We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Parisian Pensione in the Heart of Seattle!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensione Nichols B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pensione Nichols B&B
Ranked #10 of 29 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming Parisian Pensione in the Heart of Seattle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our family of four fell in love with Pensione Nichols the moment we arrived at the charming front door. I felt like we were on the Boulevard St. Michel in Paris as the Pensione is reminiscent of the lovely old Left Bank lodgings there.

The front door security system is excellent and even though it is located in the heart of a busy urban area the Pensione felt very safe. We were warmly greeted by owner Lindsey and immediately shown around. We had booked two rooms for the four of us and they were inviting and comfortable. Each of our rooms had one double and one single bed and could easily sleep a family of three. Our rooms were made up and the towels replaced daily.

Bathrooms are shared. However, there were three (3!) bathrooms on our floor – one with toilet and sink, one with shower, toilet and sink, and one with tub/shower, toilet and sink – and we never had any problem accessing a bathroom when we needed one.

Our children are older teens / young adults, ages 16 and 19, and both of them liked the Pensione very much. Our daughter chose a bed next to a window overlooking 1st avenue. She enjoyed watching the busy street below and the oak tree shading window provided such a lovely backdrop. Our son is a true urbanite - he loved the international flavor of the Pensione as well as the ability to simply walk out the door to the heart of Pike Place Market.

The beautiful living room overlooking the Sound is where we enjoyed breakfast in the morning (fruits, breads, condiments, juice and the best coffee ever!) and unwinding in the evening. Our fellow travelers were from around the world and we enjoyed meeting them immensely. We purchased wine from the little market about 1/2 block up the street and brought it back to enjoy in the living room as we watched the sun set over the Sound. Friendly and cheerful Frank was our hostess on most mornings, coffee ready, food artfully presented and ever helpful with information about the city.

The coffee tables in the living room are convenient for card games, etc. It is requested that for consideration of the others, guests in the living room keep the noise down after 9:00 p.m.

I have read other reviews and would like to clarify some the items that others have posted ...

1.) There is interaction between guests - mostly at breakfast. Interaction is probably as much as you initiate or want to participate in.
2.) Yes, you carry your luggage up the stairs. This is an older building. There is no elevator, the electrical outlets are older and the plumbing style is older. Even so, the water was always hot!
3.) No, the walls are not thin! We were right next to one of the bathrooms and we could only hear the shower very vaguely. We could not hear any other hotel sounds when our door was closed.
4.) Yes, there is a great deal street noise. The Pensione is in the Market District of a large city! There are lots of shops, restaurants, bars, traffic and tourists. The Pensione is above a bar that does not close until 1:00 or 2:00 am. Noise is to be expected. Bring ear plugs if this bothers you.
5.) Yes, you need to bring your own toiletries - this is a bed and breakfast, not a hotel.
6.) No, there is not any other food or drink throughout the day - this is a bed and breakfast, not a hotel.
7.) Yes, there is free Wi-Fi which we accessed from our rooms and the living room and we had no trouble playing music (quietly) on our computer in the living room.

If you desire the amenities of a hotel, then go to a hotel. But if you want personality, individuality, romance, ambiance, character and charm, then stay here. Our family didn't want to leave. We are all hoping we get to travel to Seattle again soon just so we can stay at the Pensione Nichols.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cachaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    65
    23
    18
    14
See reviews for
42
99
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Right in the thick of it all, this charming place is clean as a whistle with very friendly folks and comes at a fair price, considering the location. Don't miss the pike place market or the underground tour -- enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

PENSIONE NICHOLS is a unique Seattle bed and breakfast, ideally situated in downtown Seattle's historic Pike Place Market. Cozy and comfortable, we loved visiting with Lindsey and her guests, while having a fruit filled breakfast. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank periwinkle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

We loved the character of the house, the location, and the cleanliness. We also had access to the view of the harbor from the great, comfortable living room, which made us feel at home and where we met very nice people. The rooms are very bright, and quiet enough (our windows gave on 1st Ave.). Our bed was very comfortable, it was just a 2 minute walk to the hip places in town (the pink door, etc.). The price is right, less expensive than other, not so attractive hotels. The breakfast was really good, with fresh fruit, an assortment of breads including corn bread, and a big pot of coffee. I never ran into the neighbour when going to the bathroom, so it was like having the bathroom to ourself. We liked it so much we cancelled the hotel I had booked on the way back to stay there again. Great place to stay and to relax, with a great reading, wifi area. Unique and highly recommended!

Room Tip: We were on the lower level, with very bright room and only two sharing the bathroom. There is nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We love Pensione Nichols. It is on !st Avenue just up the street from Emmett Watson's Oyster Bar and The Pink Door tow of Seattle's most fun places to eat. The Pensione has lovely rooms which are lit by windows or skylights and while one shares bathrooms, there are plenty of them to share and we have never run into anyone else or ever had to wait for one. Breakfast is lovely and served in one of the most beautiful rooms overlooking the water. We take the light rail from the airport to the last stop at Westlake and walk the few blocks to the pensione. The folks who work there are incredibly friendly and helpful. The french press coffee and delicious breads and fruit set you up for a perfect day wandering around the Public Market or walking up to Capitol Hill.

Room Tip: We love the two front rooms on the top floor. They have large windows looking out on the street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zatushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Thompson Seattle
#17 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#23 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Nichols B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Nichols B&B

Property: Pensione Nichols B&B
Address: 1923 1st Ave., Seattle, WA 98101
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pike Place Market
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Nichols B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione Nichols is Seattle's only downtown Bed and Breakfast located in the world famous Pike Place Market. European feel with Seattle style and a breathtaking view of Puget Sound and the Pike Place Market, Pensione Nichols is steps away from all the major attractions guests come to Seattle to see and experience. Family owned and operated since 1989 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pensione Nichols B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Nichols Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing