We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classic Tweed shop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Studio Donegal

Studio Donegal
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Kilcar
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Studio Donegal is a family run hand-weaving and clothing manufacturing business located in the picturesque village of Kilcar, County Donegal. Visitors are invited to tour the facilities and observe our hand-weavers at work Monday to Friday. Admission is free. In our factory shop we offer our tweed throws, men’s and ladies clothing, hats and accessories as well as Donegal Yarns knitting wool and a selection of contemporary and traditional knitwear. We also stock a selection Irish made jewelry to complement our tweeds and complete our range.
Ronkonkoma, New York, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A classic Tweed shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

Wonderful shop that spins and weaves the wool into clothing and beautiful rugs. They even took time to take us upstairs and showed us the old fashion machines and explain how it all worked. Plenty to see and buy beautiful tweeds. They were the Sweetest people. A must see.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank Regina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great shop, wonderful people, great wool products”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We traveled here going between Slieve League and Donegal-- we saw some signs while driving and decided to stop in. They had beautiful wool products and we needed up with a great blanket and wool cap. The owners were incredible friendly and informative and watching the hand lookers make the products was really interesting. I've worn my hat often and love it for the cooler evening, does an amazing job of keeping my head warm. Many people have commented to me about how great the hat is. If you're in the area, stop by and check it out!!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Joseph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“A well-worth trip to Donegal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stopped at Kilcar having been recommended to see Studio Donegal, not only to see the beautiful clothes, scarves, hats and blankets but also to see first-hand how they are still traditionally made - skills that have been handed down through generations. We went upstairs and watched the wool being wooven into the most fantastic garments which are also on display and for you to buy in the shop downstairs. The finished items are shipped worldwide.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2016

Fabulous quality traditional weaving upstairs and a shop full of wonders below. Friendly knowledgeable staff, a few bargains.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank daytripper14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Masters of the craft!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

We were treated to a full tour of this studio by the masters of weaving. There is mechanization of a few processes but the weaving is all done by hand. We met two skilled and dedicated weavers who took precious production time to discuss their craft. Thrilled and honored by their gift. Just wish there were more Donegal apprentices waiting their chance to learn this perishing art. We couldn't leave the shop without purchasing a beautiful sample of their skills.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank smpitmaniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Studio Donegal also viewed

Carrick, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
 

Been to Studio Donegal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing