We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
12
24
28
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
24
28
12
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Stadarborg is a very pleasant, quiet, inexpensive and friendly hotel, set in the wonderful Breiðdalur, a valley surrounded by otherworldly mountains. I like the comfort that comes with its modesty and simplicity. The staff speaks more languages than there are lambs running about in the fields here. This hotel tells the story of recent changes in Icelandic society, an old country school changed into a hotel. The restaurant serves fresh fish from neighboring Stöðvarfjörður and delicious, local lamb. On the third day, I felt like at home.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Adolf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 21:00, and even though the restaurant closed at 8:30 they were available to serve us. The room was spacious and very clean, bathroom was clean as well. The hot tub and sauna were available per request "at any hour". The breakfast was good was well, with fruit and vegetables, and the usual in Iceland. Overall, a very nice stay. Worth mentioning the staff, super helpful and friendly. Would stay again for sure.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Eduardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

In an area where you don't find much else for a good price it's a very good option. Very nice lady made us a warm soup even if kitchen was already closed at 20.15. Breakfast was nice and had a good variety of sweet and sour dishes.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve04TallTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We were the only guest staying at the Hotel that night and the owner was very friendly. Our room was huge and clean and of Course without any other guests it was very quiet there :)
Breakfast was made just for the two of us and included everyhing we could have wished for very nicely done!!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tanja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Very helpful and friendly staff. We had dinner at the restaurant, yes it was expensive but it was also good. Our room was comfortable. We did see some reindeer not far from here. Also sheep eating in the front grassy area of the hotel. And a beautiful orange fluffy bunny. Does remind me of a European style hotel and restaurant. We enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank trying-to-get-there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews