We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable meal”
Review of Toscano

Toscano
Reserve with OpenTable
Toscano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 692 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Story St.
Transit: The T: Redline to "Harvard Sq."
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Two of my adult children and I went there for 5pm Friday dinner. It was just filling up. The dining room was bright and open-feeling with large windows looking out onto the bustle of Brattle Street.
The bread and olive oil were delicious. We had one calamari with mustard dipping sauce appetizer and one Caesar salad, both of which were very good. For entrees we had the lobster ravioli, pesto and T bone steak. We were all satisfied with our choices. The ravioli serving was a bit small, but there was leftover steak that required a doggy bag. In the end, we were all satisfied that we had had a very enjoyable meal.
With a bottle of wine ($24) our total bill with 20% tip was $160.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ronald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 158 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2016

We were staying nearby so decided to try out Toscano because we wanted Italian and frankly there were no restaurants in Harvard Sq that had great reviews. As others have said it wasn't anything special. The ambiance and service was better then the food which is a problem.

We started with the cheese tasting with the truffle honey and it was not good at all. The portions were huge and would have been much better served as a charcuterie board. The two sheep cheeses were inedible and the extra honey we paid for was almost non-existent. The scallops were simple and expected, the filet special was decent but the sauce overpowered the $42 filet, and the sausage risotto tasted like rice-a-roni. The cannoli desserts were not great and we should have just went to Mike's instead.

Overall we had a not great pretty expensive meal. We would look elsewhere next time.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank account4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Casual room large windows, which open if the weather is right. Good for any occasion.

Enjoyed the appetizers, the 2 pasta dishes were bland, but the desserts were very good

The pasta sauces had chopped tomatoes, no spices I could pick up on. Bland, but the pasta was cooked perfectly and the clams in the pasta were very good.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1004Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

We ate here on the recommendation of a local person we met while we were walking. The food was good but very expensive. The seared scallops were very good.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank 729pamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Spent the afternoon in Cambridge walking around and taking in Harvard. Stopped at Toscano for lunch. We shared a Caesar salad and the sopressata pizza. Service was top notch and the food was great.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toscano also viewed

 

Been to Toscano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing