We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
42
27
12
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
42
27
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diving board football pitch lough derg lovely site beautiful lake min walk all ages tennis courts return again nice pub enjoyed our stay stayed here for nights plenty of space pitches toilets facilities tents
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2021

Stayed for two nights and wish it was longer! Plenty of space for tents and not over crowded. Kids made friends instantly and could play in area in middle of tents always in sight which was just pure bliss! Not once did i hear "I'm bored", infact I don't think they would have eaten or slept given the choice they were so entertained fire pits were there for rent but can use your own as long as off grass, these were great for keeping midges at bay and of course the marshmallows. Everyone was friendly and campsite was completely quiet by 11 every night but curfew is 12.

Facilities were close and clean.

Beautiful lake with multiple points to chill out at it meaning no where was over crowded. It was choppy when we were there and not the best for swimming for the younger ones but my teenager would have spent all evening at the diving board and I had a lovely swim! Beautiful area to walk around either way.

Mountshsnnon is a beautiful small town with playground and maze and then a harbour to walk down to. Shop in petrol station here with essentials and very reasonable pricing. Scarrif not too far for a centra.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 260aislinnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Had emailed them several times for a spot tenting. Got no reply on email. I then rang and was told there was plenty of room and they would confirm. Had all the family ready to go down today only to be told over the phone again there was no room now so basically ruined out family weekend away

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kevinq768
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2021

Our first time visiting this campsite, but we plan to return. This is a family-oriented site, but there are some lovely pitches right on the lake that were blissfully peaceful and quiet for those who are looking to getaway to nature. The toilet facilities were kept spotlessly clean.

Bring change with you, the showers are operated by euros.

My only "complaint" is that we didn't receive any guidance when we checked in, to explain where things were and how things work. Of course we eventually figured most things out, but it would've been nice to get that at check-in.

There were no dog-poo bins anywhere, and all of the rubbish and recycling bins were full the whole time we were there. There was a sign on the rubbish bins that you had to PAY at reception to dispose of rubbish....but I don't know what that was about, as I never received any instructions at check-in.

Room tip: If looking for quiet, ask for a lakeside pitch.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SARAH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2020

Lovely site secluded on the banks of beautiful Lough Derg. Hard Stands have electricity and water easily available. The site is safe for children and facilities are clean and COVID controls are strictly enforced by friendly customer focused staff. This site is so peaceful, you will most certainly leave rested......Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2020
2  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2020 via mobile

We stayed for one night and are definitely going back. We got a lakeside pitch which was hard stand but we didn't want to put up the awning up for one night anyway. It was a beautiful day so a great buzz about the place. Lots to do here, kayaking, swimming tennis. There is a diving board for the kids. The views of the lake were spectacular. Laundry, toilets and showers open, some facilities need to be booked. It's a short cycle to the village of Mountshannon or 20 min walk. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews