We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
109
42
5
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
42
5
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the ground floor garden area rooms are spacious loire valley three courses menu saveur first floor zoo bioparc facilities annex cupboard jacuzzi saumur accommodation angers
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2014

Recently traveled through Loire Valley area, went to visit Zoo Doue which was a fabulous experience. We stayed for two nights at this hotel which was a really lovely restful experience. Recently refurbished with an indoor pool and Jacuzzi , although the pool is rather small it certainly is big enough to enjoy a relaxed swim. The Spa is situated facing a restful garden area with plenty of relaxing furniture to top up your tan. The restaurant is superb and always full so book a table prior to arrival. The only drawback it isnt open on Sunday evening, and nothing else locally seems to open either as is the french way.Parking is in a secured gated car park behind the hotel. Staff are charming in spite of speaking very little english we were made to feel welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our short visit. The town of Saumur is a short drive away which is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Book restaurant as gets very busy on Friday and Saturday
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purdy123Broxbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Our stay at the Auberge Bienvenue in Doue-la-Fontaine, France this August was fantastic in every way. We have traveled in France for 42 summers and this hotel / restaurant was one of our best ever.

We had a wonderful hotel room with access to their beautiful garden. There was also an indoor pool and exercise salon. The restaurant was outstanding with great menus at very reasonable prices. The chief and staff were superb.

Other positives of the hotel are secured free parking, very calm area, and the location allowed us to visit many of the wonderful tourist sites in the Anjou / Loire River Valley area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. You would want to ask for a ground floor room on the garden side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel when visiting the Loire Valley for 3 nights. Our reasons for choosing the hotel were based on location, the reasonable price and the fact that dogs were allowed. We initially found the hotel quite difficult to find because our satnav initially sent us in the wrong direction so we were a little stressed when we eventually found it after a long journey from Paris. However if you enter on the right road the hotel is really not difficult to find. The secure parking at the reverse of the hotel is very good and we were really impressed at our first sight of the lovely garden. Check in was no problem although be aware that not much English is spoken at the hotel, this was not a problem for us as I speak fluent French but might be problematic if you don't. Our room was in the main building of the hotel and was very spacious and had French doors which opened onto the lovely picturesque garden. This was very handy with our dog. The décor was not exactly to our taste but was fresh and quite quirky. The bathroom was a little on the small size but was adequate with a bath and shower over and a separate toilet. The wardrobe space was good but there were no drawers just a cupboard underneath the TV where extra pillows and blankets were kept. This hotel is very typical of a lot of the Logis de France Auberges which are always full of character and very different from corporate type hotels, we like this individuality and quirkiness. We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening and had an excellent three course meal for a very reasonable 27 euros, and a lovely bottle of regional rose wine for 23 euros. I had melon and parma ham for starter with strawberry vinegar and lavender, with a lovely side salad which was all delicious and my husband had a pork terrine which again was very nice. For mains we both had steak with house butter and very nicely presented vegetables, and desert was a rose crème brulee which was very tasty. All this was preceded by an amuse bouche of tuna mousse, Mozarella and tomato bruschetta, and a goats cheese and mussel bruschetta. We were nicely filled by the meal without being overstuffed. The hotels facilities are very good, the swimming pool (housed in a fairly new annex alongside the newest biggest rooms) was mostly empty and there was a lovely hot tub and various pieces of gym equipment also in the room, along with a massive flat screen TV on the wall. It felt like our own private pool. There are lots of sunbeds and tables and chairs in the garden, along with a small childrens play area and a large pond. The atmosphere was generally very relaxing. Our dog was made to feel very welcome and we would definitely return to this hotel again if in the area. The main clientele seemed to be people who were passing through on their way south and were by and large French - we didn't see any other English people there during our stay. By and large this is a hidden gem of a hotel which is near to a lot of the sights and pleasures of the Loire Valley. The town of Doue la Fontaine looks like a lovely small town although we didn't really have the chance to have a good look round. The hotel itself is very well placed if you want to visit the zoo there (which we couldn't because of the dog!). The town of Saumur is about 20 minutes away and around the same to Angers. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel's main building have French doors out onto the garden and the rooms in the annex looked lovely and had table/chairs outside where you could relax privately if you wished.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Having booked two rooms at this hotel some months ago through the Logis Central Reservations website, and received confirmation by email, together with Reservation Numbers, we were not at all pleased to arrive there after a five hour drive and be told they had no record of our booking and were completely full. We had to drive on to Saumur and book into the Campanile there.

On arrival back in the UK we received an emailed questionnaire from the Auberge Bienvenue asking us to review our recent stay!! We completed this as best we could explaining that we had not been able to stay there due to either the hotel's own incompetence or Logis Central Reservations' incompetence. We received a very terse response from the Auberge regretting our "minor problem" but no apology or explanation.

If you are thinking of booking this hotel, I would advise you to double or triple check your reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank EileenFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After a fair old drive from north of Le mans,we could not have asked for more.A very pleasaent welcome from Madam who showed us to an ample clean,comfortable room with french doors leading to the garden .The swimming pool was a few yards across the lawn,as was the Jackuse..
After we unpacked a brief swim and shower ready for dinner..
You can eat weither in the very pleasent dinning room or on the equellly pleasent patio..
Not a vast menue but there was something for everyone.We started with aSalmon starter which was very tasty and a bit more than we both needed, I worried if I would be able to finish my main course, Lamb.
When the lamb and my wifes Prawns arrived Iwas really impressed.The covers of the food were wizzed of with a flourish by the waitress to reveal the best lamb I have ever tasted.5 delecious chops.The meat was slightly Pink ,just right,and melted oin your mouth.
The Prawns were so good ,she who must be obayed did not utter a word till she had nearly finished, then it was" these are the best Prawns I have ever tasted," and I must admit they were very large and a lot of them,surrounded by a sauce and finely choped veg.The same meal was tried again the following bay,it was just as good..
Because we were moving about to see the area we missed two evenings ,but the third was another cracker.I had steak very very nice, followed by an excellent Sorbet ,which was yummy .
Over all we could not fault the hotel,staff, food everything ten out of ten.

Room Tip: They all seem pretty good
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews