We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and stylish king room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Large and stylish king room”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Really nice hotel. Large stylish bedrooms. Pool very small, kids enjoyed the gym! Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orange-Boven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    327
    84
    15
    12
See reviews for
167
220
51
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The staff was friendly and efficient, the hotel is clean and modern, and the rooms are spacious with all the amenities.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiki Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This is my second stay in as many years. I gave it 4 stars the first time but decided to bump it up for this review. I've been here over Thanksgiving both times and have enjoyed this hotel thoroughly. It is easily accessible to all local transportation options, which are extensive in seattle, so no car needed! It's a cool urban hotel with the new courtyard design. Surrounded by many local establishments. Easy walk down to the pier and Ferry terminals. The light rail to/from the airport is 2 blocks away. I can't think of anything they did not take care of, from early/late check in, to loaner umbrellas. I can't think of a better value in any of the major cities that I travel to.

Room Tip: High floor facing west or south get's you a view of quest field or the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azroyalsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Seattle's center may have moved but Pioneer Square is where it all started and Marriott has placed a new hotel square in the heart of the old city. This is a 15-story hotel, so it's not typical of a suburban Marriott Courtyard but it uses the urban model of a high rise, limited amenity hotel.

The location is terrific. It's a block from Pioneer Square and a block from a light-rail stop that takes you to/from Sea-Tac Airport in 37 minutes for $2.75.

The staff is terrific. I cannot recall a more engaged, friendlier staff at any Marriott property I've ever patronized.

The rooms are pretty good. This hotel has been installed in a former office building called the Alaska Building and some of the old building shows through in the lobby where you can see mid-20th century marble and the old-style, multi-story mail chute dropping into a large brass mailbox in the lobby. You'll also see some of the old buildings in the windows, which use the old casings equipped with new double glazing. Our very large room had a terrific view of Seattle's sourthern downtown. Two flys in the ointment for us:

1. The room chair (an adjustable desk chair) was uncomfortable due to its design. This is the first such chair I've encountered at a Marriott Courtyard and I hope it's not the new "official" desk chair.

2. The credit-card room keys just didn't work well and we had a second set made (done cheerfully, of course). We had to try 3, 4, or six times before the door would open. We had similar problems with using the key in the elevator to access our floor from the lobby (a good security feature in any case).

From this hotel, we walked to the ferry terminal for an inexpensive ride to Bainbridge Island (free return!), to the famous Pike Market to see fish tossed around by loud fishmongers, to the Underground Seattle tour (highly recommended), and to the light rail stop for a return to the airport. This area is well served by the Seattle mass transit system.

The hotel has a restaurant and bar called The Bistro and we ate three meals there. Frankly, the food was good twice and mediocre once but the service was always spectacular. Note that this restaurant has a somewhat limited menu (hence the name), but you should be able to find something to dull your hunger. They serve Starbuck's coffee, in case you're an addict. Otherwise, there's a Seattle's Best coffee shop across the street.

There was a ballroom located on our floor (14th) and we snuck in to take a peek. It was set up conference style and could accommodate about 50 people at tables set up in a chevron pattern. I'd certainly locate a conference there given the opportunity.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Despite having an excellent stay in another property the last time we were in Seattle, we decided to stay here this time around. For >$100 per night less, we had a similar sized room (1 BR, 650 Sq, Ft) that was every bit as nice. Granted, the bathroom in this hotel isn't as nice as the other property but the hotel does feel almost (but not quite) as upscale. As another reviewer mentioned, this property seems more like a Renessaince than a Courtyard.

The hotel is located in the Pioneer Square District which could be viewed as a strength (proximity to tours, market, etc) and a weakness (number of homeless in the area). As someone else noted, the windows in the rooms do not seem to be the type that reduce noise and we did have a lot of street noise even though we were on the 12th floor. This doesn't really bother us but if you are the type who needs quiet when you sleep, you should be aware of this issue.

All in all, we thought this hotel was a good, solid choice. When price is considered, we thought it was a bargain for Seattle and we don't regret our decision to stay there in the least.

One other tip: As others have said, do use the Link light rail to get here as the Pioneer Square Station is literally a block away and the cost is less than $3.00 each way.

Room Tip: We thought the price we got on the 1 BR was a great bargain. We did end up having a rollaway bed bro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank benfbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
2,005 reviews
Executive Hotel Pacific
#65 of 100 in Seattle
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square

Property: Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Address: 612 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98104-2204
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Seattle
#37 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#38 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing