We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Food, but Accommodation and 'Welcome' leave a lot to be desired...”
Review of Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Reviewed 14 November 2014

Arrived with a foot of snow on the ground for a two night stay with a travel party. The rooms were freezing and the radiators were off throughout the hotel. We were the only party staying there, but were locked out of the bar and restaurant area (which we later found out was exceptionally warm!) until dinner was ready to be served. There were only four seats available for relaxation due to this. Very poor welcome.
We didn't see anyone who worked in the hotel apart from when we went to dinner. There was no welcome, and no goodbye. No-one was visibly on hand to help. I detest managers and owners who hide, it always makes me suspicious that they have something to hide.
After dinner on the first night, when we'd all managed to warm up, we all popped outside to see the northern lights, and when we came back in, even though it was only 9.30pm, found we'd been locked out of the bar area again. Very poor, particularly as the three people working appeared to be having their own private party in the bar area, visible for us to see but not join in. So everyone sloped off to their rooms as there was no where else to go and sit.
We arrived back the second night to discover they had switched off all the radiators again, so the place was freezing. They have not refilled our tea and coffee, so we had to wait until they saw fit to open the bar again. We were, yet again, early after dinner, locked out of the bar and restaurant area with no where to go, and worse still, no tea or coffee making facilities.
The food at dinner was average, breakfast didn't have much variety.
It is OK as a 'stop over' if you're in a party in the mountains, but don't expect and sort of service or hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2014

We stayed in an apartment and found it quite comfortable. The bathroom was very small, but it was nice to have a kitchen. The master bedroom was very nice. There was also a small room with a bunk bed (no complaints) and a sofa-bed in the living room (not recommended). The large living room was a great space to hang out, but not so good for sleeping because there were no dark curtains to block the light. We arrived late and had only minimal contact with the staff. They said there was a hot tub there, but we were too tired to look for it. There is a restaurant there, but it was quite expensive, so we opted to eat at the simpler restaurant a few km away (Hrauneyjar).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lanis-adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

fantastic location just at the edge of Landmanalugar, the must see wild region of Iceland. A very warm welcome and a nice cooking at the restaurant. Rooms are simple and clean. At the farm which belong to the same owner a few kilometers before, you can receive precious advise for your trip in the region; don't miss it.

Room Tip: every room are more or less the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as a part of a tour. The rooms are basic but warm and clean as is the rest of the property. The staff were indifferent at best. The dinner was very mediocre and breakfast was poor. Before our stay the had been snow which had turned into sheet ice all around the entrance and the access at the rear to the deck and hot tub. Nothing was done to clear this despite the Manager boasting that he had a cushy job as there was little to do. CLEAR THE ICE IS WAS A SAFETY HAZZARD would be my advice! Try the Hotel Ranga which is superb. Avoid this one if at all possible.

Room Tip: They all appeared to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagicMan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was first taken aback when we arrived and had to negotiate 2 feet of snow to get to the reception, but what an incredible place. Completely isolated, with basic rooms but very good breakfast and evening meal and the best place to see the Northern lights. I will never forget this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen_lewis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
33.5 km away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
550 reviews
34.4 km away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,694 reviews
34.6 km away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.3 km away
Hotel Geysir
Hotel Geysir
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
311 reviews
32.8 km away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
34.4 km away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Hotel

Address: Road F26, Hella 850, Iceland
Region: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: €71 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Highland is a three star hotel situated at the edge of the Iceland’s most impressive and active volcanic area. From here it is a short distance to many of the most beautiful and popular tourist attractions in the highlands. The area is teeming with great sites for adventure and is the perfect base for visiting as many of them as time allows. It also has a great location to try out all the activities the region has to offer. The vastness and lack of human impact on the surrounding area makes it truly one of the last places in Europe where freedom, natural beauty and solitude are combined in a breathtakingly powerful experience. Hotel Highland offers 16 standard rooms and 4 suites, 2 Family suites for up to 6 people and 2 Luxury suites for up to 4 people. In addition Hotel Highland offers a gourmet restaurant, bar, sauna and outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel is well accessible by paved road all year round and is only 150 km from Reykjavik. We recommend guests that are planning on staying with us during Winter season to have a 4WD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking so you can book your Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Hotel Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing