We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cozy respite ....welcoming hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sainte-Mere-Eglise, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
700Kathry...
Naples, Italy
2 reviews
“cozy respite ....welcoming hosts”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The apartment was clean, cozy, well equipped and well situated for touring the Beaches, Cemeteries and many other sites. Mike and Tansy were so welcoming, gave us good information about touring and even included us in a community event,. We loved the farm atmosphere...yet close proximity to supermarket. The apartment was truly a wonderful respite after touring all day.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emrys81
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We will be returning, again!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our second stay at Ferme de l'Eglise and it won't be our last. The accommodation is amazing! Tansy and Mike's warm welcome makes you feel at home. They are so helpful and they take good care of their guests, without being intrusive. The rural area is what makes this place so special. When not relaxing in the Barn Appartment, we enjoyed cycling to nearby places - Utah Beach, Carentan, Saint Mere Eglise. A big Welsh DIOLCH (thanks) to our hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Good! We look forward to seeing you again and the Welsh cakes!!! Thank you for taking the time to write about us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ammeran
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can hardly wait to return”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

While browsing the net to find places in Normandy for a proposed trip to France, I found this site. It sealed the trip. There were only 6 nights available in the summer and we booked our trip around them because we wanted to stay there so much. It did not disappoint! The little rose-covered Norman cottage was perfect with a beautiful sun room for dining and a gazebo for enjoying a glass of wine by the little pond. The kitchen was well appointed and the bedroom very comfortable. The farm animals were such a plus. We visited every day! The chickens were some of the most beautiful I've ever seen and their eggs were delicious in the omelette I made one evening.My favorite critter was the baby alpaca.
Tansy and Mike were gracious hosts. Tansy gave us a booklet with information about the area that was very helpful, Don't hesitate to ask for suggestions about sightseeing or meals. They invited us and the other guests for aperitifs one evening and we spent a delightful few hours confirming that the world is indeed not such a big place.
Houesville is very central to all the sights one would want to visit in Normandy. Nothing was a long drive but it was lovely to return each evening to our little cottage and unwind amidst the lavender and poppies.
We didn't want to leave and have promised ourselves that we will return to Ferme de L'Eglise in the not too distant future. It felt like home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane21102...
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfection - what more is there to say.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

When we arrived we were given a wonderful welcome by Tansy, were shown around the cottage and then invited to join her for a cup of tea which was most welcome after travelling for 5 hours. Tansy has excellent knowledge of both the immediate and surrounding areas and she gave us lots of information about places of interest to visit (all accompanied by a map which was really helpful as we hadn't been to that part of Normandy before). We met Mike later in the day and he was as friendly and helpful as Tansy had been. Throughout the week they both made themselves available for any queries we had and were always happy to have a chat which was really nice.

Everything about the property is excellent and the cottage was absolutely wonderful. It really was the best place that we have ever rented, we just wish that we could have stayed longer than the 8 days we booked. Everything you could possibly need is there - Tansy and Mike have done a fantastic job of making sure you are comfortable and have your own space where you can relax in private (if that is what you want to do). The gardens are beautiful and in the evening you can just sit outside, with a nice glass of wine and not be disturbed by any outside noise (except for the church bell - but to be honest that didn't bother us at any time). The grounds are totally secure and you are given a key fob to open the electronic gates so you don't have to wait to get in or out of the property - it was so nice not to have to lock the cottage or your car once inside the property. The village is quiet, spotlessly clean and has a wonderful chateau where they breed stallions - well worth a walk to take a look at the horses. You could walk for miles quite safely.

To the rear of the property there are fields where Mike and Tansy keep their animals and it was lovely to be able to feed them and watch the 2 goats playing with each other. They also have dogs: Madge, Grace, Mr Willerby and Rudy. All gave us a truly brilliant welcome and were so friendly - have to say I miss them all especially Madge who became our 'welcome home companion' each time we returned after a day out and Mr Willerby who we learnt could 'sing' and has his own agent!

Overall, if you are looking for a place to stay where you can unwind from the stresses of everyday life, you couldn't go to a better place. It is close enough to all the places you want to visit (Bayeux, Normandy landing beaches, Mont St Michel etc) but far enough away to get peace and quiet when you want it. Absolutely brilliant and we will be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners, accommodation, gardens and animals
Liked least: There wasn't anything we did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne...
Schuler
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Normandy Retreat”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just home from a 5 night stay at Ferme de l'Eglise, Houesville, Normandy and really enjoyed our stay. Our hosts, Tansy and Mike, couldn't have been more welcoming and made our vacation one we will remember, right down to the basket of fresh eggs from her chickens on our arrival! We were accommodated in a modern, self-contained loft apartment on the property and enjoyed the peace and quiet of a village location, but with all the sites we wanted to see close by. The apartment was well equipped and we were even able to do laundry! Tansy provided us with excellent tips on what to see in the area and we were glad we followed her leads. Omaha Beach, Saint Mere Eglise, and Carentan are just minutes away and we spent each day exploring the Normandy countryside and coast line. The property was secure and we were able to come and go as we pleased. I highly recommend this "gite" as a home base in Normandy for a memorable vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quiet, peaceful village location
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2014
Thank you, we do try very hard to help folk maximise their stay here in this beautiful part of Normandy...we're not just all about the WW2 Invasion, there is so much to see and do & we take great delight in helping folk find the hidden gems located here..do hope you make that threat & do get back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$137
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing