We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
153
99
30
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
99
30
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful view maria chiara peaceful surroundings beautiful hotel great pool area great balcony large walk in shower breakfast items hams would stay here again hot water costa smeralda hire car nice room small hotel nice garden booked a superior room
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights, and whilst we did enjoy the stay, I'm not sure we would come back again, but perhaps more our fault for misinterpreting the other reviews about the location of this hotel, and not doing our research! Whilst not expecting the hotel to be in Porto Rotundo, we were expecting to be able to walk there, misled a little by previous reviews advising restaurants within a 20min walk... Not really, the hotel is pretty much on it's own, up a hill with a few cafe, plastic chair type roadside places around. Lots and lots of parking, and we managed to get parked in the carport style spaces which shaded the car nicely.
However, it's not the hotels fault we didn't research and I must say, it is a very pretty hotel, obviously had a lot of money spent on it and been well thought out. We arrived a good 2hr before check-in, but the lady on reception confirmed our room was ready and checked us in, which was much appreciated. All staff members were very pleasant. We had a Junior Suite with balcony (Room 7) which did feel a little cramped but that was down to the daybed that was in there. The balcony was private and did have lovely views. The bed was nice and big and very comfortable. The room itself was very clean,very nicely presented, good aircon and a rather unique bathroom. Whilst again beautifully presented, the bathroom was very musty smelling, probably down to no ventilation, no windows that could be opened or any fans. In the end we put towels over the bidet and shower drain which helped clear the mustiness a little.
We went out for the day, came back around 4pm and the room had not been cleaned which was very disappointing. Fortunately the hotel has a lovely pool area, so we took ourselves off to the pool to read for an hour or so, and when we returned the room had been cleaned, however none of the complimentary toiletries had been replaced, which again is a bit poor. Throughout the day, piles of dirty bedding, towels etc were just left laying around in the corridors along with rubbish bags of plastic bottles etc which made everywhere look a little untidy. We were aware that the hotel was closing for the season the week we were there, so perhaps this is why the standards had slipped a little?
Breakfast was a little disappointing, just filter coffee no option for cappuccino etc, and whilst 3 variety of ham/salami offered and 2 variety of cheese, they did seem to run out very quickly and not re-filled straight away. The toaster was pretty useless - you'd be better off holding the bread up to the sun!
The restaurant, for us, was the saving grace for the hotel. We were a bit worried on the first night that being as isolated as it was, it may just serve mediocre food as they had a captive audience. I am so pleased that this was not the case. The food was wonderful. We ate there both nights, and each night the bill came to over €130 (from memory) but we each had a starter, main and dessert, along with a bottle of their very fine house red. The food was delicious, beautifully presented and freshly prepared.
I don't think we'll have cause to come to this part of Sardinia again, but if we do, I would stay here again but no more than 1 night as the location just didn't suit us.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Lovely hotel, relaxing pool area, very good breakfast and beautiful hotelroom. Very friendly and helpful. Stunning views and very peaceful. Lot of things to do in the neighboorhood. We had a wonderful stay and we will recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar_mascha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Arrived in late September 2017 for a four night stay. Hired car from Olbia Airport, hotel only 20 mins away, can be a little difficult to spot entrance as close to bend in road. Long steep drive up to hotel where there is ample parking.

Staff at check in very friendly with good English and accompanied us to our room.

Room size very good, Sardinian styling, beams and tiled floors. Ample storage, clean, great balcony with pool and sea views. Mini bar fridge provided with usual beverages. Safe provided but no instructions on how to use, had to ask for help.

No tea making facilities which is a bit of an disappointment for us English tea lovers! No literature in room on what to see and do whilst staying.

Bathroom a good size with twin sinks, large walk in shower, toilet, bidet, hair dryer and good towelling. Hot water clearly an issue, better at night than the morning, told by reception that they run an eco system which obviously needs lots of sun! We only really had one decent hot shower in 4 days.

Maid service every day, with clean sheets and towels. However, the maids tend to come very early, around 9.00am.

Breakfast is served from 8am to 10am, self service, continental style with lots of choice. Can be eaten inside or on the terrace. Hams, cheese, cakes, fruit, cereals, biscuits, yoghurts and much more, all fresh and delicious. Minor point, no milk on table or near tea making facilities, had to use milk set out for cereals. Staff in attendance always very friendly.

Pool and garden areas are lovely, very quite area for catching those rays!! Not much for small children to do, more adult type hotel.

This hotel offers a great location for the airport, with numerous beaches and restaurants close by. A hire car is a must. Supermarkets also within easy reach.

The hotel offers restaurant facilities, we did not eat there as we used the hotel as a base to explore the surrounding areas and tended to eat whilst out.

September seems to be end of season in the Costa Smeralda area, so much quieter than in the height of season, but for us this was a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a baloncy and sea views.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

I was one of the lucky ladies to be part of Chef Jodette's Culinary Adventures, we stayed at this beautiful hotel on the last leg of our journey & it proved to be our favorite hotel throughout our travels in Sardinia! The S'Astore hotel is beautifully appointed in the Sardinian style with a fabulous pool area & breathtaking views! The impeccable service offered by Zdravko Brkic & his staff is what made our stay so memorable! We didn't want to leave the property because we were so well taken care of! Sincere thanks & gratitude to Zdravko, aka "Rocco" & his amazing assistant, Maria Chiara!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank FellowTraveler109162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

This lovely hotel has stunning views, peaceful surroundings and a wonderful restaurant, plus a quiet and relaxing pool area. Zdravko Brkic and his assistant, Maria Chiara were very attentive and met our every need. I highly recommend this hotel to anybody travelling in the area. Very convenient location from the airport and to many nearby beaches. I will definitely be coming back here!

Room Tip: We has a 2nd floor room with a balcony that overlooked the marina. It was perfection!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _virginiadurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews