We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Curate's Egg of a Hotel - good in parts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #16 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Curate's Egg of a Hotel - good in parts”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed at the Fairmont for one night this week as part of a large group travelling on business.

Check-in was very slow because we all arrived in a bunch but they didn't put more people on the desk to deal with it nor did they have our room keys ready in advance.

I was put into a small room on the second floor next to the swimming pool and lifts so there was quite a bit of through traffic in the corridor outside and a really lousy view of a flat roof and some litter outside. Not a big deal for one night but not terribly luxurious either.

I was slightly irked that the guy in the line in front of me got a top floor corner room with lovely views and the guy behind me got upgraded to a suite because of the wait at check in. I know because they were both in my party and were obviously delighted with the outcome and told us all. I obviously drew the short straw.

The room was fine, clean, well-appointed. The air conditioning unit in my room was too noisy to leave on and the one from the room next door was also very noisy and I didn't get a great night's sleep as a result.

But It's pretty astonishing to have to pay for internet connectivity these days and $8 for a bottle of water from the minibar is also pretty outrageous. In the last year I've stayed at Raffles, Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton etc. and I'm pretty sure I didn't have to pay for water or internet at any of them. My colleagues tell me that their rooms had an espresso machine but mine did not, which is a shame. This is an increasingly common amenity.

So, what was good? Breakfast was fantastic. Really tasty omelette, nice buffet. The lobby is pretty impressive. I'm told (ahem!) that the views from the higher floors are nice. The bathroom is shiny and marble and the room compares well with other luxury hotels in terms of amenities and comfort. The location is good and central. They did a great shoe shine!

Room Tip: High floor with a coffee machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisClark, General Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. The feedback will provide good training material. Thank you also for being a loyal guest of Fairmont Hotels and Resorts. It might be a good idea for you to consider signing up as a Presidents Club member. There are many benefits including free internet service which I think you would highly value. We can also track you preferences which would help us to ensure your satisfaction. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    714
    202
    77
    42
See reviews for
619
1,081
146
703
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife was celebrating a milestone birthday so we headed to Seattle 2-9-12 for an evening at the Fairmont Olympic Hotel. From the time we arrived the service, attention to detail and quality around us was incredible. Due to the occassion they up-graded our room at no extra charge. From the 9th floor we had a great view of the Emerald city, Pikes Place and the Puget Sound.

We enjoyed happy hour in their Terrace lounge and upon returning to the room they delivered us chocolate dipped strawberries with Happy Birthday drizzled in chocolate as well.

An incredible value at $159 (Winter Saver deal _ Tax, etc). I recommend it 100%!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_t_payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, CA
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Every single thing about this hotel and the staff and food were perfect or close to it. We got a deal (around $200 a night) so it was particularly worth the money since it's a 5 star hotel. Of course, for that price we did not have a great view, but we did have one. The tea room is splendid and they know how to serve a great high tea, which we enjoyed with our cousin. The staff was very helpful, even sent us out for a late night dinner in the hotel limo when we were not sure where the restaurant was. I felt treated as an honored guest. I would try there first when we go to Seattle again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view "not of the roof".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I am already a huge Fairmont fan, I have stayed with Fairmont hotel many times. BUT this Fairmont Olympic is soooo gorgeous! I love the openness of the lobby and the terrace. The decor is exactly what they state on their website "Italian Renaissance". Also, the indoor pool and hot-tub, and fitness room is super clean and calming. I also love this location - you can walk to all downtown shopping, Belltown, Pike Place, and the piers. We made use of the "house car" as well for some of the longer distances. They drivers and doormen were always more than helpful and making sure we were safe. (Deion especially). Everyone including the front desk and maid service were amazing! I highly recommend this property and I will only stay here while in Seattle.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shredbetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a wonderful time at this hotel the. The staff was great, the room was great. I will definitely return in the future and recommend this hotel to anyone. THanks for the hospitality!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane16523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing