We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice people, but there are better places.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location, nice people, but there are better places.”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I requested a quiet room and got one on the side of the hotel that is up against the highway--very noisy. But it was not the hotel's fault that my room was also next to a room housing a very drunk and very loud person. Finally at 12 am I called the front desk and the clerk immediately asked me if I wanted to move. Clearly she had been through this before and she was calm and professional. I gathered my things, she moved me a few doors down and on the other side of the hotel: much better and I was able to sleep. Beds were comfortable and rooms are large, but there is no pool and the restaurant needs serious help. The location is central to the hospital and university, and all staff were very pleasant. Here's the bad news: 36 Bistro.

Thirty-Six Bistro, the hotel restaurant, is incredibly expensive and the food quality is poor, like an old cafeteria full of warmed over food where no one cares anymore. $11 for a breakfast of hard old chunks of steam tray potatoes with two eggs is just not okay. To make it worse, both meals we had at this restaurant included long absences by our wait staff, as the kitchen sends them around to make room service deliveries on every floor WHILE THEY ARE WORKING as wait staff in the restaurant, and the second waiter will not help you unless you get up and go ask her (which I finally did at dinner as our waiter dropped the plates, then disappeared for 20 minutes--the other server spent that time chatting with the hostess as the place was deserted. Why didn't they send the other waitress to do room service? I had happened to see our waiter staggering from the kitchen into the hotel with a huge tray of room service right after dropping our plates; same thing happened at breakfast to our poor waitress!). The steak ordered medium rare was a variety of colors from gray to blood-red inside; seafood chowder was unpleasantly flavored by something that tasted like mold. French fries were so encrusted with salt that even my eight year old fast-food-loving son said, uh, no thanks mom. However the battered halibut was excellent: light, crisp, tasty and hot. Go figure. We had no waiter to address these issues, or fill water glasses etc, as he was sent off to room service for so long. I think the hotel and restaurant serve mostly medicaid clients from out of town who have food vouchers, which may explain the ridiculous prices for the poor quality food; but that still isn't right. I don't think anyone who lives in Anchorage ever patronizes this restaurant.
There are hotels in Anchorage priced the same that have pools and are more modern. For the price it isn't bad, just do not eat in the restaurant. It's a bit of a walk to anywhere else to eat, so hopefully you have a car if you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DynamicDuo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    162
    93
    21
    16
See reviews for
130
100
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2010

My stay at the best western golden lion was actually way better than I thought it would be.. I stayed due to the nearness of providence hospital. The hotel was very nice, very comfortable beds and pillows, amazing staff.. Maxine was an amazing house keeper, blonde housekeeper was sort if rude but I didn't let it bother me.. Front desk provided excellent Service, Charmaine and Kia were awesome and made sure the room was just right for me. I will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babydoll1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Great location for a visitor, convenient access to main roadways in all directions. Older hotel in need of a renovation. Everything a little worn and dated. Worst of all were the beds which were way to soft, so soft you sink into the middle.
Staff was very friendly and a special shout out to "Aloha" at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Thanx a lot for you hospitality & restaurant. Let alone, the great view. I only stayed a night or 2 there though.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gatorbait_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

I was impressed with my recent stay at this Best Western. Even with its location right on the New Seward Highway as it enters midtown, the traffic noise really was not an issue. The rooms were very nice and beds and pillows were quite comfortable. SO few hotels pay attention to the comfort of the pillows but they had nice ones. The staff was very helpful and friendly which seemed genuine, rather than a fake niceness.
The only complaints I did have was that the wireless internet connection was iffy depending on where your room was and where in the room you are sitting. They did offer a modem for free which did help. The food at the "restaurant" was pretty expensive $13-$14 for a cheese burger...fairly high but the fries were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlnOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
My Place Hotel - Anchorage, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
516 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#30 of 73 in Anchorage
363 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#28 of 73 in Anchorage
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Lion Hotel

Property: Best Western Golden Lion Hotel
Address: 1000 E 36th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-4304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Lion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Best Western Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing