We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
29
91
61
30
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
91
61
30
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsremote hotelvegetarian burgerblue plastichot tubstaff was extremely helpfulsleeping bag accommodationskyryour luggagewheel drivetiny bathroomreception areadecent sizepower stationafter a long daysoupbreadfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a great night in this place. Its in the middle of no where and looks very uninspiring from the outside. We had one of the smarter rooms with an ensuite - these rooms looked much better than the cheaper ones with shared facilities. They're more modern, larger and on a wing of the building which was quieter as not as many people walked past the room.The breakfast was good and dinner was fine too - burgers, soup, ssalad bar etc. Staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Pay more have have an ensuite room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareP38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as a part of a tour. The rooms are basic but warm and clean as is the rest of the property. The staff were indifferent at best. The dinner was very mediocre and breakfast was poor. Before our stay the had been snow which had turned into sheet ice all around the entrance and the access at the rear to the deck and hot tub. Nothing was done to clear this despite the Manager boasting that he had a cushy job as there was little to do. CLEAR THE ICE IS WAS A SAFETY HAZZARD would be my advice! Try the Hotel Ranga which is superb. Avoid this one if at all possible.

Room Tip: They all appeared to be the same.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagicMan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at Hrauneyjar Highland Center for one night, at first I was disappointed to see the run-down very basic facilities and furniture. However we had such a fantastic service that the look of the guesthouse didn't really matter.
The staff welcomed us, answered all our questions, helped us plan our trip, prepared the sauna for us, prepared dinner, arranged for us to have breakfast early, replied to my email a week later when I thought I had lost my driving licence in the hotel....I could go on, but the point is they are very friendly and helpful.
The room we originally booked was clean but quite small and old. We were upgraded to a nicer room since the bathroom fan in our room was broken. The new room we stayed in was lovely and modern.
We also enjoyed using the sauna and the dinner was very good.
Thank you to Hrauneyjar Guesthouse for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marla412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was first taken aback when we arrived and had to negotiate 2 feet of snow to get to the reception, but what an incredible place. Completely isolated, with basic rooms but very good breakfast and evening meal and the best place to see the Northern lights. I will never forget this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen_lewis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

this hotel initially appears as a block of portocabins and you will be very afraid as you enter the reception area that your youth hostelling days are back. however dont fret, its warm and cosy inside, set in the middle of absolutely nowhere with a comforting hot tub and sauna out back. the staff are very friendly and the food id great. showers are hot and rooms are clean and functional. great place to escape light pollution and watch northern lights. felt sorry for the chef whos dinner was ruined both nights by the arrival of the aurora. took my icecream outside with a spoon as who cared it was minus 15 degrees (icecream did set harder) when treated to such an amazing natural spectacle. walked up the hill to see the hydro electric plant one afternoon and quite spectacular views back over the hotel and valley. ps dont believe Dominics aurora forecasts they were rubbish! hes better at pouring gin!

Room Tip: didnt really see other rooms to compare but not really a view of anything either way!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmsHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews