We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$289
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Vecchia Sassa(Montaione)
US$204
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Valle(Montaione)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo Collelungo(Montaione)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo San Benedetto(Montaione)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boccioleto Resort & Spa(Montaione)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Bed and Breakfast Casa Della Madonna(Montaione)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo degli Orti(Montaione)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Agriturismo Poggio Pistolese(Montaione)(Great Value!)
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
US$415
US$406
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
56
13
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
13
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan gimignanopisa airportrestaurants and shopsplaces to visitstayed for nightsapartment was cleanstunning viewsperfect placestefaniarsmdishwasherroseshoststuscanyaccommodationtripskm
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This place is perfect if you looking just to relax , do nothing and enjoy a simple life after busy touristy areas of Rome and Florence. Firstly you definitely need a car as besides a small Italian restaurant(which is very good) there is nothing near by within walking distance.This is a family run place.Laura who checked us in is very sweet and helpful in guiding you as to what to do in and around the place.The rooms are truly a Tuscany village style with no air conditioner or fan.This place brings you back in time for the old school feeling so if u want anything modern here it wont be.We chose the room Michelangelo which was 2 floors and 3 balcony.The room was clean and spacious.The kitchen has everything you need for cooking.The closest supermarket is 10 minutes by drive which has everything you need.There are lots of nice places around the area and one can easily spend a week of relaxation .The pool area very nice as well.However the the wifi is very very bad and you will have very less mobile phone range which makes it very annoying

Room Tip: take a room above the reception inorder to get wifi
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nehasahaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Residence Santa Maria is a family-run 2-building farmhouse place right in the middle of Tuscany, ca. 5km to the north of Montaione. It is easy to get to all the great places (Volterra, S Gimignano, Siena, Firenze, ...) as they are all within ca. 1 hour driving or closer. Our apartment was clean and equipped with functional furniture as well as a kitchen incl. dishwasher. We would have liked to have fly screens at the windows to get cool night air in (or to have an a/c). As written in other reviews, there is basically no mobile signal available and wi-fi availability is limited to a close radius around reception, which however included most of our apartment. Wi-fi is free though. The pool is comparably large (14m x 7m) and in very good shape. Laura, Stefania and Papa were very helpful with their tips about what to do in the area or where to eat.

Room Tip: We had the Leonarda da Vinci apartment, the 3 bedrooms were plenty for the 4 of us and could have accommodated at least 5. However it would be rather crowded on the little balcony/terrace with 5 people. Lots of sun on the balcony in the morning/midday, shade in the evening.
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank K_K_MG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

If you are looking for a 4/5 star hotel with all the mod cons then this not for you,if you want to chill out and relax and spend some quality time to-gether then this is the place. Yes the Wi-Fi maybe limited and your mobile signal maybe weak, but you are on holiday, due you really need them, I found it wonderful to have conversation's with other guest's, to actually read a book, to plan on what to do the next day. Set in a lovely valley, the apartments are well looked after, the pool and gardens are well kept, also lovely trees to shade under when it gots to hot.
Well located for trips to (take the train from Castelfiorentino) Florence,Sienna,Pisa and all the other wonderful Tuscan area's.
Montaione, is a great little town. and I agree with chanterj, a stunning view from the co-op car park and also there little meeting area in town.
Laura & Stefania & there Papa make you most welcome, with there smiles and helpfulness it was like being at home.
Good points: Everything about Santa Maria and Tuscany, sitting out on the balcony or eating out in Florence with a glass wine watching the sunset.
Bad points: We had to leave.
Ciao

Room Tip: I do not think it matters, if they are all like our one you will be satisfied.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pineridge_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

It was a really great experience for our family. We heard a lot about agriturismo in Italy. We looked for a farm house in Tuscany. Our friends recommended Residence Santa Maria. I’d like to tell you that we enjoyed our stay very much. The house is nice, it is placed at mostly equal distance to such famous cities like Pisa, Lucca, Florence, Siena and to the wineries in Chianti area. The owners of the farm house are two nice sisters (Laura and Stefania) and their Papa. Laura’s suggestions about things to do and places to visit were very helpful. We will be definitely back to Tuscany and the place we stay will be the Residence Santa Maria.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iulia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This was meant to be a little highlight between stops. Coming from a 4 star stay further south we expected a lot more for almost twice the price. The Michael angelo suite turned out to be a very dated 2 bed apartment with a print of the maestro's on the wall. This is not the farmhouse accommodation that was advertised but more like a 10 year old new build beside the road. The family that run it are lovely and it has a pool, but it was very overpriced. The apartment was very dusty and the showers dated with mildew. Lovely balconies were the only saving grace. Wifi is only accessible sitting outside reception and mobile phone cover is dreadful. Some nice eating out nearby. We had one of our best and cheapest meals at a trattoria in a nearby village. Ask for the one with the whistling owner. A little bit of work on the basics, cleaning and maintenance and a drop in price and it could be a good stopover spot.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews