotel. Banging doors, shouting, running etc at 3am!
We had varying degrees of service around the hotel. 2 nights we were in the La Canoa, where there was a live Irish band. The band were brilliant and the atmosphere was amazing. The staff the 1st night were not as good as the one on the 2nd night. There was a lot of people mentioning that their drinks were mild, so one of our friends asked the girl to pour his drink back in to the measure & when she did it was very short of the line. The staff the 2nd night were much more professional & friendly.
One afternoon after we'd been for a walk, we went into the cafe Castagna. It was extremely busy & only 1 staff member on duty. I know she was rushed off her feet & should have had help, but she did her job with such a bad attitude & a sour look on her face. One person was overheard saying they were afraid to ask her for a drink!
The breakfast staff were all friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located near plenty of bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear JenniMalta,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I regret to note that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while staying at our hotel.
However, for the benefit of those reading this review, may I remark that the Santana is usually a quiet hotel and that, as most reviews testify, our staff are pleasant, kind and helpful.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Executive
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We booked a promo room for our short break in March 2015. We were given room 218, which was well equipped and spacious, with a lovely bathroom which included a large walk in shower. The only minor draw back was that the balcony didn't get the sun at any time, but there were plenty of other places in the hotel to sit in the sun. The room was kept very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Happy hour was a pleasant surprise, and we tried not to miss it. We took our own travel kettle, which was a bonus, as the hotel would have charged us 3.5 euros a day for tea & coffee facilities in the room. We stayed on a B&B basis and there was a wide selection of breakfasts available from continental to full English, all self service, so you could even have both if you were very hungry. I would recommend this hotel for a holiday in or out of season, it is located in the centre of Qawra and within easy walking distance of the bus station and aquarium.

Room Tip: Take a travel kettle.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1stShezza54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Client,

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor, for your favourable comments and for recommending our hotel.
We will share your review and comments with our staff, as such reviews are always a source of inspiration to us in our endeavour to make our clients' stay with us a successful one.
I do hope that you will soon have the opportunity to return to Malta and that you will again choose to stay at Hotel Santana. On our part we promise our availability to assist you with any future booking.

In the meantime
Best regards
Carmen

Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Executive
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

A large range of food on offer, v.good location for getting around the island. Walk to the bus station down the road and get cheap bus tickets from the man in the stall. Bedrooms okay, shower always had hot water. Swimming pools are nice! Also head down to the harbour and get a boat trip to gozo and the blue lagoon, there are some cheap deals! wouldnt advise spending more time at the blue lagoon as it gets so busy during the day and there is no space on the little beach to put your stuff. better to do the trip around gozo after visiting the blue lagoon!

Room Tip: Head to the seafront for better day trip deals than the ones at the Hotel!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshleighLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Ashleigh LN,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor and for sharing your experience of Hotel Santana with other reviewers. We truly appreciate your comments and hope that you will soon find the opportunity to return to Malta and our hotel.

In the meantime we promise you our availability to assist you with any future booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Executive
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Very clean hotel, the staff are a credit to the hotel too, we stay on B & B package breakfast was very good, great value will stay here again.

Only negative comments the toilet in room was too close to the shower screen and there is also need to have a disable drop down rail too if this room is a disable access room, also the tv/fridge cupboard made it very hard to access the bedroom area with walking frame a wheel chair user would struggle too.

The Area around the hotel is very good too the bus station is only minutes away at the time of writing this review weekly ticket for the bus was €6.50

GREAT HOTEL

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank KiaraAllman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2015

Dear Kiara,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Santana and for sharing your experience of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your positive feedback and will share your review with our staff as such reviews are always a source of encouragement in our work.
We hope that you will soon have the opportunity to return to Malta and that you will again choose to stay at our hotel. We take this opportunity to promise you our availability to assist you with any future booking.

Best regards
Carmen
Carmen Zammit
Sales and Marketing Executive
Hotel Santana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews