We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
363
207
52
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
207
52
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful location private beach superior room pelosa beach la pelosa sea view sardinia organising car terrace beaches
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 656 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We visited this part of Sardinia for a couple of nights as part of two week trip with the specific purpose of exploring the area and in particular La Pelosa beach. For travellers planning a longer stay and planning to use the hotel/club facilities I would suggest reading alternative reviews.

The location of the hotel sort of works. It is possible to walk to La Pelosa though the walk back on a hot day might be hard going. The hotel shuttle works well if you pre-book the day before, esp during busy periods. This 'appeared' full on our second day and rather than wait around we took the car and was able to park within 5 mins of the beach, which didn't look possible the previous day. The hotel is not really close enough to walk to Stintino (think Whitby) on an evening if you wish to explore and dine out, though arguably possible. Looking back, and with a short stay in mind, I would have chosen to stay either closer to La Pelosa or Stintino.

Our room was small, similar to a French ski apartment, but was spotlessly clean. The bathroom looked brand new, the air con was quiet and we had a roof top space with views over the gardens and bay. The hotel gardens are nice affording great views across the bay towards La Pelosa but what the garden lacked was a pool (obvious and may be reasons why it can't have one) and some sun loungers.

Instead, you have the choice (?) of making use of the adjoining 'sailing' club'. This has a sort of beach, copious sun loungers, a pool, a cafe/restaurant and a small port for easy access to sailing excursions. Personally, it wasn't somewhere I would want to spend a day sitting and you are forced as part of the booking to pay to access the facilities at a discounted rate. I had simply factored the cost in to the room rate but it would make more sense for the hotel to do that and then allow visitors to simply use the facilities 'free'. Un-neccessarily complicated. That said, the 'club' was nice for a stroll, a light lunch (restaurant fully booked on an evening) and an aperitif. An hour there was enough but then I guess we aren't their target market.

Breakfast was ok and provided in a nice outdoor seating area. The staff appeared ran off their feet. We didn't eat here on an evening so can't comment. Staff on reception were helpful and lent us a beach mat and umbrella for La Pelosa. Adequate parking onsite and/or adjacent to the property.

In summary this hotel didn't quite work for us though that is not necessarily the hotel's fault. In busy periods a degree of forward planning is required (all our preferred boat trips were full) and taking in to account the location and some of the fussiness, it didn't quite work for a short stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank JnJ_ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Very high price for quality and service. Pictures doesnt match reality. For our family room they just took a standard double room and add a single bed. No space to fit 2 suitcases on the floor. The very tiny little terrasse was not really enjoyable cause half space is taken by the air con compressor (of course, when booking , you will see different pictures). Don t expect to sleep before 23h, cause they install a stage with loud music, just in front of the bedrooms building... the same show (for kids) every single night.of course no sound/phonic isolation in bedrooms... even with my ear plugs i had trouble to sleep. Unfortunatley i had no ear plugs for my 2 years old baby....doesn t exist. Hotel staff was not willing to help. I had to insist 3 times to finally get a new rooms....slightly better(after the first horrible night). Well, if you want to rest and have good food, go away. Furthermore you will have to pay (mandatory) a 25 euros hotel card. Just to get access to their terrible beach (stick to a port) and pay 15 euros more to access the beach and swimming pool).what is the point to pay 40 euros whereas you can go to free pelosa beach 2 km away, one of the greatest on earth. Breakfast start at 7h45....if you have early wake up kids, you will have to wait. They have a shuttle to go on pelosa beach. First leave at 9h which stupid cause the beach is already full at 8h30.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank PUECH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We spent one week in Hotel Ancora in Stintino with perfect location just few minutes from beautifull beach La Pelosa. Hotel is organizing shuttle bus which is going to the beach and back very often. Hotel itself is very well organized, located in splendid garden with beautifull sea view, garden is very quiet. Rooms were smaller, but very clean a cozy, with daily cleaning, there was a terrace with very nice view. Food was very good, dinners were served on very romantic terrace with candles and music. Personal was very friendly and kind, even if just some of them can speak english. I recommend this hotel and I will try to come back very soon :)

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kacenka262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Situation in sleepy, unspoilt NW Sardinia, The Club Ancora hotel is a lovely little retreat, 20 minutes walk from the amazing Pelosa Beach and 45 minutes drive from Alghero.

Cons: Starting with the negatives first, the rooms are a little on the small side and watch out for extra costs such as laundry services which could be very expensive.

Pros: The breakfast and evening BBQ is fantastic! The staff can't do enough to help and my 11 months old daughter had an omelette freshly cooked every morning, I have never eaten so well on holiday and the desserts are to die for! Although our room was relatively small, it had great AC and was cleaned every day (all towels changed, floor mopped and bedding too if requested). The staff are very friendly and this really is a lazy, sleepy part of Sardinia.

In general, I was worried about being bored here as my ideal holiday would involve Winter sports and not on the beach. However, I really did wind down. I loved how very few people spoke English and how quiet the whole area was. We drove to some amazing beaches (Porte Torres for example) and it was just so quiet, tranquil and empty. We also did the Water Paradise park in Sorso which was also very chilled.

Food is very reasonable and we all came back totally refreshed.

Room tip: Try and avoid too many stairs if you have pushchairs etc.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tailblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Really nice hotel, rooms are quite nice with epic view. Cleaning service every single day, big thumbs up. Hotel crew were really nice. Breakfast nothing special, every day the same and just few options what to eat, on the other side dinners were exclusive, lot of meals cold and of course like 6 types of hot meal. Private beach 300m from the hotel is just a joke to beach La Pelosa which is like 10 minutes from hotel by walk, where i highly recommend to go, its worth it.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank betweencastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews