We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Thank you Gillieru” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank you Gillieru”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Went back to Malta after a break of about 12 years. Stayed in St Paul's Bay in family run Hotel Gillieru. The staff were so helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make our trip as good as it could be. We went B&B and there was plenty of choice for breakfast and the tea and coffee just kept coming. There was always a hot choice as well as cereals, fruit juice, fresh fruit, meat, cheese and plenty of different breads and jams/marmalade etc. Excellent choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view - brilliant to wake up in bed and watch the sunlight on the water! You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lotty565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    220
    167
    78
    58
See reviews for
84
378
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The location is great, as are the views. Tihis hotel has to be one of the most desirable in the locality in terms of ambience/location. The restaurant and bar staff are extremely friendly and courteous, and the reception staff were always very helpful. You have to take the time to chat to the staff, as they will be really pleased to give you an insight into the local transport, what is going on in the resort and the towns nearby, and the real culture of Malta. True, the food is simple, but each day there would be one or two things which were really tasty and the meat/fish is well cooked high quality. A minor cosmetic refresh to the interior and some of the fixtures and fittings would ensure that it has a high four-star rating (maybe new tvs and shower heads should be the priority). Don't let you put this off though, I am sure that if you have a problem the staff will be prepared to help as much as they can. I was lucky with the quietness of my room and the amazing views, so overall it was a great place to get back to after a busy day travelling round the amazing island that is Malta.

Room Tip: Worth opting for the sea view, but in bad weather the road facing ones will be much more protected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the Gillieru for 9 nights in early April. As a frequent visitor to Malta over many years, I am aware of the differences in their interpretation of a 4 star hotel, so there were no real surprises with this hotel. In a nutshell, it is an excellent hotel. The reception staff are fantastic, particularly the female member of the team, who was welcoming, helpful and was always smiling. The breakfast staff were all excellent and very attentive. The public areas are a little dated but comfortable and not at all tatty, with free WiFi.

My room was very nice. I was travelling alone this time and had a lovely seaview room with a balcony – it was well worth a nominal upgrade fee. I had the sun on the balcony from 230pm and could watch the sun go down. The sound of the water lapping at the harbour wall outside was wonderful to fall asleep and wake up to. The bed was comfy and the bathroom adequate – clean and with toiletries provided. Shower was powerful although I did have to squat to get my head under. The television had a few channels including SkyNews and a great Arabic movie channel in English so there was always something to watch in the evenings. The fridge was a great bonus and I stocked it up with water/fizzys so I was always able to have a cold drink. Yes, I missed having tea making facilities, but it was warm so it wasn't a huge problem. You could always take a travel kettle if travelling in winter. The aircon/heating was operational, although I slept with the balcony door open as there was a lovely sea breeze.

Breakfast was good. There were always 2 hot food options, including eggs, each day. Lots of yummy Maltese Hobz (bread), rolls, cheeses, ham, cereal, juices, fresh fruit and toast/jams. Tea and coffee was topped up as long as you wanted it. I did not go half board but I did eat in the attached Gilleru fish restaurant one evening and it was good, but not great. I think it is probably better in a higher season. Good local restaurants were Da Rosi, and Damiano's, both very close by.

The hotel is in a lovely quiet harbour locale, but with a short 10 minute walk into the bustling town of Bugibba with its restaurants and shops. The view of the islands in St Paul’s Bay is really breathtaking. This view is also a feature when sat in the breakfast room and the lovely pool deck area. In my view it is in an ideal place.

The only thing that slightly tainted my experience of this hotel was the housekeeping. It was inconsistent. Some days my towels were replaced, some days they weren’t. My bedding was not always made (just the cover slung over), and the sheets and pillowcases were not changed in 9 nights – something I really felt was unacceptable for any hotel, let alone a 4 star. I would not have minded so much but after using aftersun they do get a little messy – and it was so obvious! I tried leaving a tip but no better. On the 7th night I moved into the other bed (it was a twin room) and took the spare clean pillowcases from the wardrobe. Other guests did not have the same issue so I think it must be the luck of the draw with the maid. This is the main reason for the 4 rather than 5 rating.

All in all, I would definitely go back to this hotel – it really was extremely friendly and very comfortable. I travelled with Chevron and would recommend their outstanding service.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Debs_A_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The last time I reviewed this hotel was in 2007. The I rated it an excellent base from which to explore Malta. Since then my ideas have not changed at all. The accommodation is certainly of a very high standard (not international 4 star, but what do you really expect?) - very clean and comfortable. Excellent food (paying the extra for half board is worthwhile, as evening meals are excellent and it saves the walk each day to find a different place to eat), and the staff are really wonderful - nothing is too much trouble for them. I can only reiterate that the big plus for us is the position of the hotel. It allows easy access to the rest of the island, by either bus or car, but is so placed that it is away from the noise and bustle of many of the more "popular" areas. With plenty of street parking, and easy access to the shops etc in St Paul's and Bugibba you should really want for nothing. In recent years the addition of free wifi in the reception area is a great boon if you need to keep on top of things at home.

Suffice it to say when we have been there the majority of guests, like us, have been there before - the fact that the majority are so happy to regularly return is surely the best recommendation any hotel can have.

Room Tip: Its worth paying the extra for a sea view room, the views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. Paul's Bay hotels
0.6 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.7 km away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
2.2 km away
Porto Azzurro
Porto Azzurro
#5 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
1.2 km away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,546 reviews
1.9 km away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillieru Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillieru Harbour Hotel

Property: Gillieru Harbour Hotel
Address: Church Square, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 01, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in St. Paul's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Gillieru Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Gillieru Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gillieru Harbour
Gillieru Harbour St Pauls Bay
Gillieru Harbour Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing