We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An Idyllic Rustic Italian Retreat!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Fluminimaggiore, Province of Carbonia-Iglesias, Sardinia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

REW29
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“An Idyllic Rustic Italian Retreat!”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Nestled in the foothills Fluminimaggiore, Villa L’Orto is the epitome of rustic Italian escapism. In close proximity to the stunning beach of Portixeddu this villa provides the ideal retreat for those desiring the perfect beach and country escape. The villa itself is situated a short drive from the unspoilt village of Portixeddu…situated by the incredible beach this place is home to a collection of authentic eateries which boast the freshest and most wonderful foods. Our personal favourite was L’Ancara where the food was simply sublime. The villa comes equipped with bikes so you can leave the car at home, cycle to the beach and soak up the Italian culture as you engage in a long lunch, Italian wine and then a siesta on the beach.

Back the to the villa itself….what a wonderful and spectacular place…you drive down tree lined lane and then suddenly it emerges from the rural countryside…a traditional villa which boasts character and charm from the minute you arrive. My favourite part was the long terrace which stretches along the entire first floor which provides you with the most magnificent views. As a keen runner I would go out for my morning run along the country lanes before returning to take in the morning air with a coffee and birdsong for company. In the evening we would sit with a gin and tonic…watching the sun begin to fade and the enjoying the cooler evening air. Sadly our time there was only short so we did not have the opportunity of making an evening meal there…something that we have already said we will do when we return. On a practical note the villa has everything you need to be fully self-sufficient…there is an outside area that is home to a large BBQ…and there is even an outside shower for those who wish to fully embrace the elements! The villa was absolutely spotless when we arrived and the cupboards are full of towels and linen for all the guests to utilise…perfect for those who wish to take advantage of a hand luggage only flight.

We were lucky enough to enjoy a period of intense Sardinian sunshine and it was extremely hot. Yet the villa has been designed perfectly for this….with air conditioning and large windows and doors which can provide a perfectly natural breeze. For those visiting in the cooler months there is a wood burner and I can imagine how cosy the place must be when winter begins to arrive.

Our whole experience of Villa L’Orto was perfect from start to finish. We did not want to leave and are already planning when we can come back. Our hosts were fantastic and on hand for any concerns we may have had and more importantly they have local connections who are there for any further support you could need.

Thank you for a wonderful time….this villa is such a beautiful and secluded place which is perfect for a time of relaxation, calm and reflection. We spent our first anniversary here and it was a delightful romantic retreat. Yet we could easily see how it would be ideal for families and groups of friends. With two double bedrooms and a pull out bed in the lounge area it flexible when it comes to accommodating more than just a couple. It is the ideal place for anyone who wishes to escape and embrace the authentic Italian lifestyle.

PS….It does have Wi-Fi….so you can post pictures of this incredible place on Facebook and spread the word of how beautiful it is.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: No teapot!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: terrace and the location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean, modern, location
Liked least: I had to leave
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard W
Poulton le Fylde, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great villa, scenery, place and holiday!”
Reviewed 14 October 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I spent two weeks at Villa L'Orto in August this year with a group of friends. The villa itself was top quality with all modern fittings and fixtures that exceeded my expectations. The outside shower was a personnel favourite... I can't think of a better backdrop to admire whilst having a wash!

The villa is situated on the mountainside, a prime spot for admiring the surrounding hills. Surprisingly you get the best of both worlds with the scenic views and yet the beach is only a 15 minute walk from the villa. The beach itself in Portixeddu is great as you can probably tell from the pictures and is backed up by some great Italian food!.

All in all a great holiday which I'd highly recommend!

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.