We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious, small gourmet restaurant”
Review of T. W. Food - CLOSED

T. W. Food
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Concord Ave
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“delicious, small gourmet restaurant”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I went with my husband for my birthday dinner. We had three courses each, all delicious, and Bronwyn, the chef's wife, was welcoming and helpful as we ordered. This is amazing, highest-end cooking in a small, warm friendly setting. It's a terrific combination. My husband picked a wine he wanted to try and Bronwyn warned him it might not go well with one of our food choices, but also made him feel welcome to try it if he chose to. He did, and agreed she was right--I expect we'll listen next time but we still enjoyed it with the three of four dishes it matched better with. I expect this will be our new favorite choice for special dinners out, and I'm wishing to be back soon. With their weeknight prix fixe option, the prices are very fair for the amazing quality of the food and left us with funds to splurge on wine, too.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    15
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An expensive locavore treat”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Owned by a delightful young couple who do a great job with mostly local ingredients, but too expensive to visit often and too quiet to feel really festive. When I'm going to spend that much for a special occasion, I'm more likely to go to a large bustling place like Cragie on Main.

Helpful?
Thank mjaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely Go Here”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Hands down this was the best meal we have had in a LONG time. We went on a Tuesday and had the dinner paired with wines from the south of France. Just spectacular from beginning to end.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank alonzocobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tobacco ice cream - do it for your self-esteem”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Delicious, inventive and attentive. Just wonderful. As far as the tobacco ice cream that everyone keeps mentioning - I guess... unusual, though honestly - not that good. Get it anyway and tell everyone you did - you'll seem cooler.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cardiogelf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent and imaginative food in cozy setting”
Reviewed 14 December 2011

EXCELLENT food including foie gras, lobster bisque and light very nicely presented egg dishes in jazz-accompanied brunch

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed T. W. Food also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing