We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,171)
Filter reviews
3,171 results
Traveller rating
538
1,037
900
390
306
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
1,037
900
390
306
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus a sea view room coffee shop crisps plenty of choice older people sea front meal times bad reviews soups great holiday entertainment every night just returned from a week outdoor pool walk in shower each evening choice of food
Filter
Updating list...
2,665 - 2,670 of 3,171 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2010

we had read the reviews,and were supprised how good it was all the staff were helpfull.
the food was good breakfast and dinner very clean everywhere did not try the pool looked to cold near the shops and 5 mins walk to the buses beware the many people offering you the chance of a free holiday there is no such thing we booked all our trips near the bus station all the althougth the holiday rep was not pushy wolld go back

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnboyhertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I was very disappointed with this hotel.

Room was on the ground floor overlooking the small gardens and the rest of the blocks. When you looked out of the balcony it was like looking out at a prison block! Not much privacy!

The room was dark and and the wall above my daughter's bed was damp and the plaster and mildew was falling away onto her camp bed. We asked to be moved but were told that the hotel was fully booked.

Don't bother trying to get a lounger by the pool unless you want to start joining the queues that start at dawn by the doors to the pool. Honest! We went on a day trip to Sicilly which meant leaving the hotel at 6:30am and so we went for a very early breakfast and to pick up our packed lunch and at 6am there were families already sitting on the stairs waiting for the pool doors to open at 8am!!

Because the pool was so crowded we started going up the road and swimming in the sea, at least you had some space even though it was very rocky. It was nice to get away from the hotel which was very crowded.

The food is just about edible although very bland and you are allocated to a block where you must eat for the duration of your stay! Some residents were on all inclusive so you often had to queue for ages to get a drink as often the bars were woefully understaffed.

For the evening meal there was no drinks waiter service - you had to queue to buy your drinks at the bar and then take them in with you, it all became a bit of a log jam to the entrance to the dining room as the queue for drinks oftern blocked the entrance!

For a decent cup of tea we used to go to the cafe which was lovely and air conditioned and sold some fantastic cakes!

An average hotel - overpriced for what it is

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

This hotel was advertised as 4 Star and we selected it with All Inclusive board Basis. The overall standard was 2 Star. The room we were initially allocated was that terrible we had to pay for a sea view upgrade. The room had very basic furniture and in our case one of the wardrobe doors was completely broken and could not be opened. The outlook was onto a rear courtyard. There was no mention in the advertising literature that if you wanted to watch the small wall mounted TV you had to hire a remote control. There was also a charge for the use of the room safe of 23 Euros for 2 weeks (non returnable ) If you wanted tea making facilities in your room that was another charge per day of 3 Euros. You also had to pay for the use of the ironing room.

The food was quite awful especially breakfast. Do not expect a full English breakfast you get bacon and fried eggs one day and then small suasages and scrambled egg the next. The beans were watered down and tasted terrible. The evening meals lacked any kind of imagination and in the main were very bland with everything tasting the same. There was a sald counter but once it started to be used they were slow in refilling and sometimes had to be asked to do so. It was also concerning that there was no form of cooling for the salad counter.. During our stay there was an influx of locals for a weekend and it was obvious that over that period the food standard did rise but dropped back when they left. If you are all inclusive the choice of snacks etc is very limited and only supplied between 11 am and 11 pm. The bars you have to use are not attractive and sparsley furnished. There is a very good Cafe/Coffee bar off the foyer but that is not included for all inclusive use. The extra for all inclusive was not good value.

To be fair the staff were good and the charges for internet use were reasonable. The hotel is well situated for all the local services and bus station to other parts of Malta.

I do not feel we received what we expected in view of the cost of our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btcullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2010

After reading the reviews of this hotel,I was thinking have I done the right thing but when we arrived we very pleasantly pleased.
The hotel itself was excellent,The service was superb,Plenty of things to do.
The entertainment was quite good.ie sky sports etc
Rooms i could not fault and extremly good lifts.
The food was very good,Plenty off,Good selections
Good Bars with average prices and very good service
On the whole would go back as had a extremly good holiday.
Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susans65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We choose this hotel specifically for the evening dancing which we thoroughly enjoyed. However we investigated other hotels within walking distance for future reference.
We booked half board for 11 nights with Chevron holidays at a rate probably less than the cost of a decent dinner in the town. With that in mind we had no complaints.
On arriving after travelling for 2 weeks at quiet and beautiful hotels in Italy and enjoying lovely food the Qawra Palace came as a shock to the system :-
a) masses of people
b) the motability scooters parked by the lifts
c) bland food
d) the noisy double television lounge

We actually found the hotel and particularly the ballroom warm compared to previous reviewer.
We were fortunate to be on the 8th floor which meant that our inside room seemed light, we deliberatelty did not want to pay the extra for a sea view as we did not spend much time in th eroom. However being on the 8th floor meant we had to endure the chronically slow and tedious lifts !

If after reading the many reviews you, like us, decide to stay at the hotel, just remember how cheap it is.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith_Ulverston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews