We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,128)
Filter reviews
1,128 results
Traveller rating
631
373
95
23
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
373
95
23
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar power station geothermal plant last night lamb waffles max's restaurant honor bar blue lagoon lava fields viewing room wake up call viewing tower lovely hotel common areas free shuttle room number
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,128 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018

so this place is very helpful when booking you on to excursions and anything prior to arriving at the hotel which is great!

when you actually a rrive, no one helps you with your bags, the staff are not around to order food and when you do knock for them they begrudgingly serve you when their prices are extoritionare for a pesto and bread! i atleast expect the smalled amount of service, watch out for hte chubby brown hair man! he was not very nice!

the hotels are very basic for what you are paying, dont expenct anything better than a lower travel lodge - Travel lodge is nicer and cleaner and more uniformed!

they have the 4pm waffles - Thats a good idea! something good about the place

there is no room service of food in the rooms, what are we 2 years old??? and were told it causes too much of a mess, we paid for the use of the room and to be told we cant eat in there is rediculous, I understand about looking after their hotel but we were hardly going to ruin the room !!! and if their kitchen staff arent available then what other options do we have!

this hotel is only good location for blue lagoon, other than that you are miles from anything!

I wouldnt bother with this place!!! very dissapointed and expensive for what you actually get!

they charge extra for the facilities!!! they dont make that clear so be careful! there is limited facilities, only steam room and suana and a water bubble thing which is like £100 to use! no hot tub or anything and a rip off!!

Room tip: terrible Staff -rude
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Adele B,
Many thanks for your review. We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Please be advised that we do not offer luggage service and you are right we don't have room service. All our guests can enjoy our fitness room at no extra charge but we charge guests, staying in standard rooms, ISK 2,500 pr day for access to our wellness spa, while this is included in Deluxe accommodation. The water bubble thing is actually a floating tank, which is a kind of a therapy and we charge ISK 7,000 for an hour session regardless whether you stay in standard or deluxe room.
We try our best to inform our guests of our services and on our website we have all this information in writing as well as many photos so people can see what to expect.
We try our best to accommodate all our guests and we are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We do however hope that your stay in Iceland was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

The Northern Lights Inn was a pleasure to stay at. With friendly and helpful staff we were able to plan our visit and get the most from our stay.

Just a short walk through the lava fields (great little footpaths navigate the beautiful landscape which also made a great back-drop for our room) and we reach the Blue Lagoon.

Our room was large and finished well. The hotel wellness center is a must with hot spa and sauna very reasonably priced.

Our stay at NLI was topped off by Max's restaurant, a true gem, the fresh locally landed fish and well produced dishes made for a wonderful stay. Engaging and polite staff made the dinners and breakfasts a real treat. Will be eager to return, with great connections back to the airport, the NLI is a great place to finish any Icelandic visits.

Room tip: Picking a lava-field room (outer looking) was great, you will see the geo-thermal plant or at least steam but it adds to the experience.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi Mira T,
Many thanks for your kind words and rating. We are happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again, one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

We stayed here for our last night in Iceland which made it very convenient for the Blue Lagoon and transfer to the airport in the morning. The hotel was lovely. Staff were very welcoming and accommodating. Facilities were great and the room was quite large. Honesty bar is a great idea and the waffles in the afternoon were a great touch. Unfortunately we didn't have the weather to experience the Northern Lights, but if you were at the hotel when they were on display, their viewing tower would have been a great spot to be. Would recommend the hotel if you wanted to split your stay between Rekyjavik and another location.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SimonH2793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi Simon H,
Many thanks for your kind words. We are thankful to hear that you are recommending us and happy that you did enjoy your stay with us. Hopefully, you will visit us again and at that time have the chance to witness and enjoy the beautiful northern lights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Most staff friendly & helpful with one exception.Rooms spacious & comfortable.Biggest criticism is that there is no information about the hotel at all in any of the rooms nor do the rooms have fridges of any sort -which can be an issue if you need to keep medication or anything else refrigerated.Very close & convenient for Blue Lagoon ,offers free transport to & from Lagoon but not on regular basis & only find out by asking .Food on first night was between fixed 3 course meal or a la carte-both very good BUT Sunday not good -Only soup available for lunch & buffet at night [same soup as at lunchtime ]expensive & really poor unappetising food-very disappointing.Breakfast buffet OK but nothing special.
Guy who mans front desk at night is an amazing master of all trades.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank Jacqui101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi Jacqui101,
Many thanks for your review. We are currently updating information book to be in all hotel rooms in the near future but we have also the first 3 channels on the TV where you can see all kind of information of the hotel and our services. Our deluxe rooms have fridge but we can always store medicine in our cooler in the kitchen.
We do hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again, one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

A lovely place to stay if being close to the Blue Lagoon and International Airport are important to you. We had a lovely room, really comfy bed and pillows. A few of the really nice touches were the free waffles, coffee and tea, the lovely sitting room with open fire and a community jigsaw to solve or if you prefer, a game of chess. They also have an honesty bar in its own sitting area.
Breakfast was extensive.
Overall, a great couple of days.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Macca6178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi Macca6178,
Many thanks for your kind words. We are happy that you did enjoy your stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews