We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Container like Hotel, surprising restaurant!”
Review of Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The one and only hotel near Landmannalaugur en route thru Sprengisandur: Sleep containers with some decor, frugal wellness (mini Sauna, Hot tub), 1ßß% czech staff, helpful and efficient...nothing to write home about from this hotel in the middle of nowhere, BUT the chef, also Czech, ist far too good to be in this motel...and the wine selection was surprisingly good, too! (At those crazy Icelandic prices...Vinbudin-store cost times 4....for what reason???)

Room Tip: Apartments with kitchen/living rm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hjk381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel is good in middle of nowhere but terrain is 4/10 as compared to Ring Road 1
Always use google maps ( mobile data should be on) you cant find this place otherwise. Google this hotel and then get directions. My Garmin Sat Nav and co pilot did not show me this road and people get lost.
I hired a Yaris and I can not go to Landamanlugar without a 4x4 because road ahead is unpaved.
Nothing much to do in this area and I find this landscape bit scary to be honest. If I dont have 4x4, will never bother to get down from Ring Road 1 in future.
Managed to see northern lights for a while in the night so happy.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank fbpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We asked our travel agent to select a hotel close to Landmannalaugar so that we could do a day trip there. The hotel was pretty run down. A poster in the hotel saying it was 4-star (probably compared to the tents in Landmannalaugar). We would give it between 2 to 3. Strategically speaking, the hotel is well placed to visit Landmannalaugar. We made a triangular driving loop (208/F225/26) with 3 hours of hiking time in Landmannalaugar for a one day trip. If you want comfort accommodation around the area, this hotel is a right choice.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lawrencecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

This hotel was very remote. The rooms were tiny and it was difficult to move around once you put your luggage down. The bathroom contained a hot water tank which, once empty, does not replenish. There is no warning about that and it is less than ideal in a cold location. The serving staff in the restaurant were very brusque in their manner and it was like being treated like naughty children. The food was nice. There was free Wi-Fi which was easy to access.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Turbogirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016

This seasonal hotel is basic but the reason you might consider staying here should not be linked to the hotel facilities but as to where the hotel is. We were on a 4WD winter tour so staying here allowed us to see more of the local sights and not have to rush back to more civilised and crowded locations. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The evening meal was tasty with large serving sizes. Breakfast was only ok but the hotel was closing for a month or so after we checked out.
Rooms can be tiny but most people will arrive late and leave early in winter; when it may only be open irregularly or only for groups. Free easy to access fast Wi-Fi but only in dining area. In room controlled central heating and room windows can be opened. A hot tub outside.
A good remote spot for Northern Lights viewing if the gods are smiling as there is an open view to the North.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
33.5 km away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
550 reviews
34.4 km away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,694 reviews
34.6 km away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.3 km away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
311 reviews
32.8 km away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
34.4 km away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Address: Road F26, Hella 850, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: €70 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Highland is a three star hotel situated at the edge of the Iceland’s most impressive and active volcanic area. From here it is a short distance to many of the most beautiful and popular tourist attractions in the highlands. The area is teeming with great sites for adventure and is the perfect base for visiting as many of them as time allows. It also has a great location to try out all the activities the region has to offer. The vastness and lack of human impact on the surrounding area makes it truly one of the last places in Europe where freedom, natural beauty and solitude are combined in a breathtakingly powerful experience. Hotel Highland offers 16 standard rooms and 4 suites, 2 Family suites for up to 6 people and 2 Luxury suites for up to 4 people. In addition Hotel Highland offers a gourmet restaurant, bar, sauna and outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel is well accessible by paved road all year round and is only 150 km from Reykjavik. We recommend guests that are planning on staying with us during Winter season to have a 4WD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking so you can book your Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing