We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mar Guesthouse(Grindavik)
US$114
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
US$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lagafell Guesthouse(Grindavik)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Guesthouse Borg(Grindavik)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotels.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveller rating
607
363
89
22
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
363
89
22
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barpower stationgeothermal plantlast nightblue lagoonlambhonor barmax's restaurantlava fieldswake up callviewing roomlovely hotelfree shuttleviewing towernorthern lights viewinglog fireboard games
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Way out of the way. I had corresponded with staff in the summer and
mentioned that on our flight day wanted to take the bus into town and
then be able to head to airport at 2pm. Was told not an issue, - Again I will say that I did correspond with the Inn to ensure that Reykjavik would not be an issue for the day - buses ran
regularly. That may be true, but the first bus into town is 11:15....it
takes 45 - 50 minutes and the last bus out of town is at 6:00pm. Cost of
the bus each way is approximately $20 cdn. If you miss the last bus it
is $150 to return by taxi. So impossible to do the morning and lunch in
Reykjavik and head to airport. You then get to spend the day sitting
around a hotel that has nothing to offer but a restaurant and lounges.
Four of us walked over to Blue Lagoon to kill a couple of hours. We got
told just to call and they would pick us up - they are 2 minutes away by
car. We called and had to push back quite hard to get them to pick us
up. We would have walked but it was raining.
We then returned to hotel and had another couple of hours to wait...asked to be driven to airport early as the 4 of us decided that it would be better to wait there and shop and people watch then sit in a lounge and stare at the walls.
We asked to be driven and were told that the next shuttle was at 2pm. I asked where the two shuttle buses would be for the next 1.75 hours and was told in the parking lot. So again we had to push back (I could understand if just one person going to the airport, but there were 4 of us that had stayed for 3 nights, in 3 rooms and had three evening meals....because can't in in town because of no bus or shuttle service), but there were 4 of us.
We did get driven to the airport at 15 minute drive.
Also would be good to take Vicks rub for your nose as when you first get there you really notice the sulphur smell from the thermal electric plant which is right behind the hotel.

If you want a place to stay near the airport or the Blue Lagoon for one
night this is it.
Very Clean.
Food is good, lamb is excellent and fresh caught fish was fantastic.

Room Tip: Take Vicks with you to counter act the smell of the sulphur.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

Dear Holakat, thanks for your review.

We value your comments but we want to stress the fact that our Inn is 50 km away from Reykjavik and it is not the ideal location if you are looking into visit the city unless you have a whole day.

Concerning the shuttle we do have to have a schedule as though we would gladly like to be able to take our guests at their preferred time, we need to have rules as our shuttles are also used for the Blue Lagoon transfer every hour and pick-up from the airport and if there is no rule with the cars it is difficult to stick to the schedule, but we understand your situation and thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,
Northern Light Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

After staying at the Northern Light Inn, I was a bit shocked to see some of the reviews here. Granted everyone is entitled to their opinions, so to each his own. However, I found the inn to be quite charming. I chose to stay there on my last night before heading back to the states. Upon arrival I was greeted by a very friendly woman at the front desk. She was very accommodating and arranged both a drive to the Blue Lagoon as well as a ride to the airport--complimentary! We stayed in a room on the first floor with two twin beds. The room was not large by any means, however it was cozy. Felt like my room at home. Also, after staying in Reykjavik and having to deal with the "rotten egg smell" of the showers, it was glorious to take a shower at the Inn and not have that at all! The room was clean and the beds were quite comfy! After many days of activities outside it was relaxing! Plus we had a great view of the lava fields. Also, my mentality normally is you don't travel for the hotel rooms---especially in a country like Iceland where the magic is outside!

We ate at Max's Restaurant which was lovely. The cauliflower soup was tasty as was the Halibut! It was absolutely delicious. My only suggestion, is I ordered the salmon salad as my main course and the portion was incredibly small. It was more like a very small appetizer. (Yet the chef's salad was of decent size) And the dessert...wow! I highly recommend the the chocolate cake.

After dinner we spent time in both the lounge playing Scrabble as well as in the room with the fireplace. I thought it was charming. And everyone we met at the end were friendly. They have a great viewing deck for the Northern Lights, however unfortunately weren't able to see them due to heavy cloud coverage.

Breakfast in the morning was basic but tasty. I'm not a big breakfast eater so I was fine with what was served. Fruits, breakfast cakes, salmon, juices, cereal, eggs. They were gracious in storing our luggage while we visited the blue lagoon and were kind enough to load them into their van and pick us up from the Blue Lagoon and take us to the airport. Which by the way, the young woman who drove us (I remember her saying she had started a few days ago) was super friendly! We enjoyed a great conversation with her on our trip to the airport. So thank you to her!

Overall, I was very pleased with my stay at the Inn and would recommend it. Granted there isn't a whole lot to do in the area aside from the Blue Lagoon, especially if you don't have a car, but it is a great place to stay as you adventure around the country.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LizzyJ276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

Dear LizzyJ276,

Thank you for your nice words and for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at the Northern Light Inn. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

We will pass on your thanks to Iris, who took you to the airport and you mention in your review.

Regards,
Northern Light Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights on our first visit to Iceland, the location is mostly isolated but is very close to the blue lagoon in which the hotel offer a free shuttle service to every hour. It is situated in the perfect place to see the northern lights, there is an upstairs gallery with a balcony so you can watch in the warmth. The breakfast was lovely, lots of bread, cheeses, ham, scrambled egg and salmon and more so there is loads to choose from, we had dinner here too not a lot to choose from but still very nice. We had a great room very clean, good sized TV with English channels to watch and a big walk in shower. Could not recommend this hotel enough!! The staff are nice and very helpful, would love to come back here in the future!
My one tip would be this is the place for short and sweet stays as it far away from the rest of the city.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sineadjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Dear Sineadjay,
Thank you for your nice words and for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Northern Light Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015

We stayed here for the last night of our Iceland trip thinking that it would be nicer to be in the countryside than in Reykjavik. What a big mistake. Although we knew it would be close to the power station we hadn't realised quite how close it was. In view of the position and outlook we are surprised by the number of good reviews here. Feelings of disappointment due to the closeness of the power station as we drove to the hotel were only intensified as we got out of the car and were greeted with an overwhelming smell of sulphur.

Once inside, reception was fairly basic but the woman behind the desk was friendly and informative. Walking to our room we passed several communal areas with sofas and tables. Our room was at the end of a long corridor and was quiet but did overlook the power station to one side. The room was large with a high ceiling and a big bed. The bathroom, however, was rather cramped although it did have a big shower that took up a lot of the room. The loo roll dispenser is hidden in a pull-out drawer under the sink, there being nowhere else to put it.

We had our evening meal in the restaurant but both commented that it was nothing special and breakfast the next morning was also very standard. The dining room has large picture windows that overlook the power station.

Although we would not recommend this hotel unless you particularly want to stay right next to the Blue Lagoon, we can recommend Bryggjan Kaffihus on Grindavik harbour for good coffee and enormous slices of cake - unless you are very hungry, share one!

We have given this Inn two stars in view of it's setting and the food - the room would probably have had three stars.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Leo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2015

Dear Leo55,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that your expectation were not met. We do our best to inform our guests about our location by variety of pictures on our website.
There are several options for dining in the nearby, if you don´t like the option at Max´s Restaurant and we frequently recommend Bryggjan, which as you point out is very cozy and nice coffee house only 5 km away from us.

Regards,
Northern Light Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

The hotel is right by the power plant, and if the wind is in the direction it was when we stayed you see lots of steam, and get a sulphur smell.

The room was ok but a bit dated.

The breakfast was nothing special.

For the price I would stay somewhere else, unless you have to have the hotel nearest the blue lagoon.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHR1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2015

Dear cistampe,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Northern Light Inn. We are sad that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. As shown on our website, www.nli.is, we inform our guests of our location and that we are close to the power plant that is the reason of the Blue Lagoon.

We are currently working on our facilities, paving our parking lot, increasing our lobbie, putting new carpets etc in order to keep the hotel fresh and welcoming.

Regards,
Northern Light Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews