We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not worth it at all. Overpriced average food”
Review of Bambara Cambridge

Bambara Cambridge
Reserve with OpenTable
Bambara Cambridge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 689 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: US$15 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 28 (McGrath Highway)
Transit: Green Line to Lechmere, or Red Line to Kendall Square
Description: Situated next to the Charles River in Cambridge, Bambara offers diners a Cape Cod inspired, American cuisine served in a vibrant, modern atmosphere.
Reviewed 7 August 2018

First of all, nobody welcomes you when you arrive. You wait too long for someone to deign to serve you once you sit down.
The menu looked good on paper, but believe me, the food is not worth what you pay for it. They confuse diners by bringing food, which comes cold and tasteless.
One expects a certain quality from a place that looks like Bambara, but we left feeling cheated.
We will not be back, that's for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maria Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy L, Manager at Bambara Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Maria, I'm sorry for the experience you had at Bambara. It is our policy at Bambara to serve each and every one of our guests to provide the upmost highest level of service. Unfortunately we missed our mark with you. As far as the quality of our food we only buy the freshest ingredients on the market and make sure that we are expediting it out in a timely fashion so that when it reaches your table it is served at the correct temperature for each item. We take each review seriously and appreciate your opinion and once again we are sorry that we ddint meet up to your expectations and would really like the chance to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

We picked this restaurant based upon its reviews and it was worth it. We took the prix fixe menu and enjoyed gazpacho and fried chicken with chili watermelon. Everything was fresh. Decor was very nice. Just go for it.

Thank Nathalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy L, Manager at Bambara Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you Nathalie for dining with us and appreciate the review. We look forward upon your next return and I'm sure we will have switched up the menus as we like to provide our guests with seasonal fresh ingredients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Only had breakfast here and it was just average. Portions were small, food did not come out hot. If you are staying at the hotel it was not bad but had better meals at other places.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bsk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M, General Manager at Bambara Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Hello,

We appreciate your honest feedback after dining at Bambara for breakfast. We always want to serve hot meals and usually offer portions that are appropriate for one guest. We apologize for your lackluster meal and hope you’ll give us another shot in the future.

Best,
Amanda M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

I had a tour group of 24 senior citizens eating at Bambara. The restaurant had given us a group menu with choices of three salads and three entrees and a dessert sampler. All the food was delicious. The hanger steak was cooked to order for those who chose it. The salmon was very tasty, served with a sunchoke purée, pistachios and tapenade. A few ordered a vegetarian ziti dish that they said was very good. The service was excellent, and Jeremy and Annie went out of their way to make sure we were all satisfied. It was a delightful dining experience.

Thank NancyMcJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy L, Manager at Bambara Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Nancy we are so glad that you and your guests enjoyed the atmosphere and our menu. Your group was a delight to serve and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Had breakfast here the last morning of our stay. Menu is small, but what we had was tasty. The orange juice was very good. Would not go out of my way to have breakfast here, but if staying in the hotel would eat here again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rageisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy L, Manager at Bambara Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hi thank for your review, we are glad that you stayed and dined with us at the Hotel Marlowe and Bambara Kitchen & Bar. We look forward to your return as our menu's are always changing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bambara Cambridge also viewed

Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Bambara Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing