We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop in if in the area”

Beecher's Handmade Cheese
Ranked #12 of 4,081 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Pike Place Market
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stop in if in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We found it too crowded (and they weren't even making any cheese!) and overated.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    969
    468
    131
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A lovely cheese shop with fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We wandered into this cheese shop and walked out with a few kinds of locally produced cheese. All delicious! The staff were absolutely lovely and patient with us as we asked questions and tasted a few different kinds before making our final choice. There were a number of people eating lunch - it all smelled wonderful. Great location across from Pike Place Market. You can watch them make cheese through large windows. Nice to see something being made from scratch!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Durodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seattle Hits Another Homerun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Treat yourself to a visit to Beecher's Cheese Shop (across the street from Pike Street Market). You can sit and watch the cheese masters creating their masterpiece: Beecher's Flagship Cheddar. Then, you can graze your way around the store, sampling several other cheese varieties along with some of their delicious crackers. Splurge on their to-die-for mac and cheese and you'll discover why it was rated as one of Oprah's Favorite Things. While there, you can pick up some frozen mac and cheese, and/or cheese and crackers to take home. (Or, if you can get to a Seattle Costco, you can buy a large hunk of Beecher's for half the price!)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaminlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great mac and cheese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

World's best? I might have to agree. They really do a great creamy rich mac and cheese. It was delicious. The cheese itself? Maybe a bit overrated, since we are coming from Wisconsin. Good but we get better cheese at a better price. Mac and cheese was delicious though.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelwithkaufy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Grilled Cheese is the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

If you like grilled cheese then this is the place to head at Pike's Market. I always find a line but it is worth the wait. Their Mac and Cheese is also very good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank GAJ-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarMountainSM, Guest Relations Manager at Beecher's Handmade Cheese, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We're honored you love our grilled cheese sandwich so much! Thank you being a great fan and recommending us to the rest of TripAdvisor with your review.

Sincerely,
Matt
Beecher's Handmade Cheese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beecher's Handmade Cheese also viewed

 

Been to Beecher's Handmade Cheese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing