We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great discovery in Cambridge”
Review of Little Donkey

Little Donkey
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Donkey is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 693 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Description: Global inspired small plates and raw bar in Cambridge, MA. Little Donkey is the latest restaurant from James Beard Award-winning chefs Ken Oringer and Jamie Bissonnette of Boston's beloved Toro, Coppa and Toro in NYC, Bangkok and soon to be Dubai. Located in the heart of Cambridge's Central Square, Little Donkey is Oringer and Bissonnette's first Boston-area restaurant in over six years, offering a welcoming, day-to-night dining experience that features market-driven, global small plates, inspired by the chefs' world travels.
Restaurant details
Description: Global inspired small plates and raw bar in Cambridge, MA. Little Donkey is the latest restaurant from James Beard Award-winning chefs Ken Oringer and Jamie Bissonnette of Boston's beloved Toro, Coppa and Toro in NYC, Bangkok and soon to be Dubai. Located in the heart of Cambridge's Central Square, Little Donkey is Oringer and Bissonnette's first Boston-area restaurant in over six years, offering a welcoming, day-to-night dining experience that features market-driven, global small plates, inspired by the chefs' world travels.
Reviewed 16 December 2017

Great place, great food, super friendly staff, reasonably priced. If you like small plates, when you can try different things, experiment with drinks or up to some interesting wine, it is place for that. The only drawback is that it is little bit too dark.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yury1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, Guest Relations Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Little Donkey. We're glad to hear you had a memorable experience, and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Best,
Rachel
rachel@jkfoodgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2017

We went to Little Donkey for the first time last night for dinner. We got there around 6:00 pm on a Thursday, we were able to get seats at the bar in about 5 minutes. It was a young crowd at the bar, a little noisy, but not too bad. Drinks were very good (Cosmo, Beast of Bourbon).

We ordered:
- Parker House Rolls: with spiced butter, very good
- Agnolotti: my wife’s favorite, different, very good
- Spicy Street Noodles: a little spicy but very good
- BBQ Scallop: good
- Charred Avocado: different, very good, will have to try making this
- Peruvian Steak Shish Kabob: excellent steak dish, need to try to make the steak toppings

For dessert: Coconut Profiteroles, not very "coconutty", but very tasty.

Dishes come out of the kitchen as they are ready, tapas style. Everything was fresh, well presented, and overall, the food was excellent, we will go back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FrankLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, Director of Sales at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Little Donkey. We're glad to hear you had a memorable experience, and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Best,
Rachel
rachel@jkfoodgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

This place is so fun, and creative. The menu is unlike anything else in town. The atmosphere is lively and fun, and the service was excellent. Jen was our server and we cant wait to come back and see her again soon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, Guest Relations Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Little Donkey. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to having you back in again soon!

Best,
Rachel
rachel@jkfoodgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We had a great evening here. The place was packed, noisy and dark (you will need your phone to read the menu if you are older than 40) but we were well looked after by our server. My cocktail Fox Catcher was fab though my friend's G&T arrived without the T.

We shared 9 dishes between the 4 of us (and one shared dessert) and that was about right. Highlights were Octopus a la plancha, Bratwurst, BBQ scallops with muhammara butter, Manti and a Sweetcorn salad. The only disappointment was the Agnolotti which were bland and the accompanying chanterelles were overcooked.

I will definitely return. The only issue with this place is planning far enough ahead to get a table.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jane01778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, Guest Relations Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Hi Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Little Donkey. We'll be sure to pass your feedback along to both our kitchen and management teams. Hope to see you back again soon!

Best,
Rachel
rachel@jkfoodgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We heard great reviews and headed to dinner with high expectations. The setting is nice, high ceilings, open kitchen. The waitperson was lovely and helpful. The food was hit or miss for me with rather eclectic offerings. The servings were more generous than many tapas places. The cauliflower salad was surprisingly delicious, the biriyani was not to my liking, a bit dry. The jerk chicken wings were spicy and very good, the octopus, which I usually avoid, was delicious, but then the chow fun with shrimp was bland.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, Guest Relations Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Little Donkey. We appreciate your feedback, and will be sure to share your notes with both our kitchen and management teams. Hoping to see you again soon.

Best,
Rachel Becker
rachel@jkfoodgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Donkey also viewed

 

Been to Little Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing