We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
110
66
15
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
66
15
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course building work evening food reception staff star hotel sam gimignano excellent stay superior room pisa airport old building yogurt tuscan countryside pools village roads florence estate
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Our stay at Hotel La Tabbaccaia started with a thankful welcome from reception staff after a tiring journey, due to us missing our flight.
Our room faced the rear car park but it was quiet with surrounding views of the wine region. The room looked luxurious, with a complimentary bottle of wine.
It was unfortunate that the wine could not be drank due to the discovery that we were having a baby. However we enjoyed the breakfast most days.
We were told that we could use the swimming and spa facilities at the Hotel Castelfalfi across the road for a fee of 15 euro.
I indulged by having a facial spa treatment and a body massage where I met the most friendly and informative beauty therapist, Coleen.
Coleen advised on buying the hotel's beauty products and how to apply them. We chatted and I shared my news of being pregnant. She was most gracious, giving me advice on what not to use, i.e. the sauna and steam rooms, and congratulating me on the news. On our last day I returned to the hotel with my partner for a swim, gym and a last treatment. It made a real difference to the holiday which was in a beautiful but remote area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa_Castelfalfi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel La Tabaccaia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Karen W,

thank you for choosing La Tabaccaia for your Tuscan stay, and congratulations for such an happy news!
Thank you for your kind words and your great review.
Hope that you will come back again with your lovely baby, to enjoy the beauty of Castelfalfi and the peacefulness of our La Spa!

Best regards from Castelfalfi,

Elisa Biagini
Marketing & Communication Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

If you accept that this hotel is effectively just a dormitory to the main 5 star hotel, you can get along just fine. If you don't pick this up from other reviewers, then just read the responses to customers - we look forward to welcoming you next time at the 5 star hotel! Tabaccaia is pleasantly renovated from an old building, and bedrooms and bathrooms are well fitted and comfortable, with effective, quiet air conditioning. Corners have been cut on areas like the corridors and lifts, with cheaper finishes. There are lounge areas, but I had bet my husband nobody would sit in them for the whole week we were there, and I wasn't wrong! Someone needs to think how they could be made more appealing. For the sake of avoiding confusion, be aware that there are no porterage facilities, no operating bar, and no other refreshment facilities in the building except for breakfast times. There are no outdoor seating areas, which is a shame. Breakfast buffet is good and staffed by two extremely friendly and competent ladies. Reception staff are friendly and Fabiana did indeed make good recommendations for trips and local restaurants and then competently booked things for us. Very little more is needed beyond some imagination to turn this into a much more attractive alternative venue within the resort, e.g. some evening music events with the existing bar opened. Resort facilities are good in terms of the main hotel, the excellent pools, a quaint, albeit unexciting, village and some decent eating venues at a range of prices. We had a hire car and spent a pleasant week exploring towns like Volterra and Sam Gimignano, only half an hour's drive away along beautiful ridge roads with spectacular views, as well as more local and off the tourist track towns like Montaione and Certaldo,which have their own charms and some decent restaurants in the evening.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 452jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa_Castelfalfi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel La Tabaccaia, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear 452jan,

it is a pleasure to read such a detailed and nice review of our charming 4-star hotel La Tabaccaia and the facilities of Toscana Resort Castelfalfi.
Indeed, our boutique hotel is a small precious jem in the heart of Castelfalfi, and we love to suggest it to who would like to spend a cozy, informal and intimate stay in Tuscany. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here and you liked the atmosphere and the kindness of our smiling staff.
We will take notes of your advice and suggestion, as this kind of feedback is important in order to grow and improve the quality of our service and the experience of our guests.

Also - as you mentioned! - we would like to invite you to try next time also our 5-star hotel Il Castelfalfi, because this is a brandnew structure with different style than La Tabaccaia, and we would like to offer our Guests a 360° experience.

Thank you again for your time and for choosing La Tabaccaia.
See you soon in Castelfalfi!

Elisa Biagini
Marketing & Communication Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel sits on a new complex behind a more grand hotel. Its a very attractive building and our room was lovely. But the reception staff are keen to remind you that your staying in a slightly less expensive hotel than the “5 Star” one opposite. To reach the pool or any facilities you have to walk up and across roads. They have not integrated anything. Most top end resorts we have stayed in make walking around a pleasure. The pool area is nice but lacks much natural shade.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank PhilT668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa_Castelfalfi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel La Tabaccaia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Phil T,

thank you for choosing La Tabaccaia for your stay in Castelfalfi.

The 4-star hotel has been completely renovated from an old tobacco factory, therefore the warm interiors charmingly reflect the beauty of the surrounding landscape and colours. This is also the reason why the original architectural structure has been carefully maintained, to preserve original integrity. But we are also working to move the current main road behind the hotel, so hopefully next time you will come visit us we will welcome you with a pleasant pedestrian area!

Hope to see you again soon in Castelfalfi, maybe this time in our 5-star hotel!

Best regards from Tuscany,
Elisa

Elisa Biagini
Marketing & Communication Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Having visited Tuscany on business several years ago, I had always wanted to return with my girlfriend. We finally took the plunge and booked to stay for a week in May.

The scenery from Pisa airport just gets more and more breath taking as you get closer to the Hotel. When you arrive, WOW, I thought I was dreaming! The hotel and grounds are extraordinarily well kept. Stepping in to be greeted by the welcoming scent (custom for the hotel - bought some!) and even more welcoming staff.

Fabbiana (?) was professional, warm and friendly. She helped out with everything from transfer information to tips for the local trekking routes.

The room was clean, bright and stylish. We had a second floor room which had great views.

Breakfast had a good selection, breads, fruits, yoghurts, a selection of different types of honey, scrambled eggs, bacon. A good range and much of which I believe is locally produced.

The pool areas were closed when we were there, but I believe we just missed them. The weather was changeable and we probably wouldn't have used them even if they were open!

I can't speak highly enough of the place and the people we talked to when we were there.

Slightly disappointed with TUI. We booked a package, and I expected some form of communication from them during our stay. A visit from a rep, a phone call or something.
This is not the hotel's fault, and maybe in high season they do provide a rep service.

The hotel provided everything we needed. I can't wait to go back. The only thing I'd change is to hire a car to get out and see more of this amazing part of the world.

Room Tip: Second floor has the best views
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_Mister_Tibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa_Castelfalfi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel La Tabaccaia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Dear The_Mister_Tibbs,

thank you for choosing La Tabaccaia for your stay in Tuscany and for the amazing review!

It is so nice to read such a beautiful feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay in Castelfalfi and you felt all the passion and the enthusiasm we put in our daily commitment to our Guests! This is our main goal, thank you.

Hope to welcome you very soon again in Castelfalfi!

Best regards from Tuscany,

Elisa Biagini
Marketing & Communication Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Located in a great position to explore Tuscany. An hour or so from most of the main tourist locations. Great for Pisa airport.

Would strongly advise hiring a car if staying here.

Ended up spending more time in the sister 5* hotel opposite as they had a bar, restaurant, spa etc.

Staff were fantastic especially reception and breakfast room.

Be aware there was some building work during our stay - they are remodeling the main road to divert traffic away from the hotel.

Located near a village although only the deli was open during our stay - quite a sleepy village.

Room Tip: view overlooking the hills, we were in 206
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa_Castelfalfi, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel La Tabaccaia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Dear Andrew,

thank you for choosing La Tabaccaia for your stay in Tuscany and for the time you dedicated us in writing this review.
We are glad you enjoyed the great atmosphere and the high-quality service of our smiling staff!

Hope to see you next time at the 5-star hotel Il Castelfalfi!

Best regards,

Elisa Biagini
Marketing & Communication Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews