We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine in sheer opulence”
Review of The Georgian

The Georgian
Reserve with OpenTable
The Georgian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 4,454 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: 4th Ave
Description: The Georgian, now celebrating its 25th year rated as a AAA 4 Diamond restaurant in Seattle, features French-inspired Northwest cuisine in Seattle's premier dining room. Open for breakfast, lunch and tea, The Georgian is proud to be the only downtown Seattle dining option offering traditional afternoon tea service. The Georgian also offers The Petite, an exclusive private dining room with seating for up to twelve guests, which is perfect for an intimate get together.
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Very regal and stately. Hark back to another era. The place is superbly lit, very grad and serves good food. Sad that the buffet breakfast was inadequate but the a la carte made up for it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, Food and Beverage Coordinator at The Georgian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at The Georgian and for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our ambiance. We apologize that you did not find our buffet quality to be to standard. We have addressed your feedback and hope you will return and give us the opportunity to change your opinion. Thank you again for taking the time to review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Olympic and The Georgian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017

Enjoyed breakfast everyday in restaurant. Staff greets you as a friend and they recall your preferences in drinks and servings. Had the omellete and you can make it supersized by choosing every option. Did not do that. Like my hashbrowns crispy and both top and bottom were done the way I like it. Short menu buffet option is mostly cereal, sweets and berries. Prefer a full breakfast option. Accessible needs guests need staff assistance to get to Georgian. Not desirable but historic buildings have renovation restrictions. We were escorted back and forth by dining staff. We enjoyed the room and staff for three days. Staff were truly welcoming and guest oriented with sincerity. High tea option also available, if inclined.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HNLDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, Food and Beverage Coordinator at The Georgian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you for choosing to dine with us in The Georgian and for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our service and food quality. Here at the Fairmont Olympic, we strive to create an experience that is memorable and unique for our guests.
Thank you again for taking the time to review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Olympic and The Georgian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Since dining here two years ago, The Georgian has limited its meal offerings to breakfast and lunch; a probable reflection of the change in the dining habits of Seattleites (and I suspect most of the rest of the country as well).

People no longer seem to want an elegant dining experience in this city on the go, one complete with linen tablecloths and leisurely paced service. I entitled the review 'sigh' because it seems this 'grand old dame' is slowly being put out to pasture.

This may be harsh (and I hope unwarranted), but that's my impression. Even mid-day for lunch there were not many people eating there.

The food, while adequate, did not seem up to its previous delicious offerings. One of us has a soy allergy and it proved problematic to get a meal without soy in it (even their signature Caesar salad had soybean oil in the dressing).

We have eaten at The Georgian in the past for both lunch and dinner and I miss what it used to be. If you go, I hope you have a better experience than we did.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, Food and Beverage Coordinator at The Georgian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at The Georgian and for taking the time to write us a review. We apologize that you did not find our food quality to be to standard. We have addressed your feedback and hope you will return and give us the opportunity to change your opinion. Thank you again for taking the time to review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Olympic and The Georgian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

If you have ever had afternoon Tea at a Fairmont property you expect a 5 star experience (if not you need to every chance you get!) but, Today, I had afternoon Tea at the Georgian in the Fairmont Olympic & it was AMAZING!!! The service was on point, the food fabulous and the champagne & Tea both perfection! Try the Bella Coola Tea blend if you like your Tea a bit sweet - going to be my new favorite. The cherry scones are not to be missed!

The room was beautiful and whisks you away to a time when life was a bit slower & everyone took time to enjoy things a little longer.

This will be an Afternoon I remember often & hope to soon repeat!

Thank tshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, Food and Beverage Coordinator at The Georgian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you for choosing to dine with us in The Georgian and for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our service and food quality. Here at the Fairmont Olympic, we strive to create an experience that is memorable and unique for our guests.
Thank you again for taking the time to review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Olympic and The Georgian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The breakfast/brunch buffet looked very inviting, but we are not historically breakfast buffet lovers. We ordered off the menu, and both thoroughly enjoyed our Crab Benedict (rare that we both order the same thing). The room is formal, yet very warm--it has high ceilings with numerous tall windows---the morning light streams in, and with every sip of your coffee you get a little more ready to take on the day. We appreciate formal, upscale food quality breakfasts, that provide professional service---you get all that here. By the way, if you like buffets, it looks very enticing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adalbert3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, Food and Beverage Coordinator at The Georgian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you for choosing to dine with us in The Georgian and for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our service, food quality and ambiance. Here at the Fairmont Olympic, we strive to create an experience that is memorable and unique for our guests.
Thank you again for taking the time to review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Olympic and The Georgian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Georgian also viewed

 

Been to The Georgian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing