We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
292
48
23
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
48
23
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews forte village special thanks tennis camp tennis lessons beach or pool children's restaurant children's menus amazing spa perfect holiday scuba diving heated pool family holiday gordon ramsay restaurant great for kids the hotel manager comfortable beds last summer
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We booked the Forte village as a party of six, a couple and family of four including two children. We were advised that we would be accommodated separately as we understood the hotel was adults only. Not sure if it was our misunderstanding or wrong advice but there are definitely families staying in the hotel. Our family's accommodations was a Bourganville villa and it was of a high standard. We booked a mountain view room in the hotel. Our room was really disappointing as it was right at the end of a long corridor and next to a utility door which room service and housekeeping used and slammed from early morning! Our 'mountain view' was predominantly the delivery yard for Forte. Our verandah was so small and the slIding door would only open about 12-18 inches so if we wanted to go on the verandah it was quite a squeeze. We put up with this for a day or so as our family were happy in their accommodation. However on the second/third day we returned from a day on the beach to find the bolt on our door had been put across and our room had been left open all day. We still do not know if this was an error or deliberate with a view to robbing from our room or putting something in our cases. We reported this to reception and was told it was 'OK' they would let someone know!! I had to point out that actually it was not Ok at all and in our later meeting we discovered that it had not been reported at all.
As a party of six we wanted to at together in the evening. On one evening we booked the Italian restaurant. The food was very average and the people on the table net to us sent their food back. However although we knew this was a restaurant with a supplement we were shocked to find over 400euros on the bill just for our family to eat with us!!
At this point my husband lost it! We contacted our travel agent Tina at Classic Travel who arranged a meeting with the manager the following morning. I will give all due credit to the manager who accepted our complaints. We were moved the following day to a really nice room and the 400+ euros were taken off our bill.
You really need to know the rules of the village. For example the buffet at the hotel is fine however you have to pay for any wine/water you want with your meal. In our families restaurant the buffet is identical but you get a free bottle of wine and water. It does not really make any sense!!

Positive- if you are into sport and activities- this is the place for you, as long as you can afford to participate. The Mahiki bar is great in the evening before dinner but incredibly expensive for cocktails whether alcoholic or non alcoholic. on average these are between 16-20 euros per drink.

Negatives, unfortunately for us there were many. As well as our experiences above, everything is incredibly expensive. We are not mean and definitely do not 'penny pinch' on holiday but it felt like being mugged at every turn. Every cup of coffee, ice cream, etc was so expensive it almost spoilt the holiday.

I would suggest that Alex Polizzi as part of the Forte family undertake a visit in her role as the Hotel Inspector and try the experience of a family on holiday!!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Cathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFVR, Manager at Forte Village Resort - Le Dune, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Mrs. Adams,
Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your stay .
We continually strive to improve the hospitality we offer and we make good use of the suggestions from our guests, which are always welcome.
I took on board all the points you have raised and I have already reviewed your comments internally with our management team.
I would like to assure you that it has been a great pleasure for me and Marcello meeting your family while you were still in house and offering you a free upgrade to a Prestige Plus Room in the Hotel Castello.
Regarding the pricing matter, I would like to share with you that we constantly study our competitive set and we are completely in line with our competitors.
I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back at Forte Village.
With my best regards,
Matteo Piredda, Rooms Division Manager
matteo.piredda@fortevillage.com
+39 0709218216

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Simply stunning resort, perfect for families with everything from 5 star hotels, celebrity chefs (yes Gordon Ramsay rocked up) to Chelsea footballers running the football sessions. Not the cheapest for drinks, snacks but you have to pay to play in life and Forte Village is definitely a place to play.

Room Tip: Look to stay in the bungalows for families. Thanks Irene at Design Holidays for the valuable resort knowledge pre / post booking.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaraCran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFVR, Manager at Forte Village Resort - Le Dune, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear CaraCran,
We are delighted that you enjoyed such a good experience during your stay at our resort. We try to make Forte Village special so we really appreciate your comments.
We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor and we really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to Forte Village.
Best Regards,
Debora Concas, Hotel Dune Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Quite expensive but luxurious place to spend short summer vacation with family. Lots of attractions for children in preschool and school age. Very good food. Nice pool with salty water in the upper part, not so nice with sweet water ( a little smelly with chlorine). Reception desk very kind but not helpful. Do not give enough informations about activities you can take part in such as aerobic or calanetics. We have to ask several times where they were located so I missed a few . Also do not believe them if you are informed there are no free places for the particular restaurant you want to go to for a dinner. Just go straight to the restaurant. They also tried to cheat us with the room - placing us in a very, very small bungalow for the first night calling it “upgrading”. After our strong protest we got an appropriate bungalow for the rest of our stay. If you do not like noisy evenings ask to be placed in a bungalow far from the arena. Entertainment program in the arena by the way was not of the “top quality”. Wi-Fi very weak.. We had to buy extra connection.

Room Tip: Far from Arena. Insist on changing the bungalow if you are not satisfied.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank saba49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFVR, Manager at Forte Village Resort - Le Dune, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear saba49,
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that you mostly appreciated the beauty of our resort and his fantastic location, the courtesy of our team and the variety of activities for children.
We are naturally very sorry to learn that the luck of informations and other details detracted from your stay since it is our goal to make sure each guest gets our level of service and feels appreciated and cared.
We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor and we really hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to Forte Village.
Debora Concas, Hotel Dune Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Great accommodation, wonderful hotel management, friendly housekeeping staff. The Trattoria Italiana deserves its Michelin stars, the food in the Cavelliri, Bellavista and Pinetta is great for families and encourages children to try new foods without pressure and makes being a parent so much easier, Hells Kitchen is great too. Any service issues are soon dealt with swiftly when brought to the attention of the management. Oasis bar and pool staff are friendly and attentive and deserve recognition for their efforts. The breakfast in Le Dune restaurant is tranquil and the view breathtaking, exactly what is needed at the start of the day, staff are on hand should you need them and always make polite friendly conversation, nothing is too much trouble and again the staff deserve high praise. Concierge staff in all locations around the resort are helpful and provide everything from assistance with bookings to history of the island and a little help with learning Italian. Go bowling or go-carting, and try to be there when one of the shows is on at the Forte Arena (sadly twice we haven't time it right to go watch one). Leave space in the suitcase to enjoy the shopping Piazza.

Will return again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank theeternal0ptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFVR, Manager at Forte Village Resort - Le Dune, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear theeternal0ptimist,
We are delighted that you enjoyed such a good experience during your stay at our resort. At Forte Village we try to balance the natural beauty and tranquillity of the location with an extensive range of facilities and the friendly service of our staff, so we are glad that you appreciated it.
We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor and we really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to Forte Village.
Best regards,
Debora Concas, Hotel Dune Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Excellent ! Best Hotel in Europe. The choice of great restaurants and pools is great.
For kids the perfect holiday. So many possibilities to stay in the hotel park. You don't have to leave the hotel for anything.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank schatz1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFVR, Manager at Forte Village Resort - Le Dune, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear schatz1133,
We are delighted that you enjoyed such a good experience during your stay at our resort. We try to make Forte Village special so we really appreciate your comments.
We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on Trip Advisor and we really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to Forte Village.
Best regards,
Debora Concas, Hotel Dune Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews