We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
24
50
12
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
50
12
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red runs esprit ski childcare team chair lift great holiday good size ski area esprit staff high tea welcome meeting real bonus whole week end of the day fantastic location warm welcome evening meal rep
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2016

To add to Denise's review below, a great place for a fun an chilled out holiday with friends. We had a big group of 10 loads of bags and only 1 child, the staff were amazing couldn't have been more helpful, carrying bags up to the rooms was a great help. Really good food, facilities, nice quiet resort, piste easily accessible. The support for families is excellent but the hotel doesn't feel like a creche for those who don't have a family, just a nice place to hang out.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but don't have balconies like the others.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AmyJaneCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Our group of 10 including 1 baby, a few skiers, a few boarders and a sit ski were superbly looked after at this hotel. The staff were outstanding with any issues or queries and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel itself is in need of modernisation but it was clean and comfortable. The food was great with plenty of options and the wine kept flowing over dinner. Food on the mountain was a bit disappointing but fairly cheap compared to other resorts. The hot chocolate is amazing and so thick you can stand a spoon in it though so just have one of those instead of lunch!

You can access the lift easily from the hotel to be on the mountain quickly. The resort has plenty of on and off piste for most levels of skiers although not much for beginners. Great views from the top too.

The childcare team cover everything I could ever think of! I didn't have a child with me but the baby in our group was very well looked after.

My only disappointment was the jacuzzi was out of order for the whole week during our stay.

I wouldn't hesitate to book here again or use Esprit. They made our holiday wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

This was our second time with Esprit after a week in Belle Plagne last year. The Esprit part of the experience really couldn't be faulted. The childcare, which let's face it is the reason we do this, was (again) fantastic. Our 5 yo daughter was in the Sprite Beginners and the team that supervised her was delightful. The whole childcare team, under the super efficient Sarah, was enthusiastic and diligent. Similarly, the hotel staff were great and nothing was too much trouble for Mandy the hotel manager. Adult food was very good, not 'Italian' at all (Esprit work to a standard menu of restaurant-style crowd pleasers) and the wine perfectly drinkable and free flowing, but kids high tea was a bit blah, too reliant on mash and peas.

Now for the things that are not Esprit-related but would have been nice to know when planning:
- The resort is in the central of three valleys with a number of small villages interconnected by ski lifts. The resort is very picturesque and the runs were just how I like them (wide, quiet, not too steep and well groomed). The valley the hotel is in is very affected by wind, which means that there can be unexpected lift closures that trap you in the home valley. The hotel is ski-in/ski-out (to a point, see below)
- The whole resort isn't very well integrated. There is a lot of walking with your skis from the bottom of the run to lifts. Lifts tend to be slow and uncomfortable.
- Most importantly for anyone that is or is skiing with kids or people that are below Intermediate standard, whilst there is a pretty easy red run that will take you back to the hotel, there is nowhere to go with beginner skiers that doesn't require a bus ride and other sorts of faff to get to. My husband and I were keen to take out daughter out some afternoons after her lessons and lunch, but it was always painful. It meant that we sometimes took her straight from the end of her ski lesson (because she was already at the beginner area - either at Staffal carpet or the triple chair up from Gabiet gondola) so she ended up missing the lunch and snow club we'd paid for and our ski time was curtailed. It also meant we had her for the whole afternoon rather than just being able to pop out with her for a couple of runs and able to pop back in when she got tired and then continuing to ski on our own. It was very frustrating and would stop us returning to this otherwise lovely resort and Esprit property until we could get our daughter down the red home run.

(As a side note, we found the best place for beginners was Gressoney St-John rather than bothering going up to Staffal. GSJ had a nice long drag lift as well as a rope tow and an enormous chair with a fabulous 3.5 km blue that circled around the mountain and which our 5 yo proudly snow plowed down by Thursday.)

Finally, the hotel is an old school ski hotel that could be made much better by one or two cheap fixes (new shower heads/soft close doors to floors/ upgrading the wifi). But it was warm, comfortable enough and a lovely size so you got to know most families by sight by the end of your stay (not that you could pick them with their ski gear on!) A nice bunch of people with numerous families on their second or third return trip, which speaks volumes. The hotel is in a very quiet village - one shop and no pharmacy and limited options for the Wednesday eat-out night (although we had a very good steak meal at Walserschild). The ski hire super convenient, almost across the street.

So there you go. So much of our holiday was excellent and above what we expected, but the resort layout means we'll have to leave it a year or two before we come again.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a shower and bath - the shower only option makes bathing kids difficult. 3rd floor is the quietest one.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank JohannaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Our first ski holiday with children and what a find! A warm and genuine welcome await and the service is beyond amazing, we felt cared for in every way and nothing is too much trouble for Mandy and her team. We have had great food, snacks and a fabulously reasonable priced bar - make sure you try an Izzy cocktail. Rooms are warm, cosy clean and traditional, beds are super comfy after a hard days skiing, what more could you want or need. The communal areas are relaxed and feel like home, our guys loved their very own snug area with games and toys. The childcare and the team under Sarah are SO good, our two did not make a backward glance, variety, love and fun are the order of the day which enabled us to take time over breakfast, have a snooze and enjoy skiing straight to the door perfect location next to the punta jolanda chair. We have had an outstanding holiday, far beyond what we paid and expected, Awesome! We'll be back next year xxx

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor are super quaint
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Januarary 2015
Oh the tales of my single days. I could bore you but this is all about family. Prior to the arrival of the kids I was an enthusiastic skier. My wife does not share the passion. After years of threatening a ski holiday I finally booked one for myself and the kids (aged 9 and 7) . My wife stayed at home with an 1 year old. Gressoney, never heard of it but copious research convinced me to travel with Esprit.
Transfers: simple quick efficient.
Hotel: this is about family. All guests are in the same boat. The staff know and understand why you have booked this hotel. Great sense of camaraderie and fun amount guests ( many repeat visitors) plenty of new friends for the kids
Room : we had the single parent special. 3 singles in a clean functional room. Basic but warm and comfortable.
Food: excellent. I was simple stunned at what they turned out. I've never eaten so well on a ski holiday.
Resort: fantastic and functional . Enough to keep an intermediate who hadn't skied in a few years more than interested. Ski to the door of hotel. Lift 40 meters from front door.
TOP TIP. SKI LESSONS . I did ' learn to ski' lessons with kids on a dry slope at home. Only 4/5 hours. This elevated them out of the beginners and into improvers. From day 1 of the holiday they were on the slopes. The beginners tend to be in the 4 to 5 yr bracket . Improvers tend to be a little older . Spend a few Sunday mornings at the dry slopes at home ....you won't regret it. The kids can ski all day ....if beginners they would be in the ' snow club ' in the afternoon ( or with parents) which might not sit well with some older ones.
Summary. We had a fantastic time. Staff were all competent and enthusiastic. Apart from sporadic wifi I have no complaints.As a temporary single parent I'd harboured doubts but this holiday surpassed my expectations. You get what you pay for and this turned out to be fantastic value. Highly recommended ...

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews