We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Guesthouse Nonni(Hella)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
US$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Stracta Hotel(Hella)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
US$125
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kanslarinn(Hella)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
27
90
59
29
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
90
59
29
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvegetarian burgerremote hotelblue plastichot tubstaff was extremely helpfulskyryour luggagetiny bathroomreception areadecent sizepower stationbreadafter a long daysmoked salmonbuffet breakfastsouplamb
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel is good in middle of nowhere but terrain is 4/10 as compared to Ring Road 1
Always use google maps ( mobile data should be on) you cant find this place otherwise. Google this hotel and then get directions. My Garmin Sat Nav and co pilot did not show me this road and people get lost.
I hired a Yaris and I can not go to Landamanlugar without a 4x4 because road ahead is unpaved.
Nothing much to do in this area and I find this landscape bit scary to be honest. If I dont have 4x4, will never bother to get down from Ring Road 1 in future.
Managed to see northern lights for a while in the night so happy.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank fbpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We asked our travel agent to select a hotel close to Landmannalaugar so that we could do a day trip there. The hotel was pretty run down. A poster in the hotel saying it was 4-star (probably compared to the tents in Landmannalaugar). We would give it between 2 to 3. Strategically speaking, the hotel is well placed to visit Landmannalaugar. We made a triangular driving loop (208/F225/26) with 3 hours of hiking time in Landmannalaugar for a one day trip. If you want comfort accommodation around the area, this hotel is a right choice.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lawrencecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

This company owns the only 2 hotel properties near Landmannalaugar (the other being Hotel Highland half a mile away). The rooms were quite comfortable (the only queen size bed I got on our 16 day driving trip). The shower area was spacious compared to the tiny enclosed showers found at most hotels (good luck if you drop the soap in one of those!), though the small water heater only provided a few minutes of hot water - enough for most folks, but could be seen as too little for some. Breakfast was adequate and typical, though a little less variety than most places we visited. Dinners were fine and reasonably priced if not particularly memorable. A good choice when visiting Landmannalauger.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank TucsonCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

This is a good spot if you're planning on a day trip Landmannalaugar. The rooms were basic, but fine. There's a restaurant and snack bar, but no kitchen for cooking your own food. The drive from Gullfoss was spectacular, except for the last few miles which were desolate and pretty uninteresting. Be sure to ask directions, if you're driving into Landmannalaugar. We wasted a few hours driving around looking for the right road!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Thoreau L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

The room is 7 square meters, and it's even dirty.
There' no place for a luggage.
Only 1 awful bathroom to share with 20 rooms.
No kitchen available for guest.
Staff quite unkind.
No good balance between quality and price. Prices are for hotel but you get a very bad hostel.
Better to stay in a camping.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank frally1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews